We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family-owned quiet place in beautiful garden.”
Review of Gusti Kaler House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gusti Kaler House
Ranked #53 of 554 Ubud B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great family-owned quiet place in beautiful garden.”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

A great place to rest in busy Ubud. Very helpful family with cosy bungalows in a fantastic garden with a beautiful family temple. Rooms are big and great value. Central Ubud only a few minutes away but yet very quiet. They also arranged a pick-up from the airport at good price for our late-night arrival. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S_Glo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    31
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
61
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Staying at Gusti Kaler House was the best decision we took while we were at Ubud. A very hospitable and warm family who will make sure that you are always comfortable when you come back from a tired hiking day. Ms. Nyoman Sriti (the wife) helped us to talk in Balinese with the tour guys. She was patient in answering all our queries which was commendable. The stay feels very local and comfortable especially because you have an access to the beautiful garden. The temple and small fountain was right in front of our room. So we could see how the family prays in the morning, the rituals, their daily life activities etc. The bathroom has a bath tub, the small and own place outside the room is well maintained where you are served hot breakfast and the wi-fi is very good too. I would recommend this place for a stay to any traveller who is keen to experience Ubud; it's culture as well as the people.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CDS18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
84 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

we did not expect to have such great stay. the family was very friendly and helpful. the service, environment and cleaning was fantastic, a good breakfast was delivered to our room/patio every morning. we stayed in the biggest bungalow with a kitchen but still hot water in a flask was put outside at early hours so i could enjoy my coffee before sunrise. one morning we took a hike and the wife specially cooked nasi goreng for us to bring. this was excellent value for the money.

Room Tip: the biggest bungalow is no 3 and has a huge bedroom, separate kitchen and a small lounge. this place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larslindbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed with Gusti Kaler House for four days in beginning May. Wonderful place and complete value for money. The family is very hospitable and one gets a feel of a Balinese household. Breakfast is nice and the rooms (fan fitted) comfortable. No TV was a boon, more time to read and talk. Wi-Fi was very good. And the cost was exceptional. Thanks a lot for a wonderful stay.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank MohitIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
104 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We had booked in advance via booking.com as the price seemed really good. It was, especially if you see what you get for it. A beautiful traditional garden with staues, fountain, tempel and lots of plants, trees and flowers. All kept by a lovely family, who will make sure you have agreat stay.

The room was spacious, clean and had a decent shower. Breakfast is served on your private terrace and I'd recommend you try the Java cake (order a day in advance). Wifi works well. We also rented a scooter through them: it was fairly new and in good condition.

You might get the odd gecko inside and might hear a fewother creatures outside, but that's part of the charm. If you like quiet and you don't mind a 5 min walk to the main street of UBud, this is your place.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms in the back. They're more secluded and surrounded by greenery
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkManama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

Gusti Kaler was a dream to stay at! The staff are amazing, so friendly and helpful. The rooms are spotless; cleaned daily and towels and bedding changed every other day. The breakfast is delicious and served on your veranda. All of this is a beautiful garden setting, a 5 minute walk from Ubud Market. There are loads of brilliant restaurants nearby too. I planned to stay 3 nights and ended up staying 6. It was bliss.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Hannah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Gusti Kaler House has a beautiful and lively, very well arranged and maintained garden by an equally lovely and attentive family. The atmosphere is great and welcoming, chilled out and trustworthy (in case you want to book tours etc).

Jalan Sriwedari (street) is an excellent location if you want to stay central but quiet. There is everything you may need on that street: excellent laundry shop (first on way down from Gusti Kaler), also further down the street you will find the best coffee and wifi in Ubud. The house is a 10mn walk to the market so you can visit the authentic Balinese market at 7am which is very different from the tourist daily bazar which starts later.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank therealrichardparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.0 mi away
Pratama House
Pratama House
#44 of 554 in Ubud
39 reviews
0.0 mi away
Santun Homestay
Santun Homestay
#75 of 554 in Ubud
39 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suparsa's Home Stay
Suparsa's Home Stay
#12 of 554 in Ubud
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Jiwa's House
Jiwa's House
#40 of 554 in Ubud
107 reviews
0.5 mi away
Praety Home Stay
Praety Home Stay
#47 of 554 in Ubud
116 reviews
0.0 mi away
Duana's Homestay
Duana's Homestay
#78 of 554 in Ubud
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gusti Kaler House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gusti Kaler House

Property: Gusti Kaler House
Address: Sriwedari Street, no. 24/Br. Taman Kelod, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 554 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Gusti Kaler House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gusti Kaler House Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing