We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An enjoyable family vacation”
Review of Alam Jiwa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alam Jiwa
Ranked #50 of 197 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Manila, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“An enjoyable family vacation”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

The entire family (6 adults and 1 child) stayed for 2 nights in Alam Jiwa to celebrate my husband's birthday. It is our 2nd time to stay in an Alam property so we knew what we will get - the same superb service, excellent Balinese-style accommodations and a relaxing experience. We occupied Hanoman, Garuda and Gelatik rooms, which were very large , comfortable and artfully decorated rooms with excellent views of the rice paddies from the verandas. Alam Jiwa was an ideal place for a real Bali vacation - very quiet and relaxing atmosphere, courteous and unobtrusive service and excellent breakfasts.

The complimentary afternoon tea was very welcome but the family thoroughly enjoyed the hearty breakfasts which were served right in our veranda overlooking the rice fields.

Overall, would highly recommend Alam Jiwa. So value for money for the kind of accommodations and service the place offer.

Room Tip: Any of the villas with a view of the rice paddies
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RuthBB76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    79
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
159
245
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
perth wa
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed at the Alam Jiwa for three nights recently. We arrived at midnight into the Jalek Bali room-our children were in the room downstairs-Galatik I think.
The view we woke up to at sunrise was absolutely beautiful-a panoramic view of the volcano, rice paddies, ducks and a glorious sunrise-so beautiful.
As this was our third stay in an Alam property-we have stayed in Indah, Shanti and now Jiwa, we were already looking forward to the breakfast, flowers and the Balinese uniqueness of these hotels. However, Jiwa would have to be my favourite-the views, lovely stream flowing through and the very friendly staff are the reason for this. It is about a 5 min walk to Shanti and the spa and then a further 5 min to Indah and the entrance to the Monkey Forest.
Just love these hotels:)

Room Tip: They all have wonderful views. The Gelatik looks onto the stream and is level with the rice terraces...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joluvstravel-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I wend there with my wife and 1 year old son. This place was the best part of my trip to bali. Outdoor bath with rice field view, Breakfast at room, Afternoon tea, and sounds of nature made my 6 days in Alam Jiwa a dream trip. You will find the best Massage services in a walking distance with a very reasinable price, a very nice restaurant with dance from 8:00 PM , Hand crafts and all are for this complex :Alam Indah. You don't need to pay for above services and can charge all to your room and pay last day. All in all this is the besthotel you will choose.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Esmalfathi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel rooms overlooking Paddy fields. Very luxurious feel with nice extra touches like the free afternoon tea and cake by the pool. But check how long you can stay as the hotel doesn't warn you that its nearly full or fully booked in time. We thought we could stay a few days more but on 2nd morning were told that there were no rooms available for that night. Only extremely expensive room ( double the price)available at sister hotel up the road. Location was great for admiring the tropical countryside and very close to monkey forest but after a few days easier access to ubud might be wanted and the shuttle into Ubud might become a hassle. Still a great hotel and would definitely want to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Annamarlac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

It is truly hard to describe how wonderful this place is. Set amongst the rice paddies of Ubud and run by some of the friendliest most accommodating staff I've ever encountered.

The manager, Komang, is gracious, friendly and extremely helpful and he runs a hotel that is about as close to the perfect Ubud accommodation one can imagine. Believe the other rave reviews.

Stay here - book as far in advance as you can since demand far exceeds supply I would expect.

Room Tip: Try to get a room upstairs for better views, but it's not a requirement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nomadale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We just spent three nights at the Alam Jiwa having been recommended the hotel (and even the room) by friends and it was a really great experience. The view from our room (the Merpati room) was spectacular. Rice fields being worked and a wonderful view of Mt Agur, the 3000m volcano on Bali which we saw at sunrise and photographed. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful and brought a delicious breakfast to our room every morning which we ate while watching the view. Trips to town the hotel car easily arranged and a quick mobile call from wherever you are to the hotel fetched a return car quickly. Ok it is isn't cheap (we paid $125 a night) but it was a really memorable experience. No restaurant (although the Wayan bakery which supplied the breakfast food is owned by the same family and meals can be ordered in from another restaurant in the same group) and no fitness centre although a delightful (if small) swimming pool.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cockroftd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Even though, at first we though that this hotel was far from everything (town center) but actually, it was about 15 to 20 minutes walk from the Forest Money. The service was great but the hotel itself needed refurbishment. Breakfast was very nice and afternoon tea was ok. I guess if we compare this hotel to the hotel we stayed previously (Kajane) it came second best. But overall, RECOMMENDED

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sukan28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.0 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#24 of 197 in Ubud
738 reviews
3.9 mi away
Alam Puisi Villa
Alam Puisi Villa
#48 of 197 in Ubud
370 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#26 of 197 in Ubud
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#41 of 197 in Ubud
327 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sapodilla Ubud
Sapodilla Ubud
#14 of 197 in Ubud
295 reviews
9.2 mi away
Suarapura Resort & Spa
Suarapura Resort & Spa
#54 of 197 in Ubud
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alam Jiwa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alam Jiwa

Property: Alam Jiwa
Address: Nyuhkuning, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Ubud
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#44 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Alam Jiwa 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Alam Jiwa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alam Jiwa Ubud, Bali
Alam Jiwa Hotel Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing