We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Our perfect little retreat”
Villa Cantik - peaceful, quiet and great views.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Cantik - peaceful, quiet and great views.
The living room is open to views, the pool and dining area. Relax on comfortable furniture, recharge and take in the views.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
20 reviews
Villa Cantik - peaceful, quiet and great views.
The living room is open to views, the pool and dining area.
Relax on comfortable furniture, recharge and take in the views.
The dining area is beside the kitchen.
Wow- the views can be seen from everywhere.
The king size bed is perfect in it's large air-conditioned bedroom.
The en-suite bathroom  is huge.
The bathroom had a shower, vanity and toilet.
Enjoy the pool in complete privacy.
Breakfast can be enjoyed on the terrace staring at the view.
There are sun lounges beside the pool.
Your villa staff member will look after you and keep the villa clean.
Come and stay at Villa Cenik. You'll love it. Everyone does.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ubud, Bali

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
DuckFan
Palm Springs
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Our perfect little retreat”
Reviewed September 24, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
3
people found this review helpful

We loved Villa Cenik. Located down a mostly paved 200ish meter path, overlooking a small steam and jungle ravine, with almost total privacy, this was the perfect retreat from the hectic nature that central Ubud has become these days. You are surrounded on either side and behind with other small villas, but no one can see into the villa, so it really did feel secluded, plus skinny dipping in the refreshing plunge pool was a plus. The pool was perfect, and deep too, the living area was the ideal spot to laze away the afternoon, the kitchen (especially the fridge) came in very handy, the wi-fi was fast for Bali (never turned on the tv), the bedroom was spacious, with plenty of closet space, a more than adequate A/C unit, and comfortable bed and bedding. Some have complained of a hard mattress, and it is firm, but that's the way we like it. The bathroom is also large and well appointed, although it would be nice if there was a door between the bathroom and the bedroom. Nyoman, our houseman, was a delight. He came at 8:30am every morning to cook breakfast (eggs, toast and fresh fruit) and tidy up. Our sheets and towels were changed twice in the 11 days we were there, which was fine. Nyoman also arranged for a very inexpensive scooter rental for us (50K a day), and was very helpful with assisting in the transfer of our luggage. Steve, the property manager, is super easy to deal with. Book via email, pay when you get there...that simple. It's the second time we have booked through Steve and I can highly recommend him. The only other minor complaint I would have is that they could do a little to spruce up the outside. What plants there are, are not that well cared for, and a little touch up paint, some minor tile repair, and maybe a few large outdoor art pieces would do the trick. I will note that this is not a luxury villa, this is a very well appointed, located and clean villa, that ticks most all the boxes, and after doing a great deal of research, it, and all of Steve's villas, as the best value in Ubud for anyone looking for the villa experience, but still on a budget.

Regarding the location, we like the Penestanan area. It's close to central Ubud, but also has a lot to offer itself. If you walked to the end of the path leading to the villa and then turned left, that path would lead you first to Made's Warung, a great little spot for local food, and we had an awesome smoked duck dinner there too. Further up that path, you pass Lala Lili's, another nice lunch spot and then arrive at Intuitive Flow yoga, which I think is the best yoga studio in Ubud. If you keep going, you reach the Campuhan Steps that lead to Jl Campuhan and a taxi stand. Going back to the end of the path leading from the villa, if you turn left instead of right, the path will lead to a road and another taxi stand, and also a great place called Cafe Vespa. When you get tired of rice and noodles, this is the place to go for some really good coffee, dessert and great Mediterranean food. We especially liked the open faced avocado and arugula sandwich with goat cheese (and we're not vegetarians!). if you continue west on that street you will reach Jl. Sayan. OK, now, going back to the end of the path from the villa, if you go straight, it will lead to Jl. Penestanan, dropping you right next to Bubu's Warung (also good for local food). If you turn left on Penestanan, you will find Bayu's Kitchen, which has great music on Sunday nights, and further along is Warung Mendez, which has excellent local food with a bit a of gourmet twist. I love their BBQ goat leg. There are several other good places to eat along here as well. If you were to turn right at Bubu's, the road winds down into the ravine (be careful if you're on foot), and at the bottom of the ravine is a place called Warung Cupit, which has decent music on Tuesday's, excellent cheap cocktails, super friendly service and the best BBQ ribs in Ubud. This place blows Naughty Nuri's out of the water across the board, and it's about 30% less expensive.

Now, going back to the villa, if you turn left right outside the door, the path will intersect with another path after about 200m. If you turn right at the intersection, it will take you past Clear Cafe an on to Intuitive Flow. If you turn left and then make an almost immediate right, the path will take you to Jl. Campuhan and Bintang Market, which is a great place to use an ATM, buy a SIM card and stock up on groceries. People buy gifts here too, but their prices aren't that good, but if you don't like to barter, this may be your place. If you continue up Jl. Campuhan into Sanggingan, you will pass several good spas and restaurants. Indus has one of the best views, Mozaic has some of the best food in all of Bali, Man Maru has very good sushi, and Kopi Kat has good coffee and an excellent mango souffle. Our go to spa was Putri. It's quiet, clean, staffed with well trained therapists, has a large array of services and is very reasonably priced. We went there about 8 out of our 11 days for treatments, and were never disappointed. The Yoga Massage and Hair Cream Bath were probably the best, the nail treatments probably the worst, and our go to treatment was the 90 min. Balinese massage, which at 170K was a steal! It's a little bit of a walk from the villa (we usually used our scooter), but the path that takes you to Clear Cafe if you turn right, also parallels Jl. Campuhan for quite a way up into Sanggingan if you turn left, and it's a nice alternative to walking on the sidewalk. You may get a little lost the first time you take this route, but you can't really get THAT lost, as there aren't too many places to branch off from the path.

I will say the scooter did come in handy, but if you like to walk, it's not really necessary.

Hope all the tips help, and I would not hesitate to book this, or any of Steve's villas.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The privacy and quiet
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mick C
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“How's the serenity?”
Reviewed September 11, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My partner and I spent a week at Villa Cenik in August 2016. The villa is beautiful and just a described. Pictures probably don't do it justice.
Whilst the villa is a few minutes walk to the road and the nearest restaurants and supermarket, it is very quiet and peaceful. The perfect escape from the bustle of Ubud. There was no construction noise as others have mentioned.
We did lose water one morning but this was very quickly remedied by the staff.
We look forward to returning in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrisbaneA...
Brisbane
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Private Escape”
Reviewed August 10, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

My husband and I just came back from 4 nights in Villa Cenik for our honeymoon and nearly had to be dragged out of the place to leave, it was perfect!! The owner, Steve, was fantastic to communicate with via email and arranged all our transfers for us prior to our arrival in Bali. The villa is located down a lush pathway in Penestanan and was perfectly quiet and secluded. The bedroom and bathroom were generous, there were several living spaces outside that made the most of the beautiful views over the gorge. The private plunge pool was great and we spent many afternoons in the pool and lazing on the sunbeds. We had a gentleman come every morning to make eggs on toast and cut up a bowl of fruit for breakfast, which was delicious, and then clean the villa while we went out for the day. There is a pathway beside the villa which leads down to Bintang Supermarket and the main road. Steve is happy to help with scooter hire, but we often made the walk into Ubud center and visited the markets. Our flight departing Bali was at 10pm and Steve was gracious enough to give us a free extended checkout until 6pm! We managed to leave our togs behind and he also posted these back to us free of charge. Hubby and I are already looking forward to being able to return and stay again with Private Ubud Villa's - could not recommend them highly enough :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travellin...
Bobcaygeon, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great getaway with total privacy”
Reviewed April 20, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our one month stay at Villa Cenic could not have been more relaxing and enjoyable. The villa had all the facilities we needed, including a spacious air-conditioned bedroom, a comfortable and well furnished outdoor living area with a plonge pool, a well equipped kitchen and a great view across a deep jungle ravine. We had total privacy - we could not see anyone and nobody could look into our space.
Our houseworker was great, always helpful and very careful in keeping the place spotlessly clean. His omelets were great and we always had a good and varied supply of fruit.
Villa Cenic is not accessible by car, but the supermarket is only a seven minutes walk along a footpath and the main Penestenan village road is ten minutes away. On arrival, our houseworker ferried our bags to the villa on his scooter. There are many good restaurants in the vicinity.
Steve, the manager, is extremely helpful and responsive to all enquiries.
We strongly recommend Villa Cenic and will be returning for another month next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Construction noise nearby, but this is temporary
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
286defaul...
Fenton, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfection”
Reviewed March 24, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

This was my third year in a row spending a month in Villa Cenik. Everything about my stay was perfect. The breakfast mangoes were extraordinary this year!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location, location, location!
Liked least: That damned bat came back again a few nights. Pooped on the floor!!
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey27...
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We loved it”
Reviewed April 27, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Villa Cenick was a nice surprise, as it is better than it looks in photo's.
The jungle on your doorstep is amazing as are the secluded walking trails and paths that lead to local Warungs (small family owned eateries and businesses).
The layout of the villa is great and the whole place is very easy and relaxing.
It is kept clean and tidy by the room person and fresh fruit and food was brought to us every morning, loved it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, privacy and layout of villa. .
Liked least: Internet dropout , not sure that this is not more an area problem.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
286defaul...
Fenton, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Two years in a row”
Reviewed March 5, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was the second year in a row that I stayed for a month in Villa Cenik. Nearly everything about the stay was perfect. The villa itself is ideal for a solo traveler or a couple. The setting is spectacular. It is within comfortable walking distance from some excellent warungs and a big supermarket and several ATM machines and a longer, but interesting and doable walk into Ubud town. And because it is beside a footpath that goes alongside a river valley and is some distance from any roads, you never hear traffic noise, except for an occasional motor scooter. The predominate sound is usually running water, insects, frogs and birds. The only drawback this time was the noise from a villa going up across the river valley. That villa should not bother once completed because the jungle will quickly regrow around it and it should disappear from your sight in Cenik. And construction noise will also, of course, cease. A new air conditioner was installed in the bedroom and the TV channel package was upgraded since my first stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Building noise across river valley.
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing