We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Villa”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
68 reviews
Ensuite with a jungle valley view
Cocktail by the pool
Long lunch by the pool
Welcome fresh tropical flowers
The villa at dusk
Ensuite bathroom with flower bath
Welcome juice
Personal and friendly service
Complimentary daily afternoon tea by the pool
Main bathroom with flower bath
Tastefully furnished cozy lounge with views
Balinese feast cooked by villa chef
Upstairs bedroom and living with a view
Luxurious comfort
Sunrise across the valley
Hindu temple at the villa
Warm hospitality
Lounge area for relaxing and entertainments
Daily turn-down service
Secluded tropical home for a couple
Welcome to Shamballa Residence
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
1 Bedroom, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Ubud, Gianyar, Bali

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 68 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MarkJCC
Hobart
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful Villa”
Reviewed September 11, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Spending three nights at Shamballa Residence was a very laid back and relaxing experience. The villa is just beautiful, well appointed and huge! The open plan layout and outdoor living fell both upstairs & downstairs suited us to a tee. You will be spoilt for choice in where to lounge around.

The staff are great and the food delicious, the breakfast porridge is not to be missed.

The is a little traffic noise from the road from the road that winds down the valley but this is soon forgotten is such a beautiful villa and setting. Well worth it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris G
Daylesford, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Unbelievable”
Reviewed August 31, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This place in simply unbelievable! I think we have been ruined for life as we will now compare all holiday accommodation to this place. The sheer scale of this residence is just immense for two people and the total seclusion was just what we needed. The fact that this residence is totally open to nature was also a huge win for us.
The only thing potential guests should be aware of is the traffic noise from the valley below which is certainly not intrusive but can be heard. To put this in perspective though it is Bali you are visiting so traffic noise is part of the package really. This in no way detracted from a great nights sleep but I suppose if you are a very light sleeper then it might be something to consider.
All in All it will take a pretty special holiday rental to beat Shamballa Residence and I would highly recommend it for a romantic getaway.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George R
Miri, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not always the Tranquil Haven?”
Reviewed July 18, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Do not confuse our villa with next door, which is Shambala Moon, and much smaller. There is a significant difference though, and that is sliding doors in the Moon, which allows you to isolate the bedroom from the incessant noise from the ravine road below.

Shambala Villa is different, and totally open to the outside world, which is nice, but not so nice if you want to sleep at night?
The villa is less than 50m from the ravine road, which means cars and bikes must toot there horns as they navigate the tight bends, and accelerate up the hill. This noise is all encompassing, starting at 05:00, and subsides around 02:00 the next day, which detracts from the experience of being open to the flora, fauna @ wildlife.
It is a lovely villa, and location, but the lack of restful sleep over 5 x nights means we leave less than spiritually happy, and not so tranquil inside?
The management company were helpful, and tried to ease the pain with a $300 discount, and tried to find alternative accommodation, so no fault from them. We were exhausted on arrival, purchased ear plugs and decided to stay.
In conclusion, if you are a person who can sleep anywhere this is for you, but if a light sleeper
then I suggest next door where a restful sleep maybe possible.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The standard of the villa.
Liked least: The incessant road noise.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Remco K
Alkmaar, The Netherlands
1 review
“Paradise”
Reviewed June 30, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

During many years of traveling i rarely experienced such a gorgeous place combined with this level of service . The residence guarantees ultimate privacy and the staff is availlable at any given moment. Although the picturesque place of ubud , with its lovely restaurants just a stones throw away, the private diner prepared by the staff is highly recommended.

My next visit to Bali would definitally be at the shamballa residence or at one of the other house of Atsu and Wendy

Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manatee4M...
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“An Oasis of Calm”
Reviewed May 26, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

What a beautiful place! Although we were easy walking distance of Ubud's busy main road, we felt like we were in a world apart. The staff was wonderful. Do try the Balinese "porridge" for breakfast - it is a flavorful chicken, rice and vegetable concoction that is delicious and healthful. And Kadek's black rice pudding was too wonderful to describe. All meals at the house were fantastic and very reasonably priced. Hearty breakfasts with choice of eggs, meat, bread and fresh fruit and/or porridge were included, plus coffee, tea and juice. Have no fears about the open-air layout of the house: we never saw a mosquito and enjoyed the presence of tree frogs and little lizards. I recommend the in-house massage and flower bath - ahhhh. Overall, a fabulous experience.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mercurial...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Blown Away!”
Reviewed May 14, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This Villa is absolutely breathtaking. We recently spent 8 nights in Bali, the first four being spent in what we thought was a stunning villa in Seminyak but then we arrived in Ubud, travelled down a quiet small private road and were met by the incredibly cheerful staff of Shamballa Residence.

The moment we walked through the door we were absolutely blown away. The pictures (and I am sure my words) will not do the place justice. We walked around open-mouthed, both commenting on how perfectly designed the villa was and how, had we tried to design a Villa ourselves, we would have designed it just like this!

There is really nothing we could fault. The staff were incredibly friendly, personable and a pleasure to talk to, the view, design and finish of the Villa are second to none and Ubud it'self, like the Villa, a really special place.

If you are visiting Ubud, are reading this review because you are interested in booking this Villa and it's within your budget, then please book it - you will not be disappointed!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed May 7, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The infinity pool!
Liked least: Open living
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing