We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful retreat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alam Jiwa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alam Jiwa
Ranked #51 of 193 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Peaceful retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Approaching this place you may have some second thoughts but like so many places you find when traveling, the exterior area can be deceiving. Once within the "compound" you are in a peaceful bit of paradise. Our party of four women had the "big house" and delighted in viewing the rice fields from our open air bathroom shower! Each level has a balcony and plenty of light. We loved being spoiled with breakfast delivered each morning to our "house". It was a spacious, clean, comfy place to call home. We really would have loved to have stayed longer.

Staff is pleasant, friendly, and helpful. There is a shuttle service to and from town. We took advantage of it one night to have them take us to and pick us up from dinner.

On the edge of Ubud, one route into the shopping area is through the Monkey Forest.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    77
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
152
240
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

I can't say much that hasn't already been written... Plus it is near impossible capture the essence of why Alam Jiwa is so excellent. Starting with the basics we stayed for 5 nights in a family group across 2 rooms - merpati & casuary - ages1-65. Both rooms had lovely decor and beautiful views across the rice fields. We were there in rainy season and it rained A LOT which just added to the atmosphere as far as we were concerned. Our 1 year old particularly liked watching the rice ducks from the balcony as well as the mesmerising fireflies.
The food... Breakfast and complimentary afternoon tea are not to be missed crepes and cakes to die for!
The location... Reminds me of Ubud of years passed well away from the hustle and bustle of town but always close at hand with the courtesy bus
The staff... My favourite part of the stay always obliging, friendly and caring... Our 1 year old took to them all straight away and we honestly feel like we have family there now. With grandpa always on hand to chase geckos with!
Don't stay here if you are accustomed to 5 star impersonal resorts. Stay here if you're a traveller looking to be in touch with culture with a dash of luxury!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrsfitzg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We absolutely loved this place. It doesn't look like much on approach since it's tucked away down a little lane away from the hustle and bustle of Ubud, but once you get to your room it is heavenly. Great views over the rice paddies, friendly service, an enormous beautiful bathroom, comfy beds, mozzie nets, air con, delicious breakfast that's brought to your huge balcony each morning and the list goes on. We couldn't fault it at all, especially for the price, it's great value.

One of the amazing things about Alam Jiwa was that it was fully booked but we felt like we had the place to ourselves, we barely saw anybody except for the staff, so if you like peace and quiet and privacy, this is the place for you.

Three things to be aware of:

1) Alam Jiwa is located outside of Ubud (about 15-20 minutes walk through the monkey forest) which is okay once or twice but if it's hot and you've got kids in tow you'll want to make the most of the free lifts into town (luckily they are very efficient at dropping off and picking up).

2) There's no restaurant at the hotel, although they provide breakfast, and there's not a lot of options nearby. This means you'll probably end up going back into town for dinner (unless you get takeaway!)

3) They're usually booked up to six months in advance so book early.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Missee66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Having stayed at alam shanti in the past we booked a room at alam jiwa as alam shanti was full, we paid the same amount. Whilst generally happy we felt the room was a little smaller and was not decorated to the same degree. Our balcony was a lot smaller and the food and overall service did not live up to our expectations. Likewise the bed seemed a little aged and not as comfortable. So whilst we were generally very happy with our stay we found a disparity between the two places and would have expected to have paid a little less at alam jiwa. We would still be happy to recomend alam jiwa.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackstar100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

What a super place! I loved this hotel! It matched every picture I have ever conjured of Ubud in my mind's eye over the years. I stayed in the Hanoman room with my daughter, a twin share with two double beds. The room was large and cool with a beautiful balcony over looking the tiered rice paddies. We had an open-air shower and a bathroom that had to be seen to be believed.

The staff couldn't have been friendlier or more welcoming. They looked after us very well. They provide a free shuttle between the hotel and the main town of Ubud. Their link with Cafe Wayan on Monkey Forest Road was extremely handy after cocktails at nearby bars, we simply crossed the road and a car was called straight away.

Breakfasts were delicious, the pancakes especially! We had ours on the balcony over-looking the rice paddies...bliss!

We will definitely return there again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank HeyMcJude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Greast location with views across padi fields. Beautiful gardens and rooms, however cleanliness could be better. Staff very friendly and helpful, especially Nick. Good breakfast and free unlimited filtered water.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gondwana72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

This has to be the most peaceful and inspiring place I have ever stayed. Nestled behind the hectic Abud town, this hotel is the most beautiful place I have ever stayed in. Completely booked out, yet you wouldn't know anyone else was here. Completely private with awesome staff. The rooms are huge with a really cool bathroom. Check out the website to see what I mean. Highly recommend to anyone.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Barefootmasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.3 mi away
Saren Indah Hotel
Saren Indah Hotel
#54 of 193 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
0.1 mi away
Swasti Eco Cottages
Swasti Eco Cottages
#59 of 193 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#29 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Natura Resort and Spa
Natura Resort and Spa
#106 of 193 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
2.4 mi away
Wapa di Ume Resort and Spa
8.6 mi away
Puri Gangga Resort
Puri Gangga Resort
#36 of 193 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alam Jiwa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alam Jiwa

Property: Alam Jiwa
Address: Nyuhkuning, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Ubud
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#45 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Alam Jiwa 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Alam Jiwa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alam Jiwa Ubud, Bali
Alam Jiwa Hotel Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing