We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“only for photos and short visit!”
Review of Elephant Cave Ubud

Elephant Cave Ubud
Book In Advance
More Info
$49.00*
and up
Private Tour: Experience East Bali
Ranked #22 of 129 things to do in Ubud
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: This 11th-century cave is entered through the carved mouth of a demon.
Denpasar, Indonesia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“only for photos and short visit!”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Do not put your expectation too high, you will not see elephant here but a small, tiny cave "called elephant cave" .Better go find more information before visiting this place as some people might regret and think "what to see" does not worth "what to pay for".

Taking photos in front of the cave is probably the only thing to do and most visitors do, other than that you will see only old fountains and nothing more. Rather than spending more time here ,better visit Tampak Siring Temple or Gunung Kawi temple also in Ubud area.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JerryJC H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    713
    1,215
    982
    213
    69
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
110 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Intresting visit if you are in Ubud area”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I really enjoyed our quick visit to Goa Gajah. We bought sarongs (though they will lend you one when you buy a ticket.) $3 bucks total I think to get in. We visited here the same day we went to Monkey Forest, so I think it makes for a great stop for cultural experience while in Ubud area. We washed our hands in the fountain and had great photo ops before entering the tiny cave temple. There were locals providing offerings for a quick prayer when we stopped by.
We rented a scooter from Ubud and then proceeded on road with less traffic past mask carvers homes. So, I thought this was a lovely stop and a reason to get out beyond the Ubud shops. One hour would be plenty of time to spend here and the price is worth it.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank djcynic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

The cave was not much but the entrance was pretty cool and the near by fountains were ok as well. Note there is also some old Buddhist carving a little further along the way which is also worth a look and meeting a local monk who will bless you. A small donation is appreciated.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rebtec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful and cultrual”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I visited the cave on my trip to Bali last year and it was a must see in terms of cultural sights. lush greenery, fountains, ancient ruins = beautiful. The offerings and fragrant flowers were a welcome and abundant encounter and there are locals lingering in the attraction who can take you on a very informative tour for only a few dollars. Note to travelers though the road nearing the attraction is littered with expensive shops peddling the sarongs needed to enter the temple grounds but hold off. The ticket counter near the entrance has free/cheap rentals so that you can enjoy the caves, respect the locals, and still keep some dollars in your pocket. We werent so lucky but thought the tip might be useful! :)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Swhela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“An Elephant Cave Without An Elephant!”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Many people suggest us to going here. So one morning in mid December 2012, I went here with my wife.

It is very lonely in the early morning in this area. Nobody here so we can watch many places without some local guide disturbing us.

So I suggest you to come here in the early of the morning.

The pond was very beautiful, there was a lot of interesting fish in it.

I love this place (and my wife too).

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank resa_anasto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elephant Cave Ubud also viewed

 

Been to Elephant Cave Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing