We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Serene, relaxing,captivating”
other travelers have booked this property
Villa Sagitta at night - a perfect place to relax after a busy day's sightseeing
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Sagitta at night - a perfect place to relax after a busy day's sightseeing
Enjoying lunch at the pool - your only stress is deciding what to eat! The 10-metre infinity pool with magnificent views of the river valley below.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
88 reviews
Villa Sagitta at night - a perfect place to relax after a busy day's sightseeing
Enjoying lunch at the pool - your only stress is deciding what to eat!
The 10-metre infinity pool with magnificent views of the river valley below.
The perfect way to spend a day - swimming and lying in the sun.
The inside living area complete with TV, cable channels, DVD, music system and comfortable seating.
Spacious and well-appointed, Villa Sagitta has been designed for a comfortable and relaxed stay.
Eclectic decor and carefully chosen artwork make Villa Sagitta more than just another villa rental.
The main upstairs bedroom's beautiful private bale where you can relax or read your book.
The magnificent views from the main upstairs bedroom and bale.
Comfortable and beautifully decorated, the main bedroom suite provides a wonderful personal space.
The spacious main bedroom upstairs with a king-size, extra-length Balinese teak bed.
The beautiful en-suite bathroom provides the quintessential Balinese indoor/outdoor experience.
The beautiful main bathroom complete with indoor and outdoor shower, double basins and jungle views.
The second bedroom upstairs also with a king-size, extra-length teak bed and beautiful views.
Second bathroom en-suite complete with private, but open-to-the-stars, shower.
Downstairs bedroom en-suite, just step out to the pool.
The unique Joglo Suite
The sitting area in the Joglo Suite, the perfect place to enjoy sundowners or curl up with a book
Intricate carvings in the Joglo roof
View from the villa
View from the front entrance
Infinity pool
View from the joglo while lazing on the day beds
Outside dining area
The villa exterior
Village temple 100m walk from the villa
Temple 100m from the villa
Procession leading into the temple 100m from the villa, during a celebration
A beautiful light adds to the temple at the villa
The Sebali to Tjampuhan walk near central Ubud - our driver can drop you at the start point
Breathtaking scenery on the Sari Organik walk into Central Ubud - our driver can drop you
Scenery on the Sari Organik walk
Rice paddies seen on a stroll from the villa
Scenery on a stroll near the villa
Scenery on a stroll near the villa
The incredible utilisation of land for rice paddies as seen on a stroll near the villa
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Ubud, Bali

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 88 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Serene, relaxing,captivating ”
Reviewed March 15, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This is the place you can totally de stress . We absolutely loved it . Our family of 3 couples enjoyed the privacy of each room yet we also enjoyed our family congregating time. The place is perfect ! From the fresh crisp linen to the immaculate cleanliness of all rooms and the infinity pool to the fine decorations. The QUIETNESS is a big plus. it feels like you have the whole jungle to yourself . EXTREMELY PRIVATE.
The icing on top is the wonderful staff. Yande the house manager made sure we were all comfortable and was so attentive and catered to each one of us. We felt very well taken care of much better than a 5 star resort. They pay attention to your needs . From the airport pick up to ordering breakfast . They know how to make you feel special.
The villa is about 20 min to the center of Ubud which they have a personal driver to take you when and where ever you want to go( very reasonable price too). Many activities from jewelry making to real Italian food.
I loved the privacy no crowds of people, private pool , staff catering to you ...what else can you ask for? The pictures on their website are true but in person so much better ❤️

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 3, 2017
Thank you for your wonderful review- we are so glad to hear that you had such a special time at our beautiful villa. We are very fortunate to have such wonderful, attentive staff.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Way better than the description!”
Reviewed March 6, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Really lovely villa in paradise. Yande and his staff are very attentive and discrete. The food is delicious as well. The descriptions and pictures do not pay justice to the place: it is an amazing place and I will not hesitate to recommend to family, friends, or even come back myself! 5 stars!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 6, 2017
Thank you so much for the lovely review, we really appreciate it. Our team works really hard to give all our guests the best possible holiday, so I'm pleased it exceeded your expectations!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence...
1 review
“Absolutely super and what we were expecting.”
Reviewed January 9, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We've been to Bali 15 times and watched the tourists (including us) progressively invade - especially from the south northwards towards Ubud. But the Villa Sagitta remains protected by surrounding jungle and NO other tourists - Just 7 Kms from Ubud. Perfect, !! and the best of both worlds. Great facilities, a true "Bali house" with all amenities, with a knowledgeable and very pleasant staff. Just great (and great food by the team). Lovely "infinity" pool overlooking the jungled valley...with nothing else in sight. Perfect.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 9, 2017
Hi Lawrence

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are so glad to hear that you had such an enjoyable experience at Villa Sagitta.
Kind Regards from the Villa Sagitta team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clee01201...
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely surreal”
Reviewed December 14, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Thank you for an amazing stay in villa sagitta.

Yande and his staffs were amazing and helpful. They were very friendly and got to know us and always put 100% in their service.

We loved the awesome view and serenity of this place. What an experience to live among the forest. A kampung feel, rainforest feel, isolation feel, privacy feel and rejuvenation feel. Some maintenace would be good on rainy days on the patio but it should not deter a great time. Hotel standard in a home.

The personalized service especially the food menu catered to our preference and the special cocktail made by Daisy was delicious. Even sample some home grown fruits cut fresh from the area.

The place is exactly as it looks like in the images, wifi is good, place is kept very clean and maintained, and you hear all the sounds of the village around.

Kids loved the good size pool.

We will definitely refer our friends to the villa.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 9, 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. So glad that you had such a special time at Villa Sagitta!

Kind Regards from all the team at Villa Sagitta
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex_Conc...
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Live like a Balinese King and a local at the same time.”
Reviewed December 5, 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Staying at Villa Sagitta is living a fantasy.

After an hour of of driving through the winding roads and villages of central Bali we drive down curiously obscure dirt roads. I’m thinking, is this really the right way? This can’t be it. We soon realize we’re not staying in some walled-off-from-the-world resort, but rather in an actual village. We arrive and are immediately blown away by the home, the jungle/mountain views from the infinity pool and are warmly greeted by the staff.


Unlike many vacation rentals, Mailie’s villas come with an experienced english-speaking on-site staff who go above and beyond to maintain the Villa’s beauty, facilitate tourism logistics, and teach us about local village life. They ensure we are well fed with food prepared by locals who, as she would explain, “have learned cooking at their mother’s knee rather than through any formal training”. The staff prepares Nasi Goreng (fried rice), Gado Gado (balinese salad) and Chicken Curry. It lives up to the hype.


Most importantly, Mailie’s villas brilliantly showcase the fundamental advantage that vacation rental has over hotels: intimacy. As mentioned before, we are not cloistered away on some walled off resort compound. Instead we are embedded in a local neighborhood, complete with the sounds of local roosters and the never ending smiles of neighbors. We even befriend neighbors who would later host us for a resplendent and delicious dinner.


At Mailie’s Villas, I feel like a king and a local.


On to the villa itself. The pictures on the website are exactly what you see in person. As you can imagine, the experience of seeing it in person is breath-taking. The villa spares no expense from giant king beds, wooden tables, an array of balinese craftwork, custom branded soap and shampoo, stylish and quirky balinese paintings-I-want-to-steal-and-give-to-mom, and even custom branded robes. Waking up to the sun-soaked view of the mountains and jungles is something I’ll never forget.


Inside the villa she provides hotel style menus, guidebooks, umbrellas (much needed for rainy season!), books, and a wide selection of music (Buddha’s Bar is my favorite).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views from the villa
Liked least: not applicable.
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 6, 2016
Thank you Alex for such a wonderful view. You perfectly encapsulate what we try to give all our guests, a glimpse of living like like a local but in comfort, tranquility and style. Like you say in your review, what a vacation rental can give you while a hotel rarely can!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
w0rldwide...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Two words... TRULY AMAZING!!!”
Reviewed October 30, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Our party booked both Villas (Sagitta and Cocoa Maya) and this is the review for Sagitta:

We had an amazing time at Villa Sagitta. Words cannot describe how truly wonderful our stay was!

First of all the Villa was fantastic! Swimming in the infinity pool overlooking the jungle is absolutely stunning. The views have to be seen to be appreciated as photos do not do them justice. You’re surrounded by nature and sounds of cicadas, birds, geckos, the soothing sounds of the river below, prayers in the mornings from the nearby temple, the peace and quiet in the afternoon and evenings. Every single room is beautifully furnished and functional (the beds are really comfortable). The Joglo suite a sight to behold! It is an amazing space with amazing views to boot. Home cooked meals were delicious, breakfast was a delight with fresh tropical fruit and freshly squeezed juices everyday. Everything - food, drinks, driver and cost of activities were all reasonably priced and of high quality that there was no need to go elsewhere!

The staff are lovely. Yande, the villa manager, went over and beyond . He catered to our every need and we really felt so absolutely cared for! We were lucky enough to be there on the eve of the Hindu full moon festival and Yande invited us to his house and graciously offered sarongs to wear so we could go to the temple and participate in the village procession. It was an experience money could not buy. He was truly excellent and so were his staff.

Another staff member we can't commend enough is Ketut the driver. He is an absolute gem, he waited for us patiently, was very kind and made every effort to accommodate us.

In summary, our stay at Villa Sagitta was wonderful from beginning to end. From the booking with the owner Maille who is easy going and lovely up until we got home when Yande checked in to ask if we got home ok! Why go to a soulless hotel when you can experience 5 star service, facilities, rooms, views and MORE at Villa Sagitta? The value cannot be beat!

Our stay will be in our hearts and memories for years to come.

Our thanks to Maille and her team!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about it was perfect
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 31, 2016
Wow, thanks Gevy! Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a comprehensive and wonderful review. You captured so many of the thoughts I have about staying at a villa rather than a hotel but phrased it much more eloquently than I do! Regards, Mailie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah F
1 review
“Beyond all expectations...”
Reviewed October 24, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We had the most fabulous week at Villa Sagitta. The villa itself is idyllic. The backdrop of the jungle is out of this world, and staying in the Joglo suite is certainly an experience we will never forget! The view from the whole villa is breathtaking, particularly the swimming pool. The location is fantastic too. About 10 minutes by car from Ubud, it is close enough to all the amenities whilst remaining tranquil. If you are looking for hustle and bustle then this may not be for you, although Ubud has plenty of bars and restaurants to choose from if you want to go out. But the thing that makes this villa so special is the staff. Yande, the house manager is incredible. He made us feel so welcome and so at home for our whole stay. We got married in Sayan whilst we were staying at Villa Sagitta and on our return to the villa, the staff had written our names in a heart on our bed, made out of petals. It was such a personal touch and so unexpected. The driver was also amazing. For our whole stay the staff felt more like family. I cannot recommend this villa enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 27, 2016
Hi Sarah
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review. We are so glad that you had a wonderful time. Congratulations on your marriage! We are so fortunate to have such a wonderful staff, led by Yande.
Regards
Mignon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing