We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely beautiful and peaceful, perfect for...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
68 reviews
Ensuite with a jungle valley view
Cocktail by the pool
Long lunch by the pool
Welcome fresh tropical flowers
The villa at dusk
Ensuite bathroom with flower bath
Welcome juice
Personal and friendly service
Complimentary daily afternoon tea by the pool
Main bathroom with flower bath
Tastefully furnished cozy lounge with views
Balinese feast cooked by villa chef
Upstairs bedroom and living with a view
Luxurious comfort
Sunrise across the valley
Hindu temple at the villa
Warm hospitality
Lounge area for relaxing and entertainments
Daily turn-down service
Secluded tropical home for a couple
Welcome to Shamballa Residence
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
1 Bedroom, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Ubud, Bali

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 68 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Justin K
2 reviews
“Absolutely beautiful and peaceful, perfect for our romantic engagement.”
Reviewed January 6, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

From the original booking to leaving, Atsu, Wendy and all their staff made our stay absolutely perfect. Not only was the villa decorated and presented beautifully it was always kept clean and open to breathe peace.
Illou's food was brilliant, always tasty, fresh and full of flavour.
In fact all the staff were extremely helpful and friendly and always so happy.
We will especially miss Zero the dog.
We will most definitely back this year, it will be hard to ever come close to levelling this holiday and setting. Thank you so so much. Justin and Lauren.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cosma2018
Vienna Region, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing-villa and especially the team”
Reviewed December 11, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in a lot villas in Bali, but Shamballa is the best of all. Not only because of the extraordinary villa, especially of the team. All the small details on the table, the flowers in the house, the wonderful smell everywhere is unbelievable great. We stayed for the second time and can't wait to be back. Thank you so much for all your warm heartening being.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florapie
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Surpassed Expectations!”
Reviewed October 29, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Everything about our stay at Shamballa Residence this past month was superlative. From the fabulously decorated Villa to the incomparable pampering of Gusti, Ilu and Wayan, we couldn't have asked for anything more to make our second trip to Bali remarkable. Gusti's handling of a surprise Birthday dinner for my friend was a memory to be cherished. Ilu's hospitality made us feel totally welcomed. We have had quite a number of private drivers in our past travels but Wayan's proficiency behind the wheel through the narrow streets of Bali (and to our eyes--the "wrong" side of the road) made us feel safe--coupled with his humor and great attitude. My husband actually learned a few Balinese/Indonesian words from him and my hubby still remembers them 3 weeks later.
We loved Shamballa so much, we are seriously contemplating another trip next year perhaps
to check out the sister Villas.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annetttte
2 reviews
“Absolute bliss”
Reviewed September 18, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

After a wonderful experience at villa Shamballa and Shamballa Moon last year I booked Shamballa Residence this year with high expectations. All expectations were surpassed. The residence is total luxury, the staff amazing and the food not only delicious but outstanding value for money.

Everything about the stay was totally amazing and I highly recommend a stay here to anyone looking for relaxation and luxury.

On occasion there is some road noise when the wind blows in the wrong direction, however we were so bathed in luxury we hardly noticed nor cared.

Truly wonderful week and looking forward to return once again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gill455
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Huge property, huge comfort, service & views, huge value.”
Reviewed June 19, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This place is so much bigger than the photos can show, we were actually a little overwhelmed when we first arrived, it's so huge, I can think of at least 8 different places where a person can sit and enjoy the villa and it's awesome views, sorry, make that 9, just remembered the view from the upstairs bathtub.

The owners have shown true vision, to identify an awesome location, to then built to the very highest standards, to gamble huge amounts of money into an already crowded market (most Ubud villas are cheaper, but always seem to have something missing), and most importantly, to invest hugely in local people, the staff are just amazing, with most having worked for this villa for many years, we know their level of English and service skills would not have even approached where it is today when they first started, so this was an investment in local people that has truly payed off, they are the star attraction of the whole package. (including taxi driver, who is as good as any guide I've ever used).

The charges for this villa are higher than we normally pay, but this was our honeymoon and 7 nights here was a fantastic end to a great honeymoon, I never thought I would say this, but the villa (& service) is actually exceptional value for money.

Very well done to everyone.

A good review should also include negatives, as everywhere has negatives, and we choose the villa we stay in based on the negatives we feel we can live with, but I can't think of any, if I was really pushed I'd say......Personally, I'd lose the 2 white decorative things at the edge of the pool, everything view we see from the villa is nature at it's best, just a pity those white things are also in most views, though I doubt most people would notice them, and they certainly wouldn't consider them a negative.

Of corse mosquitos are a slight problem, this is the tropics after all, but the staff do everything they can to reduce the problem, just make sure you use the sprays provided.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KylieF6
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to enjoy the true beauty of Bali”
Reviewed June 11, 2017 for a stay in May 2016

Whenever you book something online, you wonder whether it will live up to your expectations. Well I am pleased to say that it exceeded my expectations.

From the moment we arrived, we were treated like royalty. We had an amazing 3 nights here and will definitely return to this wonderful place.

The staff are amazing, friendly and caring. They can arrange anything you want and look after everything for you. I can't speak highly enough of their care and was definitely impressed.

We dined in-house every night and was served with such care and it was delicious.

The pool, the room, the whole villa was beautifully decorated and lacked for nothing.

Ubud shops are only a short car trip away!!

So do yourself a favour and stay here!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogdan S
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Chill sweet-spot”
Reviewed June 4, 2017 for a stay in May 2016

Shamballa Residence is a jewel! But what's more - the staff is wonderful! Gusti is a exceptional cook and Wayan a great driver and guide. Adi & A'They were perfect! We will never forget our stay there!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing