We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Explore UBUD, BALI, Indonasia” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pertiwi Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pertiwi Resort & Spa
Ranked #118 of 192 Hotels in Ubud
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Explore UBUD, BALI, Indonasia”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at the Pertiwi Resort & Spa in Ubud for 2 nights in April while touring around Bali. Most of the rooms are in single storey or two storey structure. bungalows set in beautiful gardens full of tropical trees and shrubs. The whole site is very undulating . There are two lovely outdoor pools and some lovely water features. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms was with traditional furniture which were old and not in good condition including air conditioning in some rooms as some of us had to change rooms, but new rooms had direct entrance to beds with a glass door which is most objectionable, as unless curtains are covered, there is no privacy. There was a TV, room safe, tea/coffee making facilities, mini bar, large umbrella (for the rainy season) a hairdryer and, of course, air conditioning, and wi-fi internet facility. The jute slipper provided were an article to be retained. The bed was large and comfy. Pool towels were also provided in the room. Everything else there was just lovely. Some rooms had a small balcony with a table and chairs and it was nice to sit out. Breakfast is taken in the Green House Restaurant at the front of the hotel complex. Some of us did try the Spa not knowing about selection of spas outside. This is a lovely hotel complex set in beautiful grounds but as it has a lot of steps and very steep slopes but battery cars were available for senior citizens but not all the time.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ashok_kelkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    217
    160
    52
    43
See reviews for
97
250
61
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Launceston
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

The Pertiwi has absolutely beautiful grounds. We recently spent 4 nights in a luxury pool villa and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We would not recommend the villas for elderly or disabled due to the steep inclines to reach them. The Villas are very nice, but could do with some maintenance on the outside - inside beautiful. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Great location, right on Monkey Forest Street & close to restaurants & shopping. Delicious breakfast at the back restaurant where they cook to order rather than buffet which was average, at the front restaurant. The 2 pools in the resort are lovely. Spa a bit expensive for Bali, but amazing massage & worth the money. Buggy ride up & down paths is great. Would recommend resort to everyone.
Maree & Garry Biber

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MareeB1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed for 3 days mid September in a super deluxe room. The location is really good, excellent for exploring Ubud on foot. My room was located at the rear of the resort, on Bisma road and was pleasant and comfortable. The rear location presented a great alternative walk, through the rice fields, to the main town area. Yes there would be problems if you had mobility issues, it is indeed a bit of a roller coaster ride from front to back but the motorised buggy does alleviate this. A nice ride. There is also a cafe at the rear entrance for breakfast and other meals. Friendly and informative staff. Booked on the hotel website and got a nice discount. All in all good value for money, the grounds are well maintained and very pretty. Would certainly consider this again if I return to Ubud.

Room Tip: Found the rear rooms - on Bisma road - an excellent choice for a solo traveller.who enjoys exploring...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pbdinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed at the Pertiwi Resort & Spa in Ubud for 2 nights in September while touring around Bali. Most of the rooms are single storey traditional Balinese bungalows set in beautiful gardens full of tropical trees and shrubs. The whole site is very undulating with a stream running through it. Our room was very close to the stream. There are two lovely outdoor pools and some lovely water features. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was very spacious with traditional furniture. There was a TV, room safe, tea/coffee making facilities, mini bar, large umbrella (for the rainy season) a hairdryer and, of course, air conditioning. The bed was large and comfy. Pool towels were also provided in the room. There were a few complimentary toiletries in the bathroom. I can’t remember the number of our room but I must admit that the bathroom, although very large, was rather tired and let our stay down a bit. Everything else there was just lovely. We had a small terrace with a table and chairs and it was nice to sit out. By one of the pools was a small bar and restaurant. I recommend their freshly made banana smoothie.
Breakfast is taken in the Green House Restaurant at the front of the hotel complex. There was a reasonable selection of hot and cold buffet. We also ate dinner here on the first night had an enjoyable meal. I did not try the Spa. This is a lovely hotel complex set in beautiful grounds but as it has a lot of steps and very steep slopes I would not recommend it for anyone who was not able-bodied. Saying that, porters have motorized buggies so having to carry your luggage was one problem you can forget about.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Annathetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

On the last day of our Indonesian honeymoon, we decided to get one final spa treatment. Pertiwi could fit us in straight away ... we now know why. The place is a dive, it's no more than a few shabby rooms with extremely under qualified staff. For my manicure and pedicure I was made to sit on the bed (no seat), only 5 polish colours to choose from and the lady went ahead and butchered my nails. My fingers were bleeding by the end of it. Meantime, my husband received half of what he describes as "the worst massage of his life" and a pedicure that also left his toes bleeding. The lack of hygiene was appalling, passing the nail files and tools between each other during our treatment, blood and all ... makes me wonder if they even bother to clean them between treatments. Needless to say we pulled the pin less than half way through and refused to pay. There are cheaper walk-in treatment rooms that aren't claiming to be a spa, that offer better hygiene, cleanliness and service than this appalling excuse for a spa.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Scoots83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ubud hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

we had a delux room.but was far from delux. a/c was so noisy we couldnt have it on at night. toilet made a large bang when you sat on ot and felt like ot was gping to tip over. tv had poor if any reception. complaints.fell.on deaf ears. this hotel is too big and i think that is why it isnt managed well. shared room.with a couple and spent 7 uncomfortable nights.on.fold.bed. even though i paid the same as the couple?
breakfast was good. gardens are lovely. property has 2 pools.but the nicest pool is in rhe.middle.of the resort so you cant be.bothered and there was never any empty chairs, there didnt seem to be enough to accomodate the amount of people staying there?
wouldnt ever stay there again. very dissapointing.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaj66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Ideal location to cover all of what's interesting in Ubud, very friendly staff as you expect from the generally awesome service in Ubud, nice facilities (pretty cool pools), nice bar/restaurant.

However, the rooms being surrounded with a wonderful jungle-like garden, this has its share of various animals, making nights difficult if you have a light sleep.

Room Tip: The most expensive suites are a bit more away from the jungle-like garden, so i'd guess they'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rudy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.3 mi away
Pertiwi Bisma 2
Pertiwi Bisma 2
#108 of 192 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pertiwi Bisma
Pertiwi Bisma
#99 of 192 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#55 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Champlung Sari Hotel
Champlung Sari Hotel
#89 of 192 in Ubud
3.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yulia Village Inn
Yulia Village Inn
#106 of 192 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Evitel Resort Ubud
The Evitel Resort Ubud
#113 of 192 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pertiwi Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pertiwi Resort & Spa

Property: Pertiwi Resort & Spa
Address: Monkey Forest St., Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#95 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pertiwi Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pertiwi mean Mother Earth, is an exotic name well known in the heartland of Ubud, a perfect retreat for those who appreciate informality and total privacy but want to be close to Ubud's tourist's interests and cultural centre. Considering the central but quiet location, the space and facilities are set in compound greenery tropical landscape with two swimming pools and proximity to either Monkey forest and Ubud's King Palace, just a door step to find many tourist activities, shops are right on the main road in front of the resort a few minute walk to the museums and rice field, represents outstanding value offer not just an accommodation but unforgettable experience to recharge your energy. New Renovated Villas, with its simplistic design covered by alang-alang roof, long glass window and bamboo hand-woven ceiling are reflecting its Balinese stylish combined with modern touch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Pertiwi Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pertiwi Resort And Spa
Pertiwi Resort Ubud
Pertiwi Hotel Ubud
Pertiwi Resort & Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing