We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Priceless!”
Review of Alam Jiwa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alam Jiwa
Ranked #49 of 196 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Priceless!”
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

We sayed at Alam Jiwa for five nights.
Three nights in the lower Jiwa above the river and two above rice paddie terraces.
There are three Alam's in Ubud, Jiwa, Indah & ? - all owned by the same family who also run Cafe Wyan on Monkey Forest Rd. (excellent food, locale is awesome. & staff are amazing!!)
The Alam's book up usually six months in advance so we were fortunate to scoop another's cancellation. Breathtaking siting on the veranda watching rice farmers in the fields w ducks and scenery early mornings.... Just cannot say enough! Breakfast served to us on our veranda, full Brkfst included in very reasonable price. Our children loved afternoon "cake" time and swims.
A retreat to escape to after a day in Ubud! Thanks Alam Jiwa!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Augustusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    79
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
159
245
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Everything wrote about Alam Jiwa on tripadvisor was correct, Alam Jiwa was a peaceful place surrounded by rice fields. The room was spacious (Jatayu room) with one big king-sized bed and a single bed. the room also has a huge bath room complete with outdoor shower and a bathtub. To maintain quietness the hotel didn't provide you with television so in the night you will only hear crickets. Jatayu is a wooden house on stilts with dimly lit - it will provide you with a completely rural atmosphere. The service was awesome - if you need anything they will provide you in a second., Nice swimming pool and nice rice fields views. Alam Jiwa located right behind the Monkey Forest of Ubud.

Room Tip: book 2nd floor room facing the rice field - the view will be awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dennyyudhanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

It is hard to discribe how wonderful Alam Jiwa has been on our stay here. I will have a go though.

From the moment of the pick up from the airport until the second we said goodbye to the staff we have been treated as special guests. The staff knew us by name from the off and we hardly ever had to mention our room name when ordering something.

Situated tucked away just south of central Ubud ( only 15 min walk ) the place has beautiful views over the rice padi's and tastefully decorated rooms for a very affordable price.

Very spacious rooms and kept clean meticulously by the excellent staff who looked after us without any issue, made our stay a great experience.

In short; I can recommend Alam Jiwa for all that want to break away from either a stressful, busy or 'hamsterwheel' job.

Menco Veenstra.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dutmen77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights at Jalak Bali in Alam Jiwa. Through all our travels and stay in hotels far and wide this was a one of its kind - a beautiful and memorable experience. Starting with their warm welcome on arrival with a refreshingly fresh juice, making us feel at home with their personal touch and attentiveness to details every day was a pleasant one. The people of Bali are very polite and the hotel staff were no exception. Soft spoken, courteous and always willing to keep their guests happy. The place is located in a peaceful and tranquil locale yet close enough to Ubud central. We stayed at Jalak Bali located on the upper floor which we thought had the best views from the balcony - the paddy fields, the swaying palm trees, a gurgling brook close by, the fragrance from the lotus pond wafting gently through the windows, the sounds and sights of nature put us all at ease and relaxed. The best part was the open air shower near a spacious bathroom. A shower late evening under a moonlit sky after a long tiring day was great. They also offer evening tea which was a great way to unwind near the pool and get indulged. Breakfast was part our stay packege and it was truly awesome and nutritious way to start the day. Alam Jiwa also had a shuttle service to drop us off and pick up from Ubud. This was very convenient during evenings when we would go to the town for a spa or for dinner or the dance at the Ubud palace. The hotel also helped us with maps and useful info to have a hike around the paddy fields near the Ayum gorge

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Murli K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We booked at Alam Jiwa on the recommendation of a close friend. She and her family go back to Alam Jiwa every year , on hearing that I was sure we had chosen the right place for our family holiday. We stayed at Cendrawish suite as we were with my parents too, and my two kids 7 and 2 year old. The bedrooms were very spacious, with plenty of day beds.The kitchen probably wasn't used much, if the cleanliness of it was anything to go by!If there was any disappointment , it was the unkempt status of the kitchen. The bedrooms were huge , and lovely, very Bali.The rooms looked out to the rice paddy fields, and so was a bit further away from the centers(monkey forest road) but thanks to the resort taxi service, the distance was not a problem at all. The pool is quiet and though the water was quite cold it was a lovely end to the day for the kids. The breakfast was heavenly, and very substantial. The front office was very helpful with organizing the taxi for us to various sites, the whole operation is very smoothly run , with minimum fuss and smooth efficiency.The hotel also has different kids activities on offer, some offsite but worth it. The road has plenty of restaurants to choose from, all at walking distance from Alam Jiwa. At the price Alam Jiwa is the best option, our holiday stay was ideal, and we would choose it again without any doubt.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MGK_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights - we had been staying at the Alam Indah down the road but they were full so our last 2 nights were here at the Jiwa. Owned by the same people as the Indah and the other Alam hotels you are assured of the quality and the service.

Location: This hotel is a little further away from the Monkey Forest, probably about a 20-25minute walk. The best option is really to get the free hotel car to drop you into town, however the nice walk through the village and into town is well recommended.

Check-In: Smooth and friendly, the staff attend to your every need, serving you a fresh juice on arrival while you do the paperwork.

Room: We stayed in the Angsa room and it was amazing, you are virtually in your own private villa compound, you walk through a doorway into a garden oasis, cross a stone bridge and you see your room. A stunning day bed greets you from the patio! The room also features an outdoor shower which is so relaxing and enjoyable to use.

Everything about this place is relaxing, you can walk directly out into the rice fields or just relax in your room. Each morning we chose to have breakfast served in our room, exactly on time the staff bring the food and lay it out on your table and you enjoy your breakfast meal overlooking the sun rising on another stunning Bali morning.

I loved this place and have already re-booked for our return trip next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaverickRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonogin, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We were travelling with 3 children under 8. It had been 20 years since I had been to Bali and I wanted my families first experience to be of the serenity and culture that I recalled from Ubud. We were not disappointed.We spent the first 4 nights at Alam Jiwa in the Cendrawasih room which is perfect for a family. Over 3 levels, comfortable beds with mosquito nets and bathrooms on both levels, upstairs bathroom being outside. It was very humid so the air con on the second level was great although not avail in the upstairs room but fans were provided.

All levels had views of the rice paddies and local people working the fields. The children didn't notice there wasn't a TV and spent much time chasing geckos, watching squirrels and swimming in the pool while we enjoyed afternoon tea and a Bintang!!. The staff were exceptionally attentive and rooms were tendered to each day + they were great with the kids.

There is a free shuttle to town or if walking there is a back track around the monkey forest so you don't have to pay to go through each time. Staff tell you all you need to know and provide a local map. Laka Leke the sister restaurant just down the road we ate at twice and watched a Kecak dance performance 1 night. Kids loved it and got photos with the dancers after. Try the bacon wrapped prawns .. to die for.

We were not there in peak time so found we didn't have to wait long for the shuttle. When booking the accom I asked for a driver to collect us from the airport. Everything was seamless and cost about $25 airport to UBUD. (Travel agent booked our return transfer from Seminyak to airport and it cost us $70!) Once there we organised with the drivers to take us to the Safari & Marine park and do our transfer to the next hotel in Semiyak. This was much cheaper then booking a tour and enabled us talk with our driver ; thanks rabaul.

We would highly recommend Alam Jiwa and will be back! My boys are wanting to go back now as they didn't get to say bye to the 'man with the glasses and snake' Wayan I think..so bye to you from the boys and thank you for a most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.0 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#23 of 196 in Ubud
738 reviews
3.9 mi away
Alam Puisi Villa
Alam Puisi Villa
#47 of 196 in Ubud
370 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#27 of 196 in Ubud
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#40 of 196 in Ubud
329 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sapodilla Ubud
Sapodilla Ubud
#13 of 196 in Ubud
295 reviews
9.2 mi away
Suarapura Resort & Spa
Suarapura Resort & Spa
#56 of 196 in Ubud
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alam Jiwa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alam Jiwa

Property: Alam Jiwa
Address: Nyuhkuning, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Ubud
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#44 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Alam Jiwa 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Alam Jiwa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alam Jiwa Ubud, Bali
Alam Jiwa Hotel Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing