We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing & Fun”
other travelers have booked this property
Welcome to lovely Merta House - in the real Bali.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to lovely Merta House - in the real Bali.
Living area into kitchen. High ceilings, cool and comfortable Comfortable lounge area. Cable TV and DVD.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
58 reviews
Welcome to lovely Merta House - in the real Bali.
Living area into kitchen. High ceilings, cool and comfortable
Comfortable lounge area. Cable TV and DVD.
Lounge Room
The gazebo is a lovely place for a coffee or drink
Meals and kitchen area
Beautiful comfortable giant bed, with waterwall and TV/DVD
The bed has lights and waterwall switches on it so you dont have to get out of bed
Watch a movie or listen to the waterwall trickling down the rocks. So relaxing.
Bathroom
Come and experience life in a traditional Balinese village.
Join in with ceremonies and activities, or just relax and read a book or watch a movie
Clean and comfortable, an experience you will never forget
Dining area
Relax on the porch and listen to the birds
Come and relax at Merta House in the jungle/mountain area. Experience life in a Bali village
Jasan Village
Home temple at Merta
terrace situation in the night,,,
Kitchen area
area situation in evening
Private pool and garden
Large private pool for your enjoyment
dressing table
Huge comfortable bed
hot and cold water in wash basin,hair dryer, and another amenities in bathroom
Bathroom amenities available always
kitchen and amenities
Pool
Fancy a swim in the pool?
our sign board in front of property
Large living area
Night time on the porch
So pretty
Come and take a break at Merta House
Pleanty of parking area and traditional kitchen for your use
The naturally lit bathroom is fully enclosed
Night time
Your breakfast is ready!
Beautiful Jasan Village
There is beauty all around, many places for walking, jungle trekking, rice fields. All beautiful
So close to nature
Come on in, welcome!
Merta House - your home in the jungle
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Ubud, Bali

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
Jo W
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing & Fun”
Reviewed May 17, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Merta House is your own private piece of paradise, manager & staff are outstanding & do everything to make your stay amazing. So friendly and fun - cooked breakfasts are sensational. Awesome place to stay, highly recommend it

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 21, 2016
thanks so much for your great reviews Mrs Jo,,hope can serve you again next time,,,
bestr regards
made and nic
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirelle G
Bondi
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Villa, Stunning Location, Amazing Host, Wonderful 💖”
Reviewed April 23, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Merta House is absolutely stunning! Divine getaway, peaceful, tranquil and so pretty.

My fiancé and I stayed here for 4 nights and it was such a wonderful stay!

Made is an amazingly beautiful soul who looked after us so well during and after our stay. He truly made us feel like part of his family. Great communication and very caring of our safety and enjoyment!

Merta House is set around 20 minutes from Ubud centre and the drive there is stunning. My fiancé and I scooted around on a motorbike the whole time and absolutely loved it! The drive is past villages, rice paddies, art work and a real view into Balinese life.

The actual villa itself is stunning. The decor is authentic Balinese. The architecture of the building is amazing beautiful. Four poster bed, ensuite bathroom, huge lounge and dining area, fully equipped kitchen and the pool area is just divine!

Made & his lovely family cook the yummiest breakfast every morning for you. Your choice is from western to Balinese but I highly recommend their Balinese food. We had fresh fruit every morning which was also always available in the house.

Made organised a pick up for us from anywhere in Bali and took both my fiancé and I on separate occasions to the airport as a part of our stay. After my finance left Made advised me to stay at his sisters homestay which was wonderful!

We felt so safe and at home at Made's home. It was wonderful and when we return to Bali we will definitely be back to stay!

Thank you Made for everything you did for us whilst we were there. We cannot thank you enough!

Suksma

Mirelle & Jaime

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 24, 2016
Dear Ms Mirelle
Hello thank you so much for your great's review..and thank you so much for stay in Merta..hope we can serve you again next time..many thanks
Best regards
Made deada and nic
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seantzw
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Superb Service, Great Facilities”
Reviewed April 20, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Staying here was a real treat with the very warm and friendly staff who provided absolutely fantastic service. There was a warm breakfast cooked in the villa every morning (at whatever time you wish) and Made the manager/private driver gave really good recommendations for food and things to do. He also gave us some insight into village living in Ubud, regaling us with recounts of the ceremonies rituals and simple day to day living experiences. The staff were also very accommodating with special requests and such.

The private pool is kept really clean with minimal chemicals and it's of a decent enough size for 4 people. Beds were more than comfortable (1 king and 1 double bed) and the air conditioning and fan were adequate in keeping the villa at a nice temperature. The main toilet with a shower is pretty big and well ventilated and there is another toilet just next to the kitchen.

Location wise, it's a 20min drive to Ubud town centre and it's fairly isolated - you won't be wandering around at night!

All in all, if you want some top notch service during your stay in Ubud, and you want some peace and quiet (though my friend was ready to strangle the roosters), away from the hustle and bustle of city life, Merta House is the place for you!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 20, 2016
dear Andrew
thank you so much for your great reviews,,and our apology if there a our fasililty,service,and our village situation less in your mind,,so sorry,,and we hope can serve you again next time,,many thanks
best regards
made and nic
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewed April 9, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The individual hospitality that you were given
Liked least: nothing really
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 10, 2016
Thank you so much for your great reviews,,hope to see you again next time,,many thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
thaidotra...
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Came for a holiday, left with new friends.”
Reviewed February 6, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We stayed at Merta House for seven days and can honestly say we enjoyed every moment. The villa is in a wonderfully peaceful and private location set in the jungle village of Jasan about a 20 minute drive from Ubud. The villa is kept spotlessly clean and had everything we needed for our stay and the private pool was a great bonus.

What makes Merta House so special though is the care and thoughtfulness of Made and his staff, from cooking breakfast first thing, driving us where ever we needed to go during the day and arranging for dinner in the evening. He really made us feel part of his family and his village and we are both very grateful for all the help he gave us during our stay.

We look forward to returning to Merta House in the near future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 6, 2016
Dear Mr Paul
thank you so much for your great reviews,,we a miss you already,,hope can see you again in Merta,,many thanks
best regards
made and nic
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6Susanna
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A most amazing welcoming stay you could wish for”
Reviewed January 23, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

A traditional Balinese villa a lovely secluded pool and gardens tucked away from the hustle and bustle of ubud. Made and his family made us feel so welcome and so kind to us I felt genuinely sad to leave them. I class made more as a friend and would definitely go back for another holiday next year. Made's mother makes the most amazing rice cakes they are so delicious. All our needs were taken care of.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendly atmosphere of the staff and the rice cakes
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 25, 2016
thank you so much for stay in Merta and be a part of Merta family,,we hope can serve you again next time,,and meet you again in Merta,,many thanks
best regards
Made and Nic
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra J
Bondi, Australia
1 review
“More AMAZING than you can ever imaging!!!”
Reviewed January 17, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We spend 4 days at the AMAZING Merta House in Jasan Village in Dec 2015.

It was an experience we will never ever forget. And we CAN'T WAIT to come visit again!

Our host Made De Nada is the warmest and loveliest host and he welcomed us into his family with open arms.

I have categorised this review in sections, so it is easier for potential guests to look at aspects which are important to them.

HOST:
Made is the kindest soul and he was always there to help and give advice to ensure you get the most memberable and authentic experience whilst in Ubud.

HOUSE:
The house is spacious but cozy with lovely Balinese interior details. There is a very warm and loving energy in the house. You sleep like a baby!

POOL:
The pool is a spring water pool, which makes the water so clear and clean and most importantly refreshing when you need to cool off. There is nothing worse than a heated pool on a really hot day. Best pool I been to in all of Bali.

BREAKFAST:
Made's staff come and cook you breakfast every morning as part of your booking. There's several choices between traditional Balinese food and western meals. Delicious every time.

ROOM SERVICE:
Made and his family lives next door to Merta so when you ring the bell his staff can come straight away and be of assistance. Always with the biggest smile on the faces :). There is a big menu for any food you might want to get and have in the house.

WI-FI:
Really good wi-fi connection.

AIRCON:
The bedroom has an aircon, so you sleep really well in a very nice and cool room. The kitchen and lounge has fans, which is all that you need.

TRANSPORT:
Made's lovely cousin Wayan came and picked us up in Seminyak as part of the package. Made and his staff are always available to take you into Ubud for shopping, restaurants or other day trips you might want to go on.
When we left for Uluwatu we had a fantastic driver also named Made who had so much patience in the busy traffic on New Years Day. We want to give extra thanks to him as we had to sit in traffic for a whole day. We very much appreciated your help and we hope your way back wasn't too bad.

INSECTS:
We had been in Seminyak with all sorts of bugs coming into the house and mosquitos biting us left right and centre. But at Merta house you barely see a mosquito. And the most AMAZING thing is, they don't use insect spray for spiritual reason but rather ask the insects to stay in the jungle and IT WORKS. We sat literally in the Jungle and had meals with Made and his friends and you barely got bitten at all. There are frogs, dragonflies and lots of butterflies at Merta House garden but they leave you alone and go about their own business but never enters the house :).

COMMUNITY:
Made has a lovely community in Jasan Village and he is very happy to take you around and show you the village. We became very friendly with his family and friends and spend an unforgettable New Years Eve with them and some other locals. Magical place and wonderful people!

SPIRITUALITY:
Merta house is a blessed house with a clear spirit guarding over it. You feel very very safe and constantly protected. Its so peaceful and a perfect spot for mediation and reflection for anyone travelling on their own or with family.


We are so grateful that we got the opportunity to come and experience Merta House and Jasan Village. We thought we would go to Ubud and have a relaxing time in a beautiful house but we never realised we'd find a little piece of heaven.

Thank you a million Made and lots of love to your family and friends. We'll see you soon! xxx Sandra&Dan

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 22, 2016
I am humbed by your review.
Thank you so much for your kind words.
Merta means blessing - also Made's surname, and this house is just such a beautiful place to be.
New years eve - Selamat Tahun baruuu!!!!!
I know what a special time you would have had.
I am so happy that others can also enjoy and appreciate what we have tried to achieve.
Somewhere where you can see and feel the heart of Bali.
Sit down and spend some time with some beautiful people..........its amazing.
Take care.
Nicholee and Made
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing