We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing stay in the most relaxing and comfortable...”
other travelers have booked this property
Swimming Pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Swimming Pool
Swimming pool Swimming Pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
12 reviews
Swimming Pool
Swimming pool
Swimming Pool
swimming pool
Pool at night
Swimming Pool
Swimming Pool
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Guest Bedroom
Guest Bedroom
Guest Bedroom
Bathroom Mater
Bathroom Guestroom
Amenities
Amenities
Amenities
Relaxing with good panorama
Artistic Ornament
Artistic Ornament
Kitchen
Open dining area with nice view
Open dining area with nice view
Open dining area with nice view
Villa Staff
Floor Plan
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Ubud, Bali

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
castellfr
Modena, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Amazing stay in the most relaxing and comfortable villa in Bali”
Reviewed 3 weeks ago for a stay in June 2018

We've stayed in the Mahogany Villa for one week in June, and everything was great!

The one-bedroom house is comfortable, with nice furniture and lots of space, toilet clean and with good shower, and the swimming pool just in front of it amazing. The guys working for the villa were very welcoming and always ready to help, and they prepared great food... served in a beautiful gazebo surrounded by flowers and jungle, both breakfasts and dinners were perfect! Lots of fresh fruits and vegetables, amazing Balinese soups, grilled fish and meat, noodles and rice, even good cocktails and countless bintang... making Italians happy with food is always difficult, and they made it :)

The villa is just besides a small traditional Balinese village of woodcarvers, friendly people, half an hour drive from Ubud (or more, depends on the traffic which is sometimes crazy in Bali)... from the parking it's 2 minutes walk down the hill, and entering the villa you also enter the jungle, all around you! And, if you want to be really alone in the nature, you can walk down through steps from the villa to a small platform. From there, you can hear the river at the bottom and all the noises of the jungle, really amazing place :)

The place is perfect to relax, with even a second gazebo for Balinese massages, which we loved (only 8 euros or so for more than an hour)... and there's plenty of activities to do from there too, either renting a car (driving in Bali is interesting!!) or with a driver... we did a lot, also with the help of the manager of the villa: rice terraces, ubud, climb of batur, many temples everywhere, the lakes in the north, and a traditional indu cerimony in the villa :)

Overall, we loved the stay here, far from the chaos of the touristic areas, surrounded by nature but with all the comforts & good food we could think of... definitely we'll come back if we get the chance!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diana_pal...
Moscow, Russia
1 review
“Increadibly beautiful villa with helpful staff”
Reviewed November 1, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

The villa is just great. It is unbelievably beautiful and very romantic.
The staff is very friendly and helpful. they really done their best to make our stay great.
The location is great for relaxing and enjoying exotic nature. The villa is a bit far away from Ubud. You can get all the necessary services on the villa but for that you have to inform the staff at least a day in advance so that they can organise it. On the other hand, the location allows to access easily different point of interest.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 24, 2017
Hi diana_palenova, Thank you for your great review and we glad to heard that you enjoyed your stay at our villa. Thank you also for your review about our staff service. We look forward to see again Best Regards Individual Bali Hospitality Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukundan...
Bangalore
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Definitely NOT Ubud”
Reviewed December 30, 2015 for a stay in December 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Positives: Far from activity and surrounded by Greenery. If you prefer to be left alone with Nature - Then this could be a good choice. For everyone else, it's really bad.

Negatives; Plenty - This is definitely not in Ubud and takes an hour from Ubud to reach this place. Driver arranged by the villa to pick us from airport - had to consult 5 people before he could drop us in the hotel. Hardly any support from the hotel to make the stay a pleasant experience. Only two staff in the place - No cleaning done, no change of essentials including hand towels, shampoos and body wash - limited choice of food and even that didn't meet our basic requirement. They lock library and key was not available - nothing to do except swim in a pool slightly bigger than the bath tub. There are insects everywhere and lack of cleaning means, it's horrible sights in the morning. Management should take more care to make customers happy - no call to check whether we're happy - they're happy to get the payment and forget all about us. I'd definitely not recommend this place to anyone .

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 14, 2016
Dear Mr. Mukundan

Thank you for your review, kindly be informed that on our villa location is clearly mentioned about the location of our villa to avoid any unnecessary comment about the location and to Ubud centre is take about 30 – 45 minute drive

Also we would like to inform you and this is also already on the detail of the villa that the villa is a private villa offers you a unique, traditional Bali, and romantic place with a wide valley view surrounding. Enjoy the sound of nature like in the middle of nowhere, green and fresh atmosphere. This is a special place for those who love tropical nature, artistry, value authenticity and seek serenity with style.

Mr. Mukundan, we have checked and investigated to our villa staff regarding your comment about ‘’No cleaning done, no change of essentials including hand towels, shampoos and body wash’’ we can ensure that they did their job included keep the villa clean, replace the towels and also the bed linen, drinking water , toilet paper, soap etc are replenished as needed. so i feel you saying that there is no cleaning done and etc is incorrect – Sorry

Regarding the menu provided by the villa, if you would like to eat the foods and it is not listed on the menu, you could discuss it direct with our cook- it is very simple

This is for our prospective customer and also for you sir, so far we have 9 reviews from our past customer and we can inform you that we have received 5 excellent, 2 Very good, 1 average and also 1 your review with Terrible,

Anyway, we would like to say thank you very much for your review and for sure we will take more care to make customers happy like a you said - Thank you for this

The Mahogany villa and Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nic N
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Forget your modern life”
Reviewed October 20, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Peace and tranquility, beautiful nature as far as the eye can see, with the low hum of weird and wonderful creatures and a light evening breeze. The place to come if you want to meditate, write a book, clear your head and heal; shake off the cruel realities of life and soak up the atmosphere of The East in the company of ancient spirits.

There’s something deeply authentic about Mahogany Villa. It’s real. It creaks and moans. There’s nothing slick or shiny or new about it. There’s a sense that if it weren’t for the daily tending of the two Ketuts, it would slip back into the jungle that surrounds it and be rediscovered by some intrepid explorer in a hundred years. It’s real life here. The gas can run out, the internet or power can cut out, the television never works but who cares? That’s not what you’re here for. If you want everything modern and remote-controlled, go somewhere else!

It’s a rich experience here. The pool is divine, the staff are helpful and friendly, the food is deliciously home cooked, and the gecko in the roof of my villa is clearly building an extension for himself between midnight and 4 am! I’d miss him if he wasn’t making himself busy all night. This time, I came alone to regroup and write. But next time, I’ll bring friends. The staff will be pleased. More food, more massages and more driving around! Ubud and its attractions are just a 30 minute drive away.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The fact that it's NOT in Ubud!
Liked least: Nothing to complain about
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treewq
1 review
“Not in ubud”
Reviewed June 2, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This villa is over an hours drive to Ubud, it is not in ubud. The villa is located in the jungle, If you want to go to Ubud you have to use the villa transportation which is overpriced. We complained that the location is not where advertised and they still tried to charge 750,000 for a driver for the day. If you want to stay in complete isolation then this is the villa for you!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincentas...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing panorama and place to escape from civilization”
Reviewed May 29, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The place has stunning view and really helpful staff, there are few bits that needs to be improved...internet connection and some refurbishment is needed for some things like kitchen and windows.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michaelx2...
Wurzburg, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
“Wonderful and amazing”
Reviewed February 25, 2015 for a stay in August 2014
5
people found this review helpful

We stayed few days at this wonderful place. Everything was well organised. Welcome drink, check in, etc. etc...
Breakfast and the dinner were perfect.
The infinity pool is a gorgeous place to relax.
We booked also a day trip with driver to Ubud and the area around. Well organised.
I can recommend Mahogany Villa to everybody, who will enjoy a wonderful time in the area of Ubud.
Well done

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Infinity Pool, Zimmer, Badezimmer
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing