We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful get-away”
Review of DD Ubud Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
DD Ubud Villa
Ranked #87 of 571 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful get-away”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

My husband and I have just returned from our very first trip to Bali, we chose to stay at the DD Ubud villa as it was away from the hustle bustle of town and it had great reviews on here. We were both very impressed with all aspects of the accomodation. Our villa was impeccably clean and tidy, we loved our outdoor bathroom with large tub and the pool was so beautiful and refreshing after busy days out and about. we knew the villa was set on the side of a hill so there were lots of stairs but this wasn't a problem for us, i just needed to stop to catch my breath on the way up :)
We chose to use the Villas own drivers for our tours and Nyomen was so informative and friendly we felt like we had received a great insight into the lives of the real Balinese people along with their religion and ways of life and history.
The only things i would like to see improved upon would be that our room couldn't receive the free wi-fi as it was out of range so we had to sit up by the pool each time we needed to check in and i would have liked to see a couple more free shuttles from the villa into town as one in the morning wasn't enough, it would have been great to have another at 12pm and again at 6pm for dinner. We loved having the free pick ups at 3:30pm and 9pm though. The villa is a good 15mins from the centre of Ubud so if you want to go back in off shuttle time then they are happy to take you for a small charge.
thanks again to all the staff, we loved our stay with you.

Room Tip: Would ask for a room that can receive the free wi-fi and if you have trouble with stairs then get th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Talia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    57
    12
    6
    3
See reviews for
16
94
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Thank you so much to the amazing staff up at DD villas, they are very helpful and will do anything for you. Majority speak very good English and will always have a laugh with you. We booked through scoopon and got the house of Bulan, would recommend if possible staying within the top four villas as like other people said it seemed a lot of stairs to the bottom but really if your even semi fit it shouldn't be an issue. The rooms were clean although a few marks on the mosquito net covering the bed and a little bit of grime on the outdoor shower. Breakfast was outstanding and fresh every morning.

Dd villas is probably about a 20min drive from the heart of ubud although we hired a scooter and only took us 10mins, would highly recommend a scooter as worked out to be a fair bit cheaper than taxiing would of been.

Would definitely stay here again if heading up towards the ubud way and once again thank you to the staff.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowraville, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

The DD Ubud Villa is not for everyone. My wife and I stayed there for a week for my 50th birthday, and we had a fantastic time. This was our first time in Bali, we had no idea what to expect. we went to Ubud to avoid the "schoolies week", where Australian kids celebrate finishing year 12 by partying in Kuta. The DD is about as far away from Hustle and bustle as you can get, if you expect to walk out the door and start partying you'll be disappointed. There are a lot of stairs, 72 to our room I think, that could be an issue as well. There is no bar or restaurant at the DD. We didn't find any of these things an issue.
The staff at the DD are fantastic. Friendly, very helpful. I can't praise them highly enough. We used the shuttle bus into Ubud and also hired a driver to take us around. When I suffered from guitar withdrawals Kobi tracked down a place where I bought a Yamaha acoustic for $60, Choccie got me some extra strings. Nothing was a trouble.
Highlights for us were the Monkey Forest, cooking classes at Casa Luna, the Water Temple, seafood feast at Jimbaran and jamming with local players at Oops bar. If you're fond of Pilsner, Bintang goes down pretty well.
We did a Groupon deal, so it was excellent value.

Room Tip: As I said earlier, the steps may be an issue if you have knee problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

i travel with family. I got the wooden villa, my dad got bamboo vila. the TV channel is not working. i need the TV as my brother and my dad loves watch TV. in my villa during that time, bee is everywhere. I repeat bee (lebah) is everywhere. me and my friend, we had bee stung twice. its so painfull. sengatan lebah yang betul2 besar. i cant sleep all night and the hotel has nothing to do with it after i report it. no medicine. in the morning i got stung again then the staff coming to smoke the room. so this is reminder for the owner. pengelola hotel, your hotel is great, peaceful, but please, sediakan obat2an P3K, karna in the jungle, pasti banyak bugs dan lebah. its suppose to be paradise, not nightmare.
the food very nice and tasty, the staff is extremely helpful and friendly. i really love this hotel seandainya saja lebah2 itu tidak menyengat kami.

Room Tip: 1. try to get room near the lobby. 2. bambo room the TV channel is not working, try wooden room. 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Veronika_Juwita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Family stayed here for 4 nights in December . Very picturesque with a great pool . The villas are lovely but a bit dark - you do get used to it though . The staff especially koti and Julie are very helpful and very friendly. There are a few things to note though :- steep stairs to all the rooms , DONT be in a rush for breakfast as it is slow, take a good supply of food if you don't want to go out - they DO have a menu and the food is good but it comes from a way a way so it's cold when it arrives, no hot water and definitely a place for couples rather than families with small kids ( low balconies and the stairs). We had a good time as we weren't in a rush, have older kids and looked at the steps as forced fitness so we could eat/drink more ha ha . Good bonus is cable tv in the rooms and a free shuttle to ubud

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lou1967Brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the DD Ubud Villas in November for 3 nights and it was fabulous. Ask for a villa closer to the top if you don't like climbing stairs as there are quite a few to negotiate. The staff were fantastic and nothing was too much trouble and the free shuttle bus takes you to Ubud city regularly throughout the day. It is the setting which we loved as the villas are on the edge of the jungle and you feel like you are in Paradise. Highly recommend them and we wished we had stayed longer. Perfect spot to wind down and relax.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank margie532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

This supposed to be a moment for us to rewind ourselves and do completely nothing but relax. This place looks nice on it's website which is totally different from the reality. It's a shame because the scenery was very nice and relaxing, however, the bungalow we had was really not nice.

The walls and floor were made of bamboo poles. You don't use bamboo poles for floor because they are slippery and hurt your feet. The bathroom was outdoor and the bathtub was placed in the open so it got dirty because the leaves as well as bugs fell into it. There was no place to put your toiletries and to hang your clothes and damped towels.

To make it worst, the bungalow was located the farthest with steep steps, which are hazardous at night especially when it's raining.

Room Tip: Just don't get the bamboo bungalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Khouw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ubud
0.5 mi away
Villa Sarna Ubud
Villa Sarna Ubud
#148 of 196 in Ubud
367 reviews
4.4 mi away
Best Western Premier Agung Resort Ubud
0.3 mi away
Villa Wedang Ubud
Villa Wedang Ubud
#97 of 571 in Ubud
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Kampung Resort Ubud
The Kampung Resort Ubud
#1 of 9 in Tegalalang
156 reviews
2.3 mi away
Pondok Sebatu Villa
Pondok Sebatu Villa
#2 of 22 in Tegalalang
175 reviews
1.2 mi away
Alam Ubud Culture Villas & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DD Ubud Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DD Ubud Villa

Property: DD Ubud Villa
Address: Jl. Raya Cebok Kedisan, Ubud 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 571 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — DD Ubud Villa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the hillside amidst lush tropical forests, DD Ubud Villa features Balinese-inspired accommodation with an outdoor pool and private terraces. .Guests can indulge in a soothing in-room massage, or enjoy a relaxing dip in the pool whilst enjoying nature’s company. Luggage storage is available at the 24-hour front desk. Airport shuttle and car rental services are offered at a charge, while free on-site parking is provided.In-room dining options are possible with room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your DD Ubud Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
DD Ubud Villa Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing