We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fabulous hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alam Jiwa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alam Jiwa
Ranked #49 of 192 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Taos, New Mexico
1 review
“fabulous hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

My Three adult daughters and I had the pleasure of spending eight days at Alam Jiwa. Our house was built in the traditional way and beautifully decorated. The staff were thoughtful and kept the hotel and grounds in perfect condition. Our view of the rice fields was stunning and the Manager ,Koman was sensative to our interests and recommended a wonderful tour guide for us. His name is Amik ,his knowledge and pride in his country only increased our enjoyment of this beautiful country. Alam Jiwa is a treasure.

Room Tip: any room with a view of the rice fields is exceptional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank markine a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    77
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
152
240
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

This is our second trip to Bali and first time staying in Ubud.
Alam Jiwa was everything we hoped it would be. Rustic (but with all the mod cons you need), feeling of seclusion (but close enough to walk to the main drag) and the ability to just relax and unwind.
I went with my husband, my sister and her husband and their 20 month old son. We got 2 rooms, one below the other and this worked perfectly for us. The baby monitor worked from our room downstairs so we were able to play card games and drink/eat on our balcony when my nephew went down to sleep. The hotel is somewhat baby friendly (the cot was near brand new and all set up in the room when we arrived) but certainly not aimed at "families" (no games room etc) however that is not what we were looking for.
All the staff were extremely helpful and friendly and all loved to play with little Alex.
The hotel is walking distance to the Monkey Forrest and Monkey Forrest road where all the shops and restaurants are. This is however via a somewhat bumpy and slim walk way that is also used by scooters etc. There is also a few restaurants and massage places on the same road as Alam Jiwa and the ones we tried were great value for money. (The massage palour up the road was one of the highlights for us). We also ordered food into the room from the associated restaurant to the Hotel and it was some of the best food we had in our week. Highly recommend it if you don't feel like heading out.
We used the hotels shuttles into and home from town multiple times without any issues and at no extra cost to us.
The breakfast is amazing and is great either in the lobby or in your room.
The only issue i will mention is that if you don't like bugs then this is not the place for you. Being that its so imbedded in the land and surrounded by nature this with it brings bugs. In saying that we did not get bitten once (we wore bug spray most days which was not an issue for us and the staff bring around coils every night) and being surrounded by the sounds of nature and the beautiful sound of rushing water in the local creek was part of the highlight for us. The mosquito nets over the bed also worked wonders.
I highly recommend Alam Jiwa as a wonderful place to stay and Ubud as a destination!!
We are already dreaming of our next trip here and recommending it to all our friends.

Room Tip: We suggest getting a room with the rice field views. We were in Kenari (upstairs) and Gelatik (downs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blonde_rhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

It's in the fine details that set them apart. Not to expect 5 star luxury, here you get authentic Balinese hospitality. Everyone who works there are genuine, nice and helpful.

Staff quietly swept off all the porches at 7am as the sun rose, and cleaned off all the droppings from possibly geckoes in the bathroom when I had breakfast. New cushions on all furnitures indoors and outdoors, which they tidied up just like last time.

I am amazed by the fine details in the architecture: the landscaped walkways leading to the room with water features- fishes even, the huge wooden doorway to the room, the authentic Balinese bed and furnitures, the new mosquito net with motif on the bed, the huge stone carving leading into the bathroom, the size of the marble bathroom with windows, and the new semi-open shower in Casuary room with a view of Mt. Agung.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AvidTravellerHKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

my wife and i have stayed at the alam hotels ( jiwa and shanti ) for years , they are simply the best hotels in ubud ... beautiful locations , superb staff and genuine balinese hospitality , all rooms have generous proportions and superb bathrooms , some rooms have rice field views , others have superb garden views , breakfast will keep you going until afternoon tea ( complimentary )
when cake from Cafe Wayan ( owned by the alam group) is served .. , the staff at both hotels are well trained and will delight in teaching you a bit of bahassa indonesia in return for a bit of english practice .. they are situated in nyuh kuning , a pleasant stroll around the edge of the monkey forest and you are in ubud , take a good little torch if you want to stroll back at night to walk off dinner , or use there excellent shuttle car service .. thanks again to jiwa and shanti for a lovely 2 week pampering ...

Room Tip: my preference is for an upstairs room at either hotel ( catches the breezes ) and sometimes enhances...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blenddesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
94 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

i traveled to bali in february and stayed in ubud for a total of 3 nights although non-consecutive. for the first two nights, my friend and i paid $500US (astronomical!!!) for a very high end hotel. true, lots of modern amenities and great service, but that was crazy expensive.

alam jiwa offers a very comparable level of service and comfort for 1/5 the price. the property is beautiful with palm trees, flowers, statues....and our room overlooked a gorgeous rice field. we had a little outdoor deck and sitting out there with a book and snacks was delightful. the room we got was quite large with a huge bathroom. the shower was outdoors which might make some people uncomfortable but we were fine with it.

we were offered a snack (cake and juice) when we arrived, and breakfast is included in the cost. not a ton of choices with breakfast but it was delicious and presented quite beautifully.

i would stay here again in a heartbeat. i regretted being here for one night only.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank lisach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayonne, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights beginning of March. Lovely rooms overlooking the rice fields. Most importantly, the staff were always available and happy to offer afternoon tea around their well maintained outdoor pool.

Thanks to the great team there for their attention to detail.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paulo200963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed at Alam Indah a few years ago and asked for recommendation when this time taking my 80 year old father with us. Alam Indah is gorgeous but has quite a few stairs so they suggested Alam Jiwa. The food was excellent as is fairly standard at any of the Alam hotels. Breakfast is so large you don't need lunch and by the time you have afternoon tea with them all you need think about is dinner. We had dinner ordered in from Lake Leke restaurant down the road and they provided complete room service (which is also possible for breakfast).

The lotus plants here were divine and the terraced plantings made them have a real Bali feel.

We stayed in the Cedrawasih room which was like a full house with 3 levels. There was a kitchen on the lower level, a big bed on the ground floor and another big bed upstairs. The bathroom had brown fur when we arrived and it opens out to spectacular views of the rice fields. Turns out it was likely squirrel fur.

If you don't love nature and animals then this is not the place for you. Plenty of ants in the bathroom but small price to pay for your slice of jungle heaven. In the morning we had a spectactular view to a distant volcano and those fields of golden luscious green in the rice paddies. All of the rooms are alongside a river.

At night time you can spy frogs outside and we even had one on our seat on our patio when we left.

The staff are impecaably trained to be friendly and responsive. The pool is divine. Wouldn't mind a little more shade when it is in the heat of the day but the garden setting is divine. Would like to see them clean up the rubbish on the outer limits of the hotel. This was my father's introduction to Bali and he loved it. Looking back over our photo book the lush greenery and decor is amazing and makes you wish you could be back there. Breakfast back home is literally boring.

We spent our first night at Kebun Indah which was in-town and also brilliant with better views at the rear (but more steps not suitable for the elderly). The staff looked after us though and their suggestions were perfect for my father and young children.

Also the driver who collected us from the airport was super keen to drive us around Bali and he was the perfect gentleman and prices were like AUD $30 for a day not driving far and up to $60 for huge trip north to south of Bali.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank river25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.1 mi away
Swasti Eco Cottages
Swasti Eco Cottages
#58 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#28 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
0.3 mi away
Saren Indah Hotel
Saren Indah Hotel
#52 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Anumana Ubud Hotel
Anumana Ubud Hotel
#50 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
2.1 mi away
Natura Resort and Spa
Natura Resort and Spa
#103 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
2.4 mi away
Wapa di Ume Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alam Jiwa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alam Jiwa

Property: Alam Jiwa
Address: Nyuhkuning, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Ubud
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#44 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Alam Jiwa 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Alam Jiwa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alam Jiwa Ubud, Bali
Alam Jiwa Hotel Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing