We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Peaceful Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alam Jiwa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Alam Jiwa to your Saves list
Alam Jiwa
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   P.O.Box 165, Nyuhkuning, Ubud 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 169 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Peaceful Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Alam Jiwa is a surprise, nestled in quiet area walking distance from the hustle and bustle of Ubud. Fabulous rooms overlooking the rice fields - luscious gardens, friendly staff, beautiful rooms. A beautiful breakfast can be taken by the pool or on your balcony. Alma Jiwa is the best of both worlds, a place to relax in a serene, private hideaway and then a short walk through the Monkey Forest delivers you to the busy Ubud restaurant strip for an aromatic dinner and a little retail therapy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    74
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
145
225
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Alam Jiwa is an oasis in what has become a maddeningly busy urban Ubud scene. The grounds are nothing short of spectacular. We stayed at the Casuary suite, which had its own large deck. The staff fell over themselves with anything we wanted. A very nice breakfast could be taken near the reception area or you could have it brought to your deck. The afternoon tea consisted of tea and a piece of cake, but was a nice touch. When we arrived we had issues with the air conditioning not cooling down the room soon enough, but they quickly brought in an engineer who had a supply of freon that remedied the problem. We were fortunate enough to be there when the owner of the property (and the others in the “group”) was having a ceremony to ask for continued prosperity and health. We were the only outsiders there and it felt special to be there. The room itself was beautifully appointed. The bathroom was spacious and all marble. Like others in Bali, it is exposed to the outdoors (but private) which means it is not air conditioned. This wasn’t a problem.
For some it may be a downside that you are not in the thick of Ubud, but they have a shuttle service that makes it easy to get in and out of “downtown” Ubud, which is about 15 minutes if traffic is thick. Twice we asked and they were nice enough to drop us at a restaurant, pick us up from the restaurant and take us to a dance performance, and pick us up from the dance performance when it was over. We never had to wait more than a couple of minutes. Very impressive and a nice touch. As I said, everyone there was very welcoming.

Room Tip: We loved the Casuary suite.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lars-Marin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We recently stayed at Alam Jiwa and had a great time. It's quiet and the staff is very helpful. It's a bit further out of Ubud but a shuttle bus will be provided at any time and you can easy walk to Ubud as well but watch out for the monkey's.

If you prefer to stay in the hussle & bussle of Ubud this hotel will probably not be your first choice but if you want to read a good book, enjoy the sound of birds & frogs and recharge your battery I would say go.

We can't wait to go back. Loved the place.

Room Tip: There's no TV available and WIFI connection can be limited
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ozzyperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Arriving here was lovely, the greeting and welcome were wonderful, given a welcome drink and taken straight to our room . . well rooms! We stayed in Kenari room which had wonderful views over the rice fields. The bedroom was really big with the biggest outdoor shower we have ever experienced . . in fact the whole bathroom was magnificent and HUGE! The outdoor sitting area is lovely with chairs table and day bed where you can have breakfast, lunch and dinner delivered to . . all food we had here was very very tasty! Staff are lovely and friendly nothing is too much trouble, and so helpful with organising trips into town booking tables at restaurants etc,
Praise for everything here cannot be high enough and also fantastic value for money!

Room Tip: Kenari we loved
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank naughtydel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Negros Island, Philippines
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Me and my travel partner were very delighted and extremely happy to find ourselves staying at the Alam Jiwa where I felt I went back in time to when the resort was constructed! It was such a great comfort to be away from any crowd and away from all the action, which anyone can have if one wanted it really! I would highly recommend this chain of hotels and the village of Nyuhkuning where it is located is a marvel of peace and beauty - I got to speak with the driver that took me to the airport and he shared how communities work together with the developments in and round Bali! What a great break, the staff was so genial and one cannot want for more - I will surely want to come back!

Room Tip: I would think that the one we were at - the "Jatayu" right next to the rice field has exce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elcampoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My wife and I with 4 others stayed at Alam Jiwa in the very welcoming village of Nyuh Kunning. We had a beautifull stone villa overlooking very old and classic rice paddies. The staff were faultless in their attention to our needs and became more like family than hotel staff. The Balinese ambiance in and around the establishment generates a peacefulness and the impression that you are truely in a diiferent place to home. Not to mention the view of Mt Agung from our terrace. Ubus proper is just a pleasant 15min walk through the village and money forrest. Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Garuda room has a great view and very spacious, no noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaverdaRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My husband, two sons (age 3 and 6), and I arrived in Bali from hectic Hong Kong. After about an hour drive (due to awful traffic) from the airport, we arrived at the peaceful Alam Jiwa. Alam Jiwa is located in the quiet village of Nyuh Kuning - minutes from busy Ubud, but worlds away from its crazy shopping streets. We immediately relaxed.

Being late at night, the kids were too exhausted to eat a proper dinner. The staff graciously offered them cake and tea as a snack and offered to bring the adults dinner on the large patio once the boys were in bed. For the next 3 days, we enjoyed wonderful breakfasts (with fresh fruit and juices) and most dinners on our patio or by the pool. We preferred the quiet of Nyuh Kuning to the noisy nightlife (and motorbikes) of Ubud, and the food from Laka Leke restaurant is wonderful and very inexpensive!

While at Alam Jiwa, we stayed in the Jataynu room. Perfect for a family of 4 ! One queen (maybe king) bed and two twin beds, each with its own mosquito net. Though the boys loved using the mosquito nets to make “tents” on their beds, they were unnecessary as the bugs were minimal. The Jataynu room also has a beautiful outdoor shower and private garden (with two fountains and a swing), which the kids loved to explore.

With a place like Alam Jiwa nearby, I would be hard pressed to justify paying hundreds of dollars more per night to stay anywhere else in the Ubud area! Alam Jiwa was a perfect retreat after busy days of touring central Bali, and since it is now my husband's favorite hotel, we will definitely be back !

Room Tip: Jataynu is a perfect room for a family of 4, with one queen bed and two twin beds. The kids also lov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HaveBabyWillTravel06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.4 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#19 of 169 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 311 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#23 of 169 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 502 reviews
0.3 mi away
Saren Indah Hotel
Saren Indah Hotel
#47 of 169 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 stars 811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#53 of 169 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 stars 483 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#38 of 169 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 stars 800 reviews
0.8 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alam Jiwa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alam Jiwa

Property: Alam Jiwa
Address: P.O.Box 165, Nyuhkuning, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Ubud
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#25 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Alam Jiwa 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Alam Jiwa Ubud, Bali
Alam Jiwa Hotel Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing