We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small place with BBQ” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glove & Stove

Glove & Stove
Ranked #270 of 713 Restaurants in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Kunming, China
Level Contributor
511 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 352 helpful votes
“Small place with BBQ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

This is a small street side place near my hotel where I stopped in one day for a late lunch to get out of the rain.

Should have had BBQ ribs, which is their specialty, but I had quick gado gado instead. I didn't want to take long enough for a big meal at 2:30 in the afternoon. My bad.

Service was OK, but they played annoying loud music to drown out the roar of the nearby cars and motorcycles. Zero ambiance. Prices reasonable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ZhongguoKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    29
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing food and traveller orientation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

I´ve been to the restaurant several times during my stay in Ubud. The service is outstanding and they offer all kind of information for travellers including discounts which I used and found honest and good. Dina is the manager and she is always present and willing to help out. Good place to hang out for expats aswell as travellers! The BBQ ribs is my favourite dish!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mresyano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosaville, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Easy and friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

We stumbled across this place on the long walk from our accommodation down to Ubud. The smell of the ribs cooking were irresistible. Read a couple of reviews on TA and decided to give it a try. Glad we did! Simple food, casual atmosphere and those ribs!!! Even my wife who is not normally into ribs decided to give them a try and was not disappointed.

Linda, who is a share holder, was there and keen to make sure that her staff were looking after things. No need to worry the staff were all pleasant, the food and service good and they even catered to our kids by putting a movie up on the big TV.

All round a great experience.

Helpful?
Thank GlennZaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meisterschwanden, Switzerland
Level Contributor
357 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Nothing more to say”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

simple and good but nothing really special or I did completely miss the point ...
Was not really amazed about the place

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank David_F1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Gives Nuri's a run on the ribs (Glove and Stove)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

I believe this is now Glove and Stove which is owned or managed by a delightful ex-pat gentleman who was incredibly gracious and inviting. The ribs, were on par with the best in the world. Seriously, that good. Not quite as Asian as Naughty Nuri's but simply awesome. Killer fries too. Service was excellent, super warm and friendly. The dining room was very clean and uncluttered with a Disney movie playing in hi-def... sorta cracked me up but it would be great for kids. Price was Bali cheap and quality was top notch. Definitely worth going.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glove & Stove also viewed

 

Been to Glove & Stove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing