We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Barefoot messiah”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Alam Jiwa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alam Jiwa
Ranked #49 of 195 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Barefoot messiah”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

This has to be the most peaceful and inspiring place I have ever stayed. Nestled behind the hectic Abud town, this hotel is the most beautiful place I have ever stayed in. Completely booked out, yet you wouldn't know anyone else was here. Completely private with awesome staff. The rooms are huge with a really cool bathroom. Check out the website to see what I mean. Highly recommend to anyone.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Barefootmasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    77
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
152
241
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Alam Jiwa is a surprise, nestled in quiet area walking distance from the hustle and bustle of Ubud. Fabulous rooms overlooking the rice fields - luscious gardens, friendly staff, beautiful rooms. A beautiful breakfast can be taken by the pool or on your balcony. Alma Jiwa is the best of both worlds, a place to relax in a serene, private hideaway and then a short walk through the Monkey Forest delivers you to the busy Ubud restaurant strip for an aromatic dinner and a little retail therapy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Alam Jiwa is an oasis in what has become a maddeningly busy urban Ubud scene. The grounds are nothing short of spectacular. We stayed at the Casuary suite, which had its own large deck. The staff fell over themselves with anything we wanted. A very nice breakfast could be taken near the reception area or you could have it brought to your deck. The afternoon tea consisted of tea and a piece of cake, but was a nice touch. When we arrived we had issues with the air conditioning not cooling down the room soon enough, but they quickly brought in an engineer who had a supply of freon that remedied the problem. We were fortunate enough to be there when the owner of the property (and the others in the “group”) was having a ceremony to ask for continued prosperity and health. We were the only outsiders there and it felt special to be there. The room itself was beautifully appointed. The bathroom was spacious and all marble. Like others in Bali, it is exposed to the outdoors (but private) which means it is not air conditioned. This wasn’t a problem.
For some it may be a downside that you are not in the thick of Ubud, but they have a shuttle service that makes it easy to get in and out of “downtown” Ubud, which is about 15 minutes if traffic is thick. Twice we asked and they were nice enough to drop us at a restaurant, pick us up from the restaurant and take us to a dance performance, and pick us up from the dance performance when it was over. We never had to wait more than a couple of minutes. Very impressive and a nice touch. As I said, everyone there was very welcoming.

Room Tip: We loved the Casuary suite.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lars-Marin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We recently stayed at Alam Jiwa and had a great time. It's quiet and the staff is very helpful. It's a bit further out of Ubud but a shuttle bus will be provided at any time and you can easy walk to Ubud as well but watch out for the monkey's.

If you prefer to stay in the hussle & bussle of Ubud this hotel will probably not be your first choice but if you want to read a good book, enjoy the sound of birds & frogs and recharge your battery I would say go.

We can't wait to go back. Loved the place.

Room Tip: There's no TV available and WIFI connection can be limited
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ozzyperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Arriving here was lovely, the greeting and welcome were wonderful, given a welcome drink and taken straight to our room . . well rooms! We stayed in Kenari room which had wonderful views over the rice fields. The bedroom was really big with the biggest outdoor shower we have ever experienced . . in fact the whole bathroom was magnificent and HUGE! The outdoor sitting area is lovely with chairs table and day bed where you can have breakfast, lunch and dinner delivered to . . all food we had here was very very tasty! Staff are lovely and friendly nothing is too much trouble, and so helpful with organising trips into town booking tables at restaurants etc,
Praise for everything here cannot be high enough and also fantastic value for money!

Room Tip: Kenari we loved
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank naughtydel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Negros Island, Philippines
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Me and my travel partner were very delighted and extremely happy to find ourselves staying at the Alam Jiwa where I felt I went back in time to when the resort was constructed! It was such a great comfort to be away from any crowd and away from all the action, which anyone can have if one wanted it really! I would highly recommend this chain of hotels and the village of Nyuhkuning where it is located is a marvel of peace and beauty - I got to speak with the driver that took me to the airport and he shared how communities work together with the developments in and round Bali! What a great break, the staff was so genial and one cannot want for more - I will surely want to come back!

Room Tip: I would think that the one we were at - the "Jatayu" right next to the rice field has exce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elcampoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

My wife and I with 4 others stayed at Alam Jiwa in the very welcoming village of Nyuh Kunning. We had a beautifull stone villa overlooking very old and classic rice paddies. The staff were faultless in their attention to our needs and became more like family than hotel staff. The Balinese ambiance in and around the establishment generates a peacefulness and the impression that you are truely in a diiferent place to home. Not to mention the view of Mt Agung from our terrace. Ubus proper is just a pleasant 15min walk through the village and money forrest. Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Garuda room has a great view and very spacious, no noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaverdaRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Swasti Eco Cottages
Swasti Eco Cottages
#54 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#28 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.3 mi away
Saren Indah Hotel
Saren Indah Hotel
#53 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Anumana Ubud Hotel
Anumana Ubud Hotel
#50 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alam Shanti
Alam Shanti
#73 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
2.1 mi away
Natura Resort and Spa
Natura Resort and Spa
#100 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alam Jiwa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alam Jiwa

Property: Alam Jiwa
Address: Nyuhkuning, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Ubud
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#43 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Alam Jiwa 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Alam Jiwa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alam Jiwa Ubud, Bali
Alam Jiwa Hotel Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing