We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing joglo in the rice fields of Ubud”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Treehouse Joglo living area flows onto a generous bathroom overlooking the ravine
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
108 reviews
The Treehouse Joglo living area flows onto a generous bathroom overlooking the ravine
Looking towards the stairs in the Treehouse Joglo living area
The Master Bedroom has floor to ceiling windows looking to the rice fields
The luxurious open bathroom looking over the private ravine in the Treehouse Joglo
A buddha in the Treehouse bathroom looks over the rice fields
The Treehouse second bedroom
Another bedroom includes a desk overlooking the ravine
Languish in the shade of a bale by the raised pool with rice field views
Looking onto the pool area from the Dutch Joglo balcony
Many species of flower give so much colour to the gardens!
Welcome to the Rice Joglo Property
A unique antique retreat amongst the rice fields just 20 minutes walk from Ubud Centre
Our friends, the ducks come to visit after the rice has been harvested
Entrance way to the Lotus Suite
Watermelon fresh from the ground
Salad made from the organic vegetable garden
Order a local chef to cook dinner for a modest price
Balinese potato cakes
Cap Cay, a popular Balinese vegetable curry
Sunset from the pool
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Ubud, Gianyar, Bali

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 108 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
DebM_12
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Amazing joglo in the rice fields of Ubud ”
Reviewed April 30, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

What an amazing place. We loved our 4 nights in the treehouse joglo. It was absolutely magical and we felt like we were in a fairytale. Would definitely recommend this place to everyone. It is a bit of a walk into town but we really enjoyed it. So many things to see on the way. There are some very nice restaurants close by too. There are rabbits, ducklings, porcupine and tiny tortoises to play with. Sonu was a great host and very helpful organising tours etc. There were fireflies in the rice fields at night and it was so beautiful. I am still daydreaming about this place and would love to return one day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne-Elis...
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Wonderful place!”
Reviewed April 30, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We stayed with our 3 daughters for 4 days.it was an incredible experience, really quiet and 5 mn from the center of ubud.
Rewiew from my 10 years old daughter: there s nothing better than fresh fruit, balinese crepes and a warm welcome from Sonu and his cook.
The motorbike to go there is cool. Jade and Nelis, the bunnies, are really cute.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaA37...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best accomodation in Ubud”
Reviewed April 29, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

For travellers that love something unique, nature and beautiful architecture off the beaten track, you will fall in love with this place.
I couldn't recommend it higher and was very sad to leave it. It's really something special.
Sonu is an incredible host and such a generous and warm human being, he makes you laugh with every interaction and more than happy to accomodate anything you need.
I could write so much more. But will leave it at- I have travelled a lot and am always digging around to find those places with something really special and this place is incredible in all aspects.
You won't regret it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilla N
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“A magical hideaway”
Reviewed April 18, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Thank you to Sonu - the host with the most! From the delicious green coconut pancakes for breakfast, freshly made chai tea and waking up in comfort with views over the rice fields, I couldn't recommend the place more highly. After zipping into town on the back of the motorbike before relaxing in the discreet outdoor bath, you'll wake up thinking you are in paradise. Just wish I could have stayed longer.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisG932
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
302 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Piece or paradise in the Rice fields of Ubud”
Reviewed April 12, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We have been coming to Bali for several decades, normally as a family of 4 in recent times, but as a family of 5 this time and took the chance to stay at the Rice Joglo.

First things first, this is a bit isolated, you either walk 15 minutes each way along a very narrow path or hire a motorcycle to reach civilisation. The Joglo itself is very rustic and charming. Basic to be honest, but this should not put you off if you are looking for a wonderful place to relax. There are 2 main buildings with 2 rooms to the side catering for couples or larger groups.

Breakfast is included in your stay and can I say, what a breakfast. Wyan does an amazing job making pancakes, rice, eggs, the best thick toast known to mankind and fruit, you really don't need lunch after you have a big breakfast.

There is no restaurant here so you need to go out, but several restaurants are within 5-10 minute walk and free what is provided for guests (as much as you need).

The Johlo has a small but very nice pool and Sonu (manager) looks after all of your needs with the help of Made.

Now, if you have teenage children there isn't a lot here for them. There is free wifi, we had some issues with it but I'm using it at the Johlo as we speak and you just need a little patience. Some other small maintenance issues are being fixed as we speak, but again, nothing to put you off staying here.

The only reason this does not have an excellent review to be honest is that for our family it was ever so slightly isolated, but again, if you a happy stalling along the path for 15-20 minutes each way then it is fine.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eng C
1 review
“Beautiful place”
Reviewed March 17, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

I have had a walk along the padi field and this house is the most unique n beautiful compare to the rest. It is not for you if you r looking for happening places, busy street with pubs, easy access to main street shopping n you do mind mosq. n fly. It is just for me as I like the surrouding there, the padi field, the rabbits, ducks and frogs singing at night. Most amazing we spotted firefly at night in the padi field. Recommended for big family like 4 to 8 so that you can stay in the 3 floors good view house. I m also amazed by how this house was built. You are brave.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mchiovett...
mchiovetti
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“If I could move in for good, I would. Our stay was lovely!”
Reviewed March 14, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

This is the little escape from city life our family needed! The Rice Joglos are in the most beautiful part of Ubud (just outside of the hustle and bustle but close enough for shopping and restaurants if you need them!)

Sonu and Wayan made our stay memorable with lots of chatter about the locals and the area, wonderful food (mostly straight from the garden) and generous help whenever we needed it.

Beautiful guest houses, lovely outdoor bathrooms. Close to local warungs (restaurants) that we walked to for dinner.

Can walk to the Yoga House - my favourite spot in all of Indonesia for yoga. Amazing classes with gorgeous views of the rice fields.

This place is in the rice fields, in a no car zone - so it did mean we had to scoot back and forth to the main road on motorbikes which made me a bit nervous with my 2 year old at first but she settled right in.

Rice fields also mean ants and mozzies so my little one was covered in bites when we left but she didn't seem to mind as she was so distracted by ducks and cats and getting dirty in the rice fields!

Over all one of my favourite guest houses we've ever been to. Love this spot and will absolutely come again.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing