We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great local food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Bali

Cafe Bali
Ranked #597 of 714 Restaurants in Ubud
Cuisines: Indonesian, Bar, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Great local food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

An Indonesian and Balinese food restaurant where all is made to order. Do not let the simple decor fool you, the food is good! Their specialty, fish baked in a banana leaf, is heaven. Very reasonably priced. Smallish portions. Gracious staff.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maylis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    12
    7
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“A Little Sumptous Hut”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

We got into Ubud around 8.30pm and initially wanted to grab dinner at another restaurant but we underestimated the long walk. So about halfway, we stumbled upon this little cozy looking Cafe Bali and decided to give it a try.

To our surprise, the food we ordered was pretty tasty and far better than some of the meals we had in Kuta. The standout dish for us was the Bali grilled fish with rice wrapped in banana leaf.

The set back will be their cooking time and we were the first of 2 tables there that night which ordered food. Checking out their kitchen, they really cook your meals authentically and to order so I guess the wait was worthwhile.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DarylLau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The Perfect Cafe in Bali”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We live in Bali and Cafe Bali is one of our favorite restaurants. Housed in an authentic, yet whitewashed, Joglo, the atmosphere is casual, tropical French as one would find in Tahiti or the Caribbean. Having both dining tables and lounging areas, Cafe Bali is a perfect spot to enjoy an incredible meal or just hang out for coffee or wine and dessert.

The menu is varied, with European and Indonesian dishes, all very reasonably priced. Some of our favorites include the Tahiti Fish Salad (a Mahi Mahi ceviche marinated in coconut milk and lime) and gazpacho, pasta with fresh tomatoes and mozzarella, eggs Benedict and tuna tartare.

Service is very attentive. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Camiddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good prawns!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

was walking by. Wanted something light. Saw the sign for prawns and went in. Modest little place, but clean and attentive. Portions Balinese compact, but enough for me. The pumpkin soup and prawns were wonderful. Really tasty. Another score on my trip through Bali!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chinook123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Bali also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing