We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best place I've ever stayed in Bali (maybe top 5...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
96 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Ubud, Bali

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 96 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chinese (Simplified) first
Danish first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
gray_jon
NY, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best place I've ever stayed in Bali (maybe top 5 anywhere)”
Reviewed February 6, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
4
people found this review helpful

My partner and I took my parents visiting from the US to Bali for a week. I live in Hong Kong and have been traveling to Bali frequently since 2000 and have stayed in a number of the high-end hotel properties (4 Seasons, Aman and others). This was our first time renting a villa and Villa Kelusa was the best decision we made about the trip. Accommodations were perfect, facilities exquisitely designed and situated in operational rice paddies (which is no longer the case at the 4 Seasons at Sayan). My parents have not stopped talking about the Villa Kelusa part of the trip -- and in particular, the hospitality shown by Wayan and the staff. It made a difference. For these somewhat 'jaded' travelers, Villa Kelusa ranks as one of the top places we've ever stayed. It's off the beaten track, but not too much so, and Ubud was only 10 minutes away. The Villa and environs give a feel of an older Bali which has gradually faded away in more congested tourist areas around Denpasar or central Ubud. Will definitively go back and stay a week. We rented the entire property for 4 of us which was great. My parents had their house, we had a our own -- in close proximity (20 meters or so). A very special place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 8, 2015
Dear Jon,

Warmest Greeting from Villa Kelusa and Red Lotus as the management,
Firstly, we would like to thank you for choosing Villa Kelusa as your accommodation during your stay in Bali. We were more than being glad to serve you and always did our best to give you the best offers mainly in the services. Our well trained staff will also give their best personalized services to every guest who stays at the villa since this is something that you will not get when you stay at the hotel or resort, we will be of your assistance and our concern will be only you so we can focus on serving whatever you need at the villa from arranging your day out, meals etc. That is one of the reasons why ,may people choose to stay at the villa since they can get the personalized services that they do not get if they stay at the hotel or resort normally.
Once again, thank you very much for the review and for choosing our villa for your accommodation, we are looking forward to meeting you again.

Best Regards
Andri and all staff at Villa Kelusa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slamet S
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautifully peaceful”
Reviewed February 2, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My family and I stayed for 4 days and 3 nights, and indeed it was a memorable experience. The friendly and ever accommodating Wayan and the rest of his team was always ready to tend to our needs.

The villa, which consist of three main areas, served as a perfect location for our family. Though the open concept bathroom could be awkward for those who are not used to it, the room itself was creatively designed.

The only thing that 'bug' us ( no pun intended) was indeed the bugs. Other than that, peace and calm surrounded our vacation and we will forever cherish our experience here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 3, 2015
Dear Bapak Slamet,

Warmest Greeting from Villa Kelusa,
firstly we would like to thank you for staying at Villa Kelusa and indeed it was a great pleasure for Wayan and all the staff to serve you during your stay at the villa, and we do apologize if the bugs give you problems during your stay since we are close to the nature and the villa is surrounded by nature, valleys, rice field and garden then you might find some bugs around the garden or around the open space living area.However, we will definitely do our best to keep the bugs away without killing them since they are also part of the nature.

Once again, thank you very much for staying with us
and we are looking forward to welcoming you again at this villa.

best regards
Andri, Wayan and all staff of Villa Kelusa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohmfamily
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
Reviewed February 1, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had the huge joy of returning for a second stay in January, this time with my parents as well as our young children, renting Pondok Sapi as well as Pondok Surya.

The property is simply divine! Having had a sticky beak at several other villa's for me nothing can compare with the view, tranquility and sense of space Villa Kelusa offers. Everything about it from the layout of the grounds, to the gorgeous baths and the comfort of the beds is sheer heaven to me!

We loved that we were personally welcomed at the airport by Wayan, the house manager. He is truly one of a kind and we now consider him a family friend. As per other reviews, nothing is ever too much for him and his desire for his guests to have a dream stay means that everything is done with excellence. For us that was the stunning flowers that were displayed everywhere, the fact that he managed to source out of season durian, the endless complimentary fruit platters, the fact that he (and another staff member) gladly took the children to a nearby play centre for the afternoon and the extra security measures he put in place to keep our little one safe from the pool. Wayan also joined us all the way to our next destination which we really appreciated.

The rest of the staff are equally wonderful and whilst completely unobtrusive, we are grateful for the many sets of extra eyes for our kids. Their safety & enjoyment was a number 1 priority for the villa team which meant that we could breathe easy a little. A special mention to the chef, Sang Ayu, who has noticeably polished her skills since our last stay. Her breakfasts are fabulous! (For dinner, we went to Locavore twice! Do yourself a favour and book in there, it is incredible!!!)

One extra highlight was the village & temple hike we did with Wayan. It was such a joy to experience 'real' Bali; people having 'mandi' (wash time), threshing the rice, the ducks wading through mud for tasty treats as well as village life. We were also invited into a family compound which was so wonderful, warm and welcoming. Wayan offers these complimentary hikes as part of staying at the villa and next time we visit, we look forward to a longer hike with him through the paddy fields & across the river.

Once again an absolutely perfect break. Villa Kelusa has a piece of my heart and we are already planning our return.

THANK YOU!!

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 3, 2015
Dear Nicole,

Greeting from Villa Kelusa,
thank you very much for staying at Villa Kelusa, Wayan and all the staff were more than happy to arrange everything for you during your stay. This is what you will get when you stay at the villa, the personalized service that we offer during the stay, and Wayan is the person who is making sure all the things were well arranged for the stay and for every single activity that you do at the villa. Come again and explore the nearby villages and see the Balinese lives closer, we will treat you special because you and your family is always special.

thank you and we are looking forward to welcoming you again at the villa, regards to all your family members as well.

Thank you
best regards
Andri, Wayan and all the staff at Villa Kelusa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllieAuss...
Bargara, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exceeded Our Expectations”
Reviewed January 27, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

What an amazing experience.
We stayed at the 2 bedroom villa with my husband and 3 children. (6, 9,12). Parents upstairs kids downstairs.
The villa exceeded our expectations and just took our breath away.

The view the serenity the setting just beautiful.

The staff unobtrusive but always available if you need them. Ayam and her lovely breakfasts and dinners. And we can not forget to mention Puu the villa poodle. What a lovely little bonus he was.

Wayan is a great Villa Manager and nothing is too much trouble. He patiently listened to my husband on our daily trips into town and was a veritable font of Balinese info for our enquiring minds.

I cannot praise this villa enough. And would thoroughly recommend it as a wonderful relaxing stay in the Ubud area. Just need to be aware that it is an approx. 15-20min drive into Ubud but for us it was not a bother as we felt the Villa was worth it and Wayan was always available to take us into town if required.

Thanks Wayan and staff for making part of our stay in Bali truly fabulous.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool, the view, the villa layout.
Liked least: If I had to say something it would be the drive into town but we knew about that before we booked so it was not a problem.
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 3, 2015
Dear Ellie,

Greeting from Villa Kelusa,
Firstly, we would like to thank you for choosing the villa as your accommodation during your vacation in Bali. We (Wayan and the staff as well as the management) were more than being glad to serve and arrange your stay to make it more memorable and you can enjoy every single thing the villa offers during your stay.
Villa Kelusa indeed has the stunning landscape scenery that will take your breath away, this is one that we can offer to your stay to make it more relaxing and refreshing besides also the well trained staff who will also do their best with their personalized services.
In regards to the distance, well we admit that the villa is approximately around 15-20 minutes away from the center of Ubud since some villages with this beautiful view are located around the outskirt of Ubud which is around 15-20 minutes away from the center. However, please do not have to much worry since we also provide cars for the shuttle to Ubud.

Once again thank you very much for choosing this villa and we are looking forward to welcoming you again at this villa.

thank you
best regards
Andri, wayan and all villa staff
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarloP
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed January 8, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
3
people found this review helpful

What an amazing property. We decided to escape to Ubud area for a couple of days and boy do we wish we had stayed longer. From the time we walked through the gates we were amazed at the quality of the property. The design, the finishes, the landscape. Rice fields, forest and mountains as far as the eye can see. Wayan and the team are exceptional. nothing is too much trouble - transport, meals, guided walks through the rice fieds and anything else we wanted. Took the time to sit with us and tell us about the history of the property and area. Just two of us this time - but will definitely go back again and take more friends and family with us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of the property, location, service
Liked least: the Wifi was a little unreliable but we managed
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 3, 2015
Dear Tarlo,

Greeting from Villa Kelusa,
thank you very much for choosing to stay with us at Villa Kelusa.
The management of the villa (Red Lotus)and all the staff were also more than being glad to serve and arrange everything during your stay to make it even more memorable, relaxing and hassle free.
once again, thank you and we are looking forward to welcoming you again at Villa Kelusa.

best regards
Andri, Wayan and all staff of Villa Kelusa (Red Lotus)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude B
Quebec, Quebec, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed December 7, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
3
people found this review helpful

The villa is beautiful and confortable. The sight is really stunning in the middle of Rice field. We feel like we were in a luxurius house in the jungle. The service was excellent , the people were very Nice and the food was perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everithing
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 9, 2014
Dear our valued partner,

Warmest greeting from Ubud,
Firstly, we also would like to thank you for choosing our accommodation as the place where you stayed when you were in Bali. We are indeed very happy to read your review and knowing that you are very satisfied to stay at our property. Since our guests satisfaction is still our prime concern, we will definitely and continuously improve our services to meet the standard and the guests satisfaction.

Once again, thank you very much for the review,
we are looking forward to welcoming you once again at our villa.

Kind Regards
Andri for Rita
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
4
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything...
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Dec 9, 2014
Dear Our Beloved Guest,

Warmest Greeting from Ubud,
we are very grateful for the review you have posted, to know that you are very happy during your stay and you are indeed very satisfied with our services making us feel the joy as well. We could not say anything else except for our deepest gratitude to you since it is making us more passionate to improve our services and meet the standard to keep all our guests satisfied during their stay at our properties. In regards to the distance from the center of Ubud, we do hope that our shuttle service has given you the ease during the stay since to keep the local ambiance, some of the properties need to be in certain distances from the center of Ubud.

Once again, thank you very much for staying with us as well as the review you have posted.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our villa.

Kind Regards
Andri for Rita
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing