We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very peaceful; a good break from the hustle & bustle of Bali”

Agung Rai Museum of Art (ARMA)
Book In Advance
More Info
$48.90*
and up
Monkey Forest and Ubud Art Tour in Bali
Ranked #9 of 129 things to do in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cultural events and fine arts come together in this museum, officially opened in 1996.
Sydney
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very peaceful; a good break from the hustle & bustle of Bali”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

When entering the museum, we were each given a voucher for a coffee and a guide book (on paying the fee). We then entered the peaceful sanctuary of the museum and grounds.

The grounds are lovely and the buildings are magnificent. There is also a selection of Balinese art from traditional to modern; from subdued colours to very vibrant (over the top colours).

The only downside is that there are many similar artworks in each section--I would have liked more diversity within the styles. However, we did enjoy it a great deal and was surprised and delighted by the modern art.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank WazzaM60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    568
    357
    86
    12
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Good cross section of Balinese art”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Enjoyed the diversity of art on display. As mentioned by other reviewers the architecture in which the paintings are displayed and the garden surrounds are also worth the visit.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Johnsargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halibut Cove, Alaska
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Of the Ubud museums, this is the best, in my opinion. The buildings themselves are handsome, the gardens are beautiful, and the exhibits very well done.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Susanruddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great first stop in Ubud”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We happened to make ARMA our first major destination in Ubud, and it was a wonderful gateway to the culture and art in this amazing city. The grounds are stunning, the exhibits fascinating, and the little cafe is a great place to unwind and enjoy an iced coffee. We returned the following day to take a woodcarving class...just me, my husband and our teacher. It was a truly unique experience, and I loved learning even a little of this stunning art form.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank joykoLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“ARMA”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Beautiful gardens and buildings - our family with young kids spent a very relaxing few hours enjoying the artwork, the landscaping and the iced tea in the cafe,

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eamon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Agung Rai Museum of Art (ARMA) also viewed

 

Been to Agung Rai Museum of Art (ARMA)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing