We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“peaceful hideaway, yet not far from the town center” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Agung Raka Resort & Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Agung Raka Resort & Villas
Ranked #124 of 193 Hotels in Ubud
Jakarta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“peaceful hideaway, yet not far from the town center”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2009

Agung Raka Hotel looks small and modest from its front gate. However, the superior bungalows where we stayed in was spacious and had peaceful green rice fields for view.

We booked for the USD 75 net 'lumbung' (small bungalow) bungalow style. However, we got instantly upgraded to the superior bungalow, due to the low season. The individual stile-legged-bungalow consists of 2 stories. The lower floor was for an open air balcony (about 3m x 4m), with low-rise table & cushions to lounge around, overlooking the rice fields, which at our time of coming was about 50cm high & lucious green. Perfect for a backdrop of book reading or chatting in the balcony. The other part of the lower floor is the entrance to the inside of the hut and a ceilingless-bathroom (with big red-marble bathtub, big enough for 2!) and shower area. The toilet was clean.
A wooden staircase led us to the upper floor, which had 1 queen sized bed & 1 single bed (which we used to watch (local) TV/ no internationale programme). Both beds were equipped with mosquito nets & proved useful, as these bungalows are right in the middle of rice fields & fruit trees, hence bugs can enter the bungalow at any time.
There is a smaller balcony on the upper floor with 2 lazy bamboo sunbeds, overlooking the ricefields too.
In brief, this bungalow provided us with the atmosphere we wanted for our holiday, break from the fast paced city life. Quiet, swimming pool was also charming, the hotel can also arrange for masseurs/private massages to be done in our balcony.
However, this hotel may not meet your expectation is u're looking for a 5 star comfortability standard. bugs may fly around/ants may be near you esp on the lower floor, the bed is made from local materials (comfortable enough, but if you are pricky and can only sleep on springbed/harder mattress, then it may be a problem). It was a bit too soft for me esp on the first day. There is an aircon, but the temp will not be as cold as a modern hotel, simply because the wall is made of traditional thin wood that let the air transpires out/in the wall easily and there is no ceiling btw the room and the roof. However, there is a fan & usually weather in Ubud is not that hot anyway.
Nevertheless, despite all these, as long as u're looking for a 'back-to-nature' stay, this is the place to be.
The hotel chain also owns the 'Bebek Bengil" resto which serves excellend duck & pork ribs dishes & gives you 10% discount when eating there. free shuttle buses are available to go downtown Ubud/or that resto. Free wifi is also available but only in the hotel lobby area or the pool area.
The receptionists were courteus enough, but not the most hospitable i've met in Bali.
Breakfast is simple, u get to choose btwn Local Fried Rice/ Continental/ English Breakfast & it's delivered to your balcony upon your wanted time.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank retsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    144
    57
    31
    25
See reviews for
62
167
34
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2009

Booked the "Kingdom Suite" over the net, paid deposit for discounted rate. Was not advised until arrival, the room had been double booked. With Ubud totally full it was take an expensive downgrade or hit the road. The tiny "Bungalow" had no glass in bedroom windows, no hot water, poor room service, walls not sealed, bathroom down a dangerously steep stairs, rattan walls and bed infested with bed bugs. A week later, after doctor and medication, about 100 bites are beginning to fade.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RoxanneMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
66 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2009

I booked the 1 night stay via ratestogo.com for my family of 4 pax in their superior room. The website stated that superior room can accomodate 4 pax and per room per night is about USD 60 (Incl tax and SC). When I checked into the room, the superior room had only 1 double bed and 1 single bed. We didnt asked for an extra bed as my brother wanted to sleep in the balcony. Upon check out, the staff insisted that we must pay for USD 80 +; given the reason that the tax and SC is only for 2 person. However, on the receipt printout stated clearly that USD60 is for 4 adults and inclusive of tax and SC. They refuse to let us off.
On the night that we stayed in the hotel, there is no electricity. The generator blown off as there is excess usage of elec. The staffs provided us with 3 candles to last throughout the night. Hence, it is highly recommended to bring your own torchlight there. The morning breakfast will be sent to our own bangalow. There is a basement that is available for us to rest and relax and enjoy the rice paddy fields. However, it is also a home for the ants. It is impossible to lie there.
There is WIFI available but only from the lobby to the swimming pool. If your room is located away from the pool, you will have no access to the internet.

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank unizkhong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2009

If you are looking for an unobstructed and direct view of the rice paddies from your room, this is probably the only one in Ubud. We visited 3 or 4 other hotels (which were highly recommended on this site and on Lonely Planet), but none of them have the same open spaciousness as the Agung Raka.
We stayed in the Superior Bungalow for 7 nights and enjoyed it. As the hotel staff promised on email, we enjoyed an open view of the beautiful rice fields from our upper terrace and the ground floor lounge.
The large bungalows are located within sprawling grounds that are constantly swept and maintained. Everything is neatly manicured: even the rice fields are straight!
The pool is small, but is very very clean - not a trace of algae (my pet peeve) anywhere.
The staff are super friendly and the drivers are extremely punctual.
The nasi goreng breakfast was nice but after having it 3 days in a row, we had to order the "american" breakfast.
The downside: the furnishings are not refined. The rooms are dimly lit and the outdoor shower/toilet are located downstairs, which makes it a little annoying to visit the toilet at night! During the last 3 days, the cleaning staff got lazy and didn't clean our toilet. Ants were crawling all over the bowl and seat. The floor mat was never replaced either.
But with US$50 a night, we couldn't really expect much more. It's simply a no frills, comfortable, charming and spacious accomodation.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emilyhwp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2009

We were excited when we saw the beautiful little huts which lined the padifields, but wha greeted us inside these little huts were rather disappointing. It was poorly lit, which made it really impossible to do any reading at night. Sheets were dirty and it did not smell very nice. Outdoor toilet made me rather uncomfortable when I was taking a shower. And there were many bugs around in the shower area! Overall, place needs a spruce and maintainence. Unless you have no choice, I would not recommend this place. On my second visit there, I stayed somewhere else, and it was a slice of Heaven.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinkeeray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2009

Had a great stay there - if you want to stay in traditional style thatched cottages in incredibly lush surroundings, then you will love it. If you are looking for a US style sterile, shiny hotel, don't come here -in fact don't come to Bali!

The rooms are spread across quite a large area, giving good privacy. I would avoid the Villa rooms (4 rooms in one building, close to the road and bad views), and the standard bungalows also have pretty poor views. All the rest are great, well spread out rooms with wonderful views. The Honeymoon and Kingdom suites are particularly well located.

Breakfast (served on your terrace) was great. Free shuttles to and from town also welcome. Lots of noise from frogs, lizards etc (whould have thought geckos would make so much noise?), which I loved. Bad lighting in rooms made it impossible to read at night, which I didn't love.

  • Liked — Wonderful setting
  • Disliked — Bad lighting
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Asbestos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2009

We checked in then saw the room and checked out. Need I say more,(the room we were shown was dirty, dark, poorly furnished ,no safe boxes as inferred on web site ) was lower backpacker quality but not back packer prices

  • Liked — views and grounds wonderful
  • Disliked — dirty room/bed
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank silton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.6 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#56 of 193 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pertiwi Bisma 2
Pertiwi Bisma 2
#109 of 193 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#57 of 193 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bhuwana Ubud Hotel
Bhuwana Ubud Hotel
#73 of 193 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
2.9 mi away
Bakung Ubud Resort and Villa
2.3 mi away
Royal Villa Jepun
Royal Villa Jepun
#91 of 193 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agung Raka Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agung Raka Resort & Villas

Property: Agung Raka Resort & Villas
Address: Jl. Pengosekan | Bebek Bengil St., Ubud 80571, Indonesia (Formerly Agung Raka Bungalows)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#45 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Agung Raka Resort & Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
elcome to Bali Agung Raka Resort and Villa, the new modern minimalist Resort are built to complement the landscape that surrounds it, providing a sensational feeling of being in a beautiful village, with a stunning sunset view from the rice terrace. Located at Jl. Raya Pengosekan, Ubud - Bali, it just 10 minutes walking distance to Monkey Forest in Ubud. Bali Agung Raka Resort and Villa consist of 20 villas (one and two bedrooms villa) and 25 guest rooms inclusive of Superior and Deluxe Rooms located on 1st and 2nd floor. All guest rooms are set within building, 2-storey high with staircase access. Ideal for family holiday, honeymoon couple, groups of friends and more. Most of our villas are designed to mimic the general shape of a Balinese rice-barn, which has its lower space utilized as living space, and a bedroom on the second floor. Our villas are mostly constructed of wooden structure, bamboo, and thatched roof, which provide a stable cool temperature throughout the day, while an air conditioning system is in place in each room to further adjust it according to our guests' preference. As added convenience feature, some of our villas are equipped with kitchenettes, and every room is equipped with telephone, mini bar, and a television set. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Agung Raka Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agung Raka Bungalows Hotel Ubud
Agung Raka Hotel
Agung Raka Resort & Villas Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing