We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An absolute gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Alam Jiwa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alam Jiwa
Ranked #51 of 195 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“An absolute gem!”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Our group of four stayed in early December 2012 – and wow! – what a surprise Alam Jiwa was.

We had stayed in Ubud many times before – the last being in late December 2012. The accommodation experience then had put us off going back to Ubud again, but we thought we would give it one more try and find accommodation that showed the ‘real’ Ubud.

We found Alam Jiwa on Trip Advisor and everything looked really encouraging about it – and we were not disappointed in the least. We enjoyed out time at Alam Jiwa so much that we are already talking about going back this year!

Set in the quiet and incredibly clean village of Nyuhkuning -
behind the Monkey Forest of Ubud - access to Alam Jiwa was via a very narrow laneway adjacent to a primary school on the corner. It was delightful hearing the sound of happy children every morning as we walked past the school.

There is no road for cars through the Monkey Forest which keeps Nyuhkuning secluded and quieter – exactly what we were after. Road access to Nyuhkuning means driving around the Monkey Forest, which isn’t a problem as the hotel offers a free transport service to and from central Ubud – to return all you have to do is ring and the driver will come and get you. The other alternative is walking through the Monkey Forest - a 20 minute walk from the hotel through the forest brings you to Monkey Forest Road which is bustling with shops, galleries and restaurants. Or you can turn right and head uphill to Hanuman Street, also full of restaurants and shops. There is a motorbike path around the forest connecting to Monkey Forest Road. Pedestrians can also walk on this path without having to pay the 20000 rupiah entrance fee - although at times you have to brave the motorbikes!
At night time, it's very dark, so you will definitely need a flashlight provided in your room.



There are some very good restaurants, craft shops, masseuses, laundry, mini-mart and push bike and motor bike hire places all within 5 minutes walk from the hotel. We hired bikes one day – had a fabulous time cycling in and around Ubud.

The accommodation was superb – we stayed in Garuda and Kenari rooms – ginormous bedroom with a bathroom almost as big – and an outdoor shower. Beds were very comfortable and rooms spotlessly clean. We had a huge balcony overlooking serene rice fields above a running stream – with views of Mt Agung in the distance. This is the Bali we had been looking for. Breakfasts were served on your balcony each morning – there was enough variety for everyone.

The grounds were extremely well maintained, as was the swimming pool. A lovely touch was in late afternoon when you returned from your day’s activities to grab a swim and freshen up before heading out for dinner, there would be a staff member waiting to ask whether you wanted tea or coffee – and cake (different type each day).

Staff were always very friendly and courteous – nothing was a problem. The person who appeared to be the head was an elderly (he had grey hair and looked around mid 60s) gent – a lovely peaceful man who had a lot of local knowledge and set a wonderful example to the other staff members. He is a real asset to Alam Jiwa.

Overall, a fantastic stay – and we won’t stay anywhere else when we head back to Ubud.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Macbris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    77
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
152
241
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at the Alam Jiwa in the Angsa room. The room was gorgeous with a fantastic relaxing verandah where we had breakfast brought to us each morning and where we could look over the rice paddies. Even though the hotel was full it was so quiet we felt like we were the only ones there as the layout was such that no one was overlooked. The room was extremely clean and the bathroom with the outdoor shower overlooking the fields was great. This was a great getaway and I would highly recommend it for couples. We walked into Ubud everyday through the Monkey Forest which was an easy pleasant walk however the staff will drive you into Ubud if you want. I would definately stay there again and highly recommend it. The only negative thing I can think of is that the bath towels could have been fluffier!!!

Room Tip: When I booked the only available room was the Angsa its a ground floor room with a great view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jonesey_e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Great location away from the bustle of kuta, but easily accessible with the free shuttle. The rooms were spacious and really well appointed. The staff were very attentive and could not do enough for us, breakfast in the room every morning, afternoon tea. It is a great set up and was a really nce break from the bustle of ubud.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank jon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Can't recommend this beautiful oasis highly enough! Impeccable service and accommodations with lush grounds and beautiful, local character throughout. We stayed in the Jalak Bali room, which occupies the entire top floor of one of the three guest houses. Take a look at the photos of the room online and you'll see the beautiful character I am talking about. There was another room below us but it had a completely separate entrance so we never saw or heard its occupants. From our balcony we had a beautiful view of the rice terraces and the towering mountain. The staff is very attentive and provides a delicious breakfast to your private balcony each morning at the time you request (or you can eat breakfast in their dining area near reception and the pool). We were very impressed with all the breakfast options. Try the local pancake (more like a crepe) with paper thin apple slices and cinnamon sprinkled on top. Delicious. The jaffle (breakfast panini sandwich) is also very good -- my husband got the combo all three mornings: cheese, tomato and avocado. I also enjoyed the local Indonesian breakfast option one morning -- you really can't go wrong with any of it! Another perk is that purified, filtered water is offered at reception whenever you'd like to fill up your water bottles. The hotel location is just a short walk from the beautiful Monkey Forest Sanctuary, a must-see during your visit to Ubud. Go to the inner-most temple and you'll experience something akin to Indiana Jones with vines growing everywhere and a rushing creek carving its way through gorge-like rock. You can also walk to town from Alam Jiwa but the hotel offers car service for free, where ever you'd like to go in town. We utilized this everyday. The cars are brand new and always very clean and air conditioned for your transport. At one point a large bug landed on my leg and then quickly flew away, and the driver was so apologetic, insisting they would spray the car that very day. Another kind gesture from the staff that really made our stay -- we arrived back to our room on our second day to find a gorgeous flower arrangement with a note from the staff wishing us a happy honeymoon! It really warmed our hearts that they took the time and care to put that together for us. If you are looking for a luxurious place with local character, impeccable service & attention to detail, and beautiful, tranquil views of the true Bali, and you are willing to take a short drive to get into the center of town, then this place is for you!

Room Tip: Photos of each available room are posted on the hotel's website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank QuelquefoisDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I want you to stay here. When we arrived into Bali we were not prepared for the traffic and the crazy moter scooters. But when we arrrived at what we would call our home Alam Jiwa was a haven. Our huge huge room with a huge outdoor sitting area was one of the biggest rooms I have ever stayed in. The cost was less than a new dress. We enjoyed our breakfast on the patio and watched the workers in the rice field. It was very nice. Our time spent at the Alam Jiwa was very quiet, peaceful and the staff was gracious. We then moved to the Alam Indah for two nights and I was sad we had to leave but when we got to Alam Indah we could not have been more pleased. I enjoyed our room our two story room with huge bathrooms. Please stay here it really is much better than the name brand hotels that most people stay in. This is Bali and you want to stay in a place like this. Oh and please eat at Cafe Wayann. YUM we ate there 4 times. Thank you.

Room Tip: email them or skype them they will pick the room for you. All of them are good really they are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AwardproTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

We sayed at Alam Jiwa for five nights.
Three nights in the lower Jiwa above the river and two above rice paddie terraces.
There are three Alam's in Ubud, Jiwa, Indah & ? - all owned by the same family who also run Cafe Wyan on Monkey Forest Rd. (excellent food, locale is awesome. & staff are amazing!!)
The Alam's book up usually six months in advance so we were fortunate to scoop another's cancellation. Breathtaking siting on the veranda watching rice farmers in the fields w ducks and scenery early mornings.... Just cannot say enough! Breakfast served to us on our veranda, full Brkfst included in very reasonable price. Our children loved afternoon "cake" time and swims.
A retreat to escape to after a day in Ubud! Thanks Alam Jiwa!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Augustusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Everything wrote about Alam Jiwa on tripadvisor was correct, Alam Jiwa was a peaceful place surrounded by rice fields. The room was spacious (Jatayu room) with one big king-sized bed and a single bed. the room also has a huge bath room complete with outdoor shower and a bathtub. To maintain quietness the hotel didn't provide you with television so in the night you will only hear crickets. Jatayu is a wooden house on stilts with dimly lit - it will provide you with a completely rural atmosphere. The service was awesome - if you need anything they will provide you in a second., Nice swimming pool and nice rice fields views. Alam Jiwa located right behind the Monkey Forest of Ubud.

Room Tip: book 2nd floor room facing the rice field - the view will be awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dennyyudhanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Swasti Eco Cottages
Swasti Eco Cottages
#57 of 195 in Ubud
594 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#28 of 195 in Ubud
674 reviews
0.3 mi away
Saren Indah Hotel
Saren Indah Hotel
#52 of 195 in Ubud
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Anumana Ubud Hotel
Anumana Ubud Hotel
#50 of 195 in Ubud
468 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alam Shanti
Alam Shanti
#70 of 195 in Ubud
554 reviews
2.1 mi away
Natura Resort and Spa
Natura Resort and Spa
#98 of 195 in Ubud
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alam Jiwa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alam Jiwa

Property: Alam Jiwa
Address: Nyuhkuning, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Ubud
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#45 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Alam Jiwa 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Alam Jiwa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alam Jiwa Ubud, Bali
Alam Jiwa Hotel Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing