We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Jendela House - CLOSED

Jendela House
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: European, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Blending bistro and gastronomy, Jendela House's concept combines traditional European and Pan-Asian fusion dishes with sophisticated twists created by the international chef for casual yet remarkable meals. This concept gives a warm and inviting atmosphere, with a top-quality gastronomic approach full of unique combinations of flavours. At Jendela House, you will be welcomed with the ambience of 'Kota lama' style, which is inspired from the beautiful architecture of the colonial period. The decor is focusing on the "vintage chic" with lot of attention to details. The focus on their 'window' style gives the relaxing ambience and appreciation to the Ubud neighbourhood. In the second floor, you can enjoy the beautiful Balinese family temple with some comfortable sofas to unwind and lounge in the harmony of Ubud. The restaurant caters for lunch and dinner, featuring a full service bar, lounge area and dining room. In addition, you can enjoy the daytime Parisian coffees and lovely desserts at our front terrace. The carefully crafted menu showcases a great variety of dishes that will thrill food lovers with dishes such as a duck foie gras, an orange sauce duck leg confit, cacao seasoned fish tempura on banana guacamole or a decadent creme brulee for your finale. The bar list features a wide array of creative cocktails, such as beetroot margarita, fruity tequila with basil and balsamic vinegar and along with all time favourite's cocktails specialties, served with a ambient music that will accompany you throughout the evening.
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

The hole family had a very very nice meal for a very reasonable price. Both starter main course were exellent followed by jummy desserts..The restaurant is very nice decorated with a French touch. ..and the service is exellent. .a nice bistro like meal with our best recommendations.

Helpful?
Thank Anja V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jendelahouse, Manager at Jendela House, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Hello Anja,

Thank you so much for taking time to write your kind review. We're so happy to have met you and your family and to know that you had such great dining experiences while you were here.

Best Regards,
Jendela Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    24
    8
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Niva, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“France in Ubud - Oh La La”
Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

This place was an absolute pleasure. If you need a break from the Indonesian cuisine this place is great. Cosy interior, french/italian music and good service surround you as you enjoy beautifully styled and delicious dishes. All prepared by a French trained Balinese Chef. Good selection of french bistro classics with an asian twist, a few but great wines, tasty onionbread, stunning and classic french deserts and a super Cafe Creme to end it all. The prices are more than fair and the negative stuff? Wifi's broken, but that's details considering all. We will come again!

Helpful?
Thank Thomasvoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, UK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful place, great food!”
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

Ubud has some amazing restaurants and this was one of my favourites. Such a nice menu with great quality food and beautiful presentation. The staff were great too. It's a little more expensive than some of the more traditional restaurants in Ubud but it's well worth the price and also half the cost of what you would pay in the UK for the same high standard of food. Definitely recommend a visit!

Helpful?
Thank CSTONE90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ende, Indonesia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful fusion of food and cultures”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We had wonderful food in this restaurant, French cuisine and Indonesian taste, mixed in a way only few are able to succeed. The flavoured water and the excellent cocktails sure make the little extra, the little extra love one can feel in a restaurant. The menu also had enough choices for vegetarian guests. Concerning the service, it was fast and helpful, even giving recommendations. The manager later personally asked about our wellbeing and invited to the beautiful upper floor, where a band played Salsa music. The people dancing and the musicians enjoying their playing made the whole ambiente warm and joyful. Definately a place where I always would want to come back to!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna_Walka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubud, Indonesia
1 review
“Awesome Spot”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Jendela is a really cool place with a nice atmosphere, but it seriously rocks on the dancing nights! It was awesome taking my first leaps into tango and salsa in such a relaxed and welcoming way. And they even have a live salsa band of a very high standard and super fun.

I am not a dancer so for me it was great to be in a situation where I wasn't intimidated at all. It was just great fun, and the drinks were pretty well priced. I enjoyed my time so much I have been back a few times to check out the Sunday market (which also had an equally relaxed and cool feel) and enjoyed some nice food for brekkie and the wine tasting..

I am definitely going back again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing