We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful homestay off the beaten path but well located”
Review of Tanah Semujan Ubud

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tanah Semujan Ubud
Ranked #26 of 568 Ubud B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful homestay off the beaten path but well located”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Very reasonable price which includes amazing traditional homemade breakfast (try the pancakes!). Friendly owner with beautiful will take good care of you. You even have wi-fi!

It's a short walk to the center of ubud so it's nice and quiet if you feel like walking around during the dawn hours to hear the ducks. it's exactly what i did. highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vmb243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    48
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
95
31
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I have found this place after staying in another local Balinese house which was around a 10 $ less than this place which made a big difference and it was well-worth the money in terms of comfort and cleanliness. It had clean and quiet rooms with a nice view, you could order from a selection of breakfasts and have your breakfast on your own section of the balcony. There was a nice bathtub and the bathroom was very clean and spacious.

There was a construction going on just across our room but it was not too loud. As we woke up not too late and was out most of the time, it was not a problem for us. The shower head was a bit too low and you had to hold it in your hand to take a shower, but we didn't mind. There is no shampoo or extra pillows and only one towel for each person is provided, but I am sure they'd be happy to help if you need anything as the owners are really lovely.

It is around 10 minutes walk away from Monkey forest, nice walk with rice fields' view. Very close 5 minutes away, there is a great art cafe with good food. You can also walk through a beautiful set of bungalow's (Nick's) with a lovely view, to get there from downtown as well.

Room Tip: Corner rooms upstairs have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IndependentTtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederiksberg C
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at Tanah Semujan when we first arrived in Bali. We had only planned for 3 nights but decided to stay an extra night because Ubud has a lot to offer and not least because we had a great time with the hotel manager and his family.
The rooms were very clean and we were upgraded from a standard room to a deluxe room with air-condition upon arrival.
The hotel was a bit of the main street but in walking distance (5-10 minutes) to everything. It had a beautiful small garden and only 8-10 rooms in total. The hotel owner, Wayan, and his family were very welcoming and made us feel extremely welcome. They were cooking us delicious breakfast every morning and helped us in booking various activities at very favorable prices. We took a mountain bike trip to the mountains and a rafting trip in the river an hour away. We also ordered our return ticket to Lombok/Gili through Wayan at a reasonable rate.
The most memorable night was when we were invited to a religious ceremony with Wayan, his wife and two kids in the local temple. We were dressed up in balinese clothes and witnessed a great night with local food, music and dance.
I would very much recommend staying at Tanah Semujan and would like to thank Wayan for a great stay in Ubud.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneSofieSloth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Great stay! family run bungalows and people were really helpful and kind. Wayan kindly ferried me to Yoga without me asking! and also his wife serves the best waffles. :)
stayed for 3 nights altogether.. it is speckless clean which is smth that you need in Ubud.
there are only a couple of rooms available, so u get really close up with the neighbors.

it is quite off from the main ubud street although it might seem rather near on the maps, jalan bisma, although next to the monkey forest street, its a whole lot different as nobody is really selling anything there other than some small eateries. takes about 10-15 mins wwalk to get to the main road.
there are no TVs in the villa, so if u are lookin to rejuvenate this would be a great place. but didnt like the fact that there were several construction sites nearby, which can get a little disrupting.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juicebox123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two weeks in June. It was the best value room in our seven weeks in Bali. The room was quite large, as well as bright and immaculately clean. The bathroom, which included a bathtub, was a decent size. The sink was in the bedroom but next to the bathroom door. Outside on a spacious patio was a table and chairs with coffee and tea making facilities constantly available. The included breakfast was served on the patio whenever we were ready. Breakfasts were either banana jaffles served with eggs and fruit or pancakes served with fruit. In either case, there was plenty of food and endless tea or coffee. Tanah Semujan is located on Jalan Bisma, less than ten minutes walk from the Monkey Forest in one direction or the center of downtown Ubud in the other. Along Bisma are a number of good restaurants for nights when you just want a quick bite close to home. The best thing about Tanah Semujan is the family who runs it. Wayan and his parents took great care of us, telling us what was going on in town and sometimes even driving us there on the backs of their scooters. It would be difficult to find a better place to stay in Ubud, especially at such a reasonable price.

Room Tip: We stayed in a fan-cooled room in June and it was comfortable enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chixcurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Thanks, Wayan for a great stay! Your friendly and helpful attitude and lovely accommodation made our stay in Ubud so enjoyable! Super location on a quiet part of J1 Bisma, a short walk from town and some of the walking trails suggested in Lonely Planet. The grounds are meticulous and tea and breakfast in front of the room on our balcony was so relaxing. Hope to see you again someday! From your friends in Toronto

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lv2trvl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I made a friend in Wayan during my last stay in December 2012, so this time before I came, i called Wayan to inform him of my family's arrival. Wayan's parents and son welcomed us warmly even when we arrived close to midnight. It was a heart warming moment as I remembered how he had recovered from a leg-operation last year December. yes I have stayed here two times in the last 8 months when I visited Ubud. The rooms are so spacious and clean, well furnished with dressing table in each room. comes with hot water, new air-conditioner, bath-tub. towels and clean sheets and served with home-made breakfast with tea and Balinese coffee, made by Wayan himself. come here and you will find yourself waking up to a beautiful garden, sitting on the balcony just outside your spacious rooms, enjoy the tasty breakfast that comes with generous serving of fruits. Wayan's pancakes are a must-try. I will definitely stay here again on my next trip, not to mention I might come just to escape the dim of the city and stay in the lovely village bungalow.

Room Tip: may have to bring your own toiletries like shampoo because only a bar of soap is provided
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emerson X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.3 mi away
Sama's Cottages and Villas
0.2 mi away
Gayatri Bungalows
Gayatri Bungalows
#16 of 568 in Ubud
227 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jiwa's House
Jiwa's House
#39 of 568 in Ubud
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Suparsa's Home Stay
Suparsa's Home Stay
#10 of 568 in Ubud
263 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alam Terrace Cottages
Alam Terrace Cottages
#48 of 568 in Ubud
140 reviews
0.5 mi away
Padma Ubud Retreat
Padma Ubud Retreat
#43 of 568 in Ubud
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanah Semujan Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanah Semujan Ubud

Property: Tanah Semujan Ubud
Address: Jl. Bisma, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 568 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tanah Semujan Ubud 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tanah Semujan Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanah Semujan Ubud Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing