We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Most wonderfull room in this property”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Treehouse Joglo living area flows onto a generous bathroom overlooking the ravine
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
108 reviews
The Treehouse Joglo living area flows onto a generous bathroom overlooking the ravine
Looking towards the stairs in the Treehouse Joglo living area
The Master Bedroom has floor to ceiling windows looking to the rice fields
The luxurious open bathroom looking over the private ravine in the Treehouse Joglo
A buddha in the Treehouse bathroom looks over the rice fields
The Treehouse second bedroom
Another bedroom includes a desk overlooking the ravine
Languish in the shade of a bale by the raised pool with rice field views
Looking onto the pool area from the Dutch Joglo balcony
Many species of flower give so much colour to the gardens!
Welcome to the Rice Joglo Property
A unique antique retreat amongst the rice fields just 20 minutes walk from Ubud Centre
Our friends, the ducks come to visit after the rice has been harvested
Entrance way to the Lotus Suite
Watermelon fresh from the ground
Salad made from the organic vegetable garden
Order a local chef to cook dinner for a modest price
Balinese potato cakes
Cap Cay, a popular Balinese vegetable curry
Sunset from the pool
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Ubud, Gianyar, Bali

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 108 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Anne B
1 review
“Most wonderfull room in this property”
Reviewed April 3, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

The treehouse is just a wonderful house to stay in. We stayed there with two persons but there is enough space for up to 6 or even 8 persons. It’s so big! Lovely decorated with so much attention for detail. The open jungle bathroom is amazing! Staff is always friendly and willing to help. I just enjoyed every minute of my stay here. Such a wonderful, quiet place. Lovely views, great breakfast, away from the busy city centre. The place is a bit hard to reach but staff is always willing to bring you to the city centre or pick you up. Or you can rent a scooter and drive yourself, which is fun through the rice fields. Highly recommend this place! Would love to come back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthiasF...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best place ever in Bali”
Reviewed December 3, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

After staying there in 2016, we enjoyed this place so much we came back a year after. Simply the best accommodation we found in Bali. Lovely houses, beautifully decorated rooms, lovely garden, greatest breakfast, and most of all, lovely staff, Made, Wayan and with the incredible Sonu, always happy to help or joke. Thanks and see you next year!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
positiv1
Amsterdam
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best place we have stayed on our planet”
Reviewed November 22, 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We are seasoned travellers and have visited many countries and stayed in a wide variety of places from budget to 5 star and we have come to the conclusion The Rice Joglo in Ubud is now at the top of the list..for many reasons...here are some:
1. The location - it's situated just 10-15 mins walk to the centre of Ubud or a few minutes on the scooter. The pathway from town is narrow and winding and so incredibly beautiful with the water flowing constantly on both sides, breathtaking views of the rice fields and no cars allowed. It's worth it just to walk on this pathway and take a look at the property even if you don't stay there.
2. The staff - Sonu is the manager and he will make sure you enjoy your stay, he's kind, caring and has a great sense of humour. Also Wayan and the other staff members are always there for anything you need.
3. The accomodation - we stayed in agung suite for the first few nights, which is so beautiful, huge open living space, two levels with the big comfortable bed upstairs which looks straight out to the rice fields. One day we walked past the treehouse when they were cleaning it and asked the staff if we could look inside, then fell in love and moved in the next day for 5 more days. The treehouse is bigger and has the most beautiful outdoor bathroom you've ever seen (the pictures don't do it justice) with vast amounts of different living/chilling areas, and the sound of the water from the ravine before you sleep and when you wake up.
The structure and interior design is (for me) the best I've seen.
4. The breakfast - Wayan makes the best banana pancakes and you can have tea, coffee, chai, eggs..whatever you want..all fresh ingredients. Thanku Wayan for the beautiful food. Also if you're lucky Sonu might offer to make you his famous curry, it's so delicious.
5. The nature - you are in the middle of the rice fields and surrounded by wide open spaces, animals and scenery you can never tire of.
I do have many more reasons but don't want to write a novel, I think you get the picture.
Even if you don't decide to stay, check the location in google maps and walk the path, see the place (you can't miss it) and even go in for a refreshing drink, Sonu and Wayan will welcome you. Tell them Melody sent you
Enjoy Ubud, and safe travelling

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calmiles
Westward Ho, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning location, fantastic treehouse!”
Reviewed November 15, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had a really fantastic time staying at the Rice Jogolo! Everything was just better than we could have hoped for and our memories of the place will last forever. Sonu and Wayan were fantastic hosts and looked after us brilliantly - including a stunning breakfast each day. The excursions and activities were fantastic, particularly the downhill mountain bike ride and the Balinese cooking class which was fun and sooooo tasty!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariecam
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Enchanting place”
Reviewed October 28, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

On good advice,I booked at joglo rice for 3 nights and simply fell in love with the place. ..located in the rice fields,little structure(balinese style),away from the crowd and center of ubud pollution,which makes you feel at home,in harmony with nature,sonu will treat you as a friend and will take care of all your needs.
Will definetely come back and highly recommand it

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanderer6...
1 review
“Paradise in Bali - Best location - Best Romantic Villas - Best service”
Reviewed October 19, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

The rice joglo was absolutely our highlight of our trip in Bali not only in Ubud. The place is absolutely gorgeous, super nature oriented with amazing views of the rice paddies just like its shown on Lonely Planet. The whole decoration of each Villa there is perfect. Sonu (owner) is the nicest guy we met there. We became good friends after only a few days. He was super helpful with our luggage taking it to the Villa and also taking it back when we needed to leave. His breakfasts are the best thing as well, he was always happy to spend time with us and help us plan our trip around Ubud. This is the perfect place for honey moons , for solo travelers and for everyone who is looking to stay in paradise with an amazing host-Sonu!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew V
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful scenery, people, and accmodation”
Reviewed October 8, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Just got back from visiting Bali for the first time and I had to send a quick note to my people at the Rice Jogloo located in Ubud. As this place came highly recommended from a friend who had previously visited, my expectations going in where very high. Let me be the first to tell you that our expectations were met and exceeded. From the surrounding rice fields that provide unreal views and a sense of calm, to the staff, this place is a MUST VISIT.

Kristen the owner was very helpful in answering any and all questions. Sanu, the point man on location is an incredible host and knows how to make the experience whatever it is you need it to be.

I will definitely be going back. Thank you again to the Rice Jogloo and their staff for providing a once and a life time experience.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing