We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Slice of Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alam Jiwa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alam Jiwa
Ranked #30 of 169 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Slice of Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

It was my first time to Bali together with my mom and best friend. This hotel totally made our trip worth it. My mom can't stop raving about the hotel and wants to go back with my dad for their "honeymoon." We always looked forward to breakfast. The hotel is fully booked and yet you feel like you are the only guest. Staff of the hotel is so great and totally made a good impression on how kind the Balinese people are. I can't wait to book another trip and go back at this hotel. We stayed at Jalak Bali, great view and the bathroom is clean. ♥♥♥

Room Tip: I am pretty sure all rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lee27_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    74
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
145
225
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

A beautiful oasis that I can't wait to get back to. I stayed in the Angsa room and it was wonderful. The rooms are set out so that you feel like you are in your very own sanctuary. They each have their own private entry and are surrounded by beautiful lush tropical gardens featuring frangipanis, hibiscus, and lots of other tropical plants. There are water features everywhere and you can hear the continual soothing sound of water from the rooms which adds to the lovely ambience of the place. The entry to the Angsa is over a small walkway which leads to a porch with a daybed and table setting where you can sit and have breakfast each morning. Your outlook is a beautiful pond filled with giant flowering lilly pads and lush tropical plants of all descriptions. From the room you look out to the rice paddies and watch the village people working out in the rice paddies. The bathroom is another highlight as it is huge and features not only a bath but an open air shower which also shares the wonderful view of the rice paddies and tropical vegetation. The breakfast is also great, the in house made muesli was to die for as well as the other items on the menu that are all part of the price of the hotel. I loved the location being in the little village away from the hustle of ubud this all added to the relaxing tranquil experience and it felt like perhaps this is how ubud was years before it became too commercialised. I enjoy walking so for me it was not a problem to walk the short distance to ubud. Theres a path that winds around the outskirts of the monkey forest that the scooters take you share that eith them and tge monkeys. If your not into walking the free shuttle bus is always available and it was never a hassle for the staff to drop or pick us up.

I'd like to try the other rooms and am planning on going back again with all my family. I can't recommend this place enough it far out weighs the normal larger chain hotels because of its small size and it is so much more unique, has much more character and the staff are much more personable as a result. After you have stayed here you will feel like you have visited a part of heaven on earth...and I can say "I told you so"

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kamellainc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Having travelled all over the world, both my husband and I agreed that Alam Jiwa is one of the most special places we have ever stayed. The feel of the small resort (11 rooms in about 5 Villas), the stunningly beautiful rooms, the view through the jungle like garden over the rice fields, the service, the breakfasts on the terrace, all of it just felt too good to be true. It is just a few min into Ubud by their shuttle. Even though Alam Jiwas was almost fully booked, it felt like we were the only ones. Only have 1 wish......to return as soon as we can and stay longer :o)

Room Tip: we felt Garuda and Hannuman were the nicest rooms, but all were quite similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pinni13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We booked this place as a first stop on our week-long trip to Bali, figuring that we could find someplace better if we needed to once we were there. This place was so perfect that, after a few days traveling around the island, we came right back here.

ROOMS:

The rooms are private villas, and they are beautiful. Each villa seems different. The first one we stayed in was wooden, with beautiful carvings and good detail on the woven matting decorating the ceiling and a large private yard. The second room we stayed in was stone, and opened up to a terraced water feature planted with lotus flowers. Bathrooms were huge, beautiful, clean and had open-air (but private) showers. The grounds are beautifully landscaped, and the property is surrounded by rice paddies. The pool was pretty, and our children would have spent the entire vacation in it if we had let them.

LOCATION:

The hotel is on a beautiful, quiet street outside of the bustling downtown retail district. There is a good breakfast menu and tea-time cakes at the hotel, and a very good, reasonably-priced restaurant just around the corner, so food is always easily accessible. Breakfast is brought to the private verandah of your room, so you can get up late and eat in your pajamas if you want.

There is a free shuttle to town (Ubud) but it is not hard to walk to town. We walked in to town through the Monkey Forest, which was fun and pleasant. Not strenuous. Even our 7-year-old had no trouble. The hotel arranged a cheap rental car for us for our exploration of the island, even through we weren't staying at the hotel for those days.

Overall, very good service. Very friendly. Best price of all the places we stayed in Bali.

Room Tip: The stone villas seemed to be built tighter and therefore have fewer insects. Overall the insects w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Vanyali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Our group of four stayed in early December 2012 – and wow! – what a surprise Alam Jiwa was.

We had stayed in Ubud many times before – the last being in late December 2012. The accommodation experience then had put us off going back to Ubud again, but we thought we would give it one more try and find accommodation that showed the ‘real’ Ubud.

We found Alam Jiwa on Trip Advisor and everything looked really encouraging about it – and we were not disappointed in the least. We enjoyed out time at Alam Jiwa so much that we are already talking about going back this year!

Set in the quiet and incredibly clean village of Nyuhkuning -
behind the Monkey Forest of Ubud - access to Alam Jiwa was via a very narrow laneway adjacent to a primary school on the corner. It was delightful hearing the sound of happy children every morning as we walked past the school.

There is no road for cars through the Monkey Forest which keeps Nyuhkuning secluded and quieter – exactly what we were after. Road access to Nyuhkuning means driving around the Monkey Forest, which isn’t a problem as the hotel offers a free transport service to and from central Ubud – to return all you have to do is ring and the driver will come and get you. The other alternative is walking through the Monkey Forest - a 20 minute walk from the hotel through the forest brings you to Monkey Forest Road which is bustling with shops, galleries and restaurants. Or you can turn right and head uphill to Hanuman Street, also full of restaurants and shops. There is a motorbike path around the forest connecting to Monkey Forest Road. Pedestrians can also walk on this path without having to pay the 20000 rupiah entrance fee - although at times you have to brave the motorbikes!
At night time, it's very dark, so you will definitely need a flashlight provided in your room.



There are some very good restaurants, craft shops, masseuses, laundry, mini-mart and push bike and motor bike hire places all within 5 minutes walk from the hotel. We hired bikes one day – had a fabulous time cycling in and around Ubud.

The accommodation was superb – we stayed in Garuda and Kenari rooms – ginormous bedroom with a bathroom almost as big – and an outdoor shower. Beds were very comfortable and rooms spotlessly clean. We had a huge balcony overlooking serene rice fields above a running stream – with views of Mt Agung in the distance. This is the Bali we had been looking for. Breakfasts were served on your balcony each morning – there was enough variety for everyone.

The grounds were extremely well maintained, as was the swimming pool. A lovely touch was in late afternoon when you returned from your day’s activities to grab a swim and freshen up before heading out for dinner, there would be a staff member waiting to ask whether you wanted tea or coffee – and cake (different type each day).

Staff were always very friendly and courteous – nothing was a problem. The person who appeared to be the head was an elderly (he had grey hair and looked around mid 60s) gent – a lovely peaceful man who had a lot of local knowledge and set a wonderful example to the other staff members. He is a real asset to Alam Jiwa.

Overall, a fantastic stay – and we won’t stay anywhere else when we head back to Ubud.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Macbris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at the Alam Jiwa in the Angsa room. The room was gorgeous with a fantastic relaxing verandah where we had breakfast brought to us each morning and where we could look over the rice paddies. Even though the hotel was full it was so quiet we felt like we were the only ones there as the layout was such that no one was overlooked. The room was extremely clean and the bathroom with the outdoor shower overlooking the fields was great. This was a great getaway and I would highly recommend it for couples. We walked into Ubud everyday through the Monkey Forest which was an easy pleasant walk however the staff will drive you into Ubud if you want. I would definately stay there again and highly recommend it. The only negative thing I can think of is that the bath towels could have been fluffier!!!

Room Tip: When I booked the only available room was the Angsa its a ground floor room with a great view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jonesey_e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Great location away from the bustle of kuta, but easily accessible with the free shuttle. The rooms were spacious and really well appointed. The staff were very attentive and could not do enough for us, breakfast in the room every morning, afternoon tea. It is a great set up and was a really nce break from the bustle of ubud.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank jon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.4 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#18 of 169 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 315 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#25 of 169 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 503 reviews
0.3 mi away
Saren Indah Hotel
Saren Indah Hotel
#47 of 169 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 stars 812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#52 of 169 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 stars 485 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#37 of 169 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 stars 805 reviews
0.8 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alam Jiwa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alam Jiwa

Property: Alam Jiwa
Address: P.O.Box 165, Nyuhkuning, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Ubud
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#28 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Alam Jiwa 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Alam Jiwa Ubud, Bali
Alam Jiwa Hotel Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing