We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet, Peaceful and Attractive Guesthouse offers Good Value!”
Review of Mawa House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mawa House
Ranked #8 of 542 Ubud B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quiet, Peaceful and Attractive Guesthouse offers Good Value!”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Mawa House is an attractive guesthouse (small hotel at rear of a typical Balinese family compound) in a quiet location near the Monkey Forest. The main drags of Ubud (Monkey Forest Rd and Hanoman Rd) are a 10 or 15 minute walk through the Monkey Forest or a 10 minute taxi ride. The location is very good, as it is quiet with little to no traffic and a few shops, restaurants and spa on the doorstep. The property is well maintained with lush and attractive gardens, a small pool with a couple of loungers and the rooms are tidy and clean with all the basic amenities (room safe, aircon, mosquito nets on a four poster bed, information pack). They offer a turndown service and rooms are cleaned daily (they also have an environmental policy encouraging you to re-use towels and bedding when possible to reduce the drain on local resources).
There is no TV (a good thing!) or fridge (would be the only suggestion I have for improving the experience.) Bottled water and some toiletries are available in the bathroom.
Breakfast is good with a choice and taken at your room (balcony or poolside). Lunch and dinner is also available on request and at good prices - the food is tasty too! There are a number of restaurants a short stroll away if you don't feel like heading into Ubud for dinner. The property is quiet and probably best suited to couples or singles. The host family offer some daily activities (which we were unable to try out due to other things planned each day) such as learning how to make the typical Balinese offerings etc. The staff are attentive and willing to help with organising tours etc. The property is compact but we pretty much kept to ourselves and it felt very private, we were not bothered by staff or other guests at all. The pool is clean, small but adequate for a dip and cool off after a busy day traipsing around town! The property offers extremely good value for money and I highly recommend it.
We hired a scooter and only a took 5 mins to get into Ubud (via a small path alongside the Monkey Forest). We were never bothered by the monkeys - generally if you leave them alone and don't carry plastic bags or food when you go near them - they will leave you alone - I recommend not messing with them. Also, wear a good bug spray when going to the Monkey Forest as it is mosquito central!!
Don't go to Ubud though without trying lunch at Sari Organic (it is north of the main town and hard to find (over some rubble, down a path, through some rice paddies - accessible by walking maybe 30 mins or by scooter) it is worth the hassle to get there - the views are amazing and the food is possibly the best I've ever had! Highly recommend the Pandan Banana Crepes for dessert!

Room Tip: Poolside Room is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thetoucan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    56
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
44
202
32
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

My husband and I stayed three nights at Mawa House, and I loved everything about it. The room (we had the detached room), was clean and spacious, and had a very comfortable bed with mosquito netting. There is plenty of storage with two robes, one of which has a safe, and a dresser (which housed the hairdryer - didn't find that till the last day). I loved the outdoor bathroom with its rain shower and good hot water. It was lovely to sit out on the balcony at breakfast, and just relax. I found the breakfast was delicious. There was a choice of American or Indonesian breakfast, or banana pancakes, as well as either fruit juice, fruit salad & yoghurt or fruit platter. I tried a different one each day and enjoyed them all. I'm not much of a swimmer, but I enjoyed getting into the pool and cooling off at the end of the day.
As a surprise for my birthday, my daughters organised a candlelit dinner, which is one of the things that Mawa House offers. The meal, by the pool, was five courses, and expertly prepared. We thoroughly the attentive and caring service, and the meal, which was delicious. I would recommend this to anyone planning a special night.
We found the service at Mawa House to be of a very high standard. Nothing was too much, and everything seemed carefully attended to. We would love to bring our whole family here one day.
Mawa House is located at the back end of Monkey Forest, and it was fun to walk along the track that led around the forest into Ubud. We were armed with torches for walking along the track at night, and sometimes, just took a taxi to get us home (cost around 30,000Rp).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leon s, Manager at Mawa House, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank You for Spending your valuable time to post your review on TripAdvisor,
On behalf of Mawa Family , we would like to express our sincere thanks and we are all pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and the Special Dinner upon your Daughter request,
Mawa House Is A Balinese Home and We ( The Management) and The family of Mr.Mawa , would do our Best to be able to present the best possible for our guest, Your feedback is much Appreciated by each and every one in the house. We are looking forward to welcoming you back home at Mawa House in the near Future.


Thank You,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

First let's say everything is relative... The reviews that say this place is perfect , well its not.
I have stayed in 5 differents places while in Bali from villas to hotels the Mawa House was the worse.. For the reviewers who said this place is the best, i'd hate to stay at the places they were before this place.
In all the places in Bali that i have been , only the mawa house doesn't have a fridge in the room...
Give me a break... Its 90-100 F. Or 32--36 every day, no place to put a cold water bottle...
I don't watch tv much... But before bed like to watch news...the only place i stayed in Bali that didn't have a tv.
Breakfast was the worse off all the place i stayed.... All the other places places had ,more choices and bigger portions.
And the breakfast service was very,very slow... My room was on second floor with no view...
The pool was very clean but very small... I rented some villas that , the pool was bigger.
In the bathroom sometimes it smelled like sewer...
The room was clean.
Nice grounds, flowers and plants
The hospitality and service was ordinary for Bali, all other places i stayed was equal or superior in hospitality...
The only positive was the price per night, but i would not go back to this place.... I can afford a lot better...
I have travelled on every continents and have reviewed a lot of places.... I very rarely give a negative review, but this place is way over rated and far from perfect...very average at best

Room Tip: Try to get the room on second floor.... Breakfast service to second floor very slow... And i had no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grosminet42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leon s, Manager at Mawa House, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest greeting from Mawa House Ubud, A Balinese home by Pramana Experience

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to Mawa House Ubud.

On behalf of The Management and staff of Mawa House Ubud, please allow me to express my sincerest apologies for the inconveniences experienced during your recent stay with us.

we are taking your comments into high consideration. I have noted your comments ( The fridge,TV, Breakfast) and immediately shared with all the team for their awareness, follow up and further action to avoid any occurrence in the future.

Mawa House is owned by local and Managed by Pramana Experience, The House and our sincere services delivered was by hearty staff and Mawa Family .Mostly our reviewers were posting too much of compliments for the house, Mawa House Is just A Balinese house with hearty service. WE ARE NOT 5 STARS HOTEL OR HOTELS WITH FULL ROOM FACILITY, THERE IS NO TV AND FRIDGE IN THE ROOM AS WE HAVE MENTIONED IN EVERY ON LINE LISTING. WE HAVE SELECTION OF BREAKFAST (AMERICAN, CONTINENTAL AND INDONESIAN ) TO CHOOSE FROM, BUT CERTAINLY NOT ALL THESE SELECTION CAN BE SERVED AT ONCE AS YOU WERE REQUESTED DURiNG YOUR STAY.IT IS A CHOICE AMONG THESE THREE!!

With the rate we offered certainly we are not able to offer what big hotels does,but we are doing our best to be able to accommodate and give the best service and value possible to our mutual guest.
Again thank you for sharing your experience and the review, because we think would not have been possible for us to get a success without your exceptional cooperation.

On Behalf of all staff and Mawa House family, we look forward to welcoming you back in near future

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Council Bluffs, Iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We stayed at the Mawa house for 2 nights in late February 2014. This place is absolutely gorgeous and does have some modern amenities that I missed by the end of a 3.5 week trip (nice shower, blow dryer, etc).
Our room was beautiful- overlooked the pool area and we had our own table and chairs on the upper deck. Felt like my sister and I were on a honeymoon! Would be great for couples as a nice retreat.
The service was exceptional- everyone definitely demonstrates Balinese hospitality and are eager to please. We were served a delicious complimentary breakfast outside of our room each morning. The pool is perfect for a dip.
The location is very close to the monkey forest, from there a 15 minute walk into town, very manageable.
Our taxi driver did have difficulty finding the location a few times, it is located on a street with only one entrance, but that was nice b/c there was little traffic or noise.
An excellent value for the price! Like a 4 star hotel in the states!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
98 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We read all the good reviews on Mawa house and stayed 2 nights there during our Bali trip. It was every bit as the review said! Great experience, friendly service, close to everything, value for money.

Suggest to book the room right by the pool, the Veranda felt like natural extension of our room into beautiful garden/pool. Also no one will walk pass by your front door.

We also booked a day tour with Mawa house for a car to take us around the major attractions in Ubud, highly recommend to do so. It is a good way to see lots temples as things are not that close by in Ubud and you do need a car

Room Tip: Suggest to book the room right by the pool, the Veranda felt like natural extension of our room into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank silvia20003544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We have stayed here for four days in the rainy season. Mawa house is run by a Balinese family and has the air one would expect from such a business. The personnel is very friendly and tries to help as best as they can. The room was decorated beautifully and was inspected/cleaned twice a day! It was ensured that the mosquito net was let down before eveningfall so that we would sleep undisturbed and two small bottles of water were provided daily with compliments of the hotel. There are roosters near some rooms, so if you don't like the sound of a natural alarm clock ask for a room somewhat more remote. There is a small pool in the very well kept beautiful garden. It was a delight to enjoy our breakfast on the veranda of our room with such a view. There are daily workshops organized by the personnel. The center of Ubud is easily reachable by walking along the monkey forrest, ask for a torch if you expect a walk in the evening as the path is unlit. A small advice is not to take plastic bags into or next to the monkey forrest as the monkeys might look for a snack!
We would recommend this hotel and will definitely return in the future

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cologne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Best value for money accomodation on my trip. If i go to Ubud again, i will definately stay again!!! Mawa is next to mokey forest. It's only a 5-10 minute walk to the cafes and shops. Rooms are very modern and absolutely clean and looked after very well. The staff is great, always friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sumsetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.1 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#25 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#57 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Samara
The Samara
#31 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
0.5 mi away
Sapodilla Ubud
Sapodilla Ubud
#16 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#55 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mawa House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mawa House

Property: Mawa House
Address: Jl. Nyuh Bojog, Desa Nyuh Kuning, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 542 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mawa House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mawa House situated a minute walk from Ubud Monkey Forest. Setted behind the Balinese family house Mawa House offers an oppotunity to blend with Balinese lifestyle.Located only 10-minute drive from Ubud Art Market and It is a 1.5-hour drive from Ngurah Rai International Airport.Nestled in Nyuh Kuning Heritage Village Mawa House features a garden with outdoor pool is the best place to enrich your balinese holiday Experience consist of 8 deluxe rooms with finest decorate bedroom with mosquito net and standard hotel facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Mawa House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mawa House Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing