We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Heaven in the Real World”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Treehouse Joglo living area flows onto a generous bathroom overlooking the ravine
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
108 reviews
The Treehouse Joglo living area flows onto a generous bathroom overlooking the ravine
Looking towards the stairs in the Treehouse Joglo living area
The Master Bedroom has floor to ceiling windows looking to the rice fields
The luxurious open bathroom looking over the private ravine in the Treehouse Joglo
A buddha in the Treehouse bathroom looks over the rice fields
The Treehouse second bedroom
Another bedroom includes a desk overlooking the ravine
Languish in the shade of a bale by the raised pool with rice field views
Looking onto the pool area from the Dutch Joglo balcony
Many species of flower give so much colour to the gardens!
Welcome to the Rice Joglo Property
A unique antique retreat amongst the rice fields just 20 minutes walk from Ubud Centre
Our friends, the ducks come to visit after the rice has been harvested
Entrance way to the Lotus Suite
Watermelon fresh from the ground
Salad made from the organic vegetable garden
Order a local chef to cook dinner for a modest price
Balinese potato cakes
Cap Cay, a popular Balinese vegetable curry
Sunset from the pool
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Ubud, Gianyar, Bali

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 108 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Rhonda A
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Heaven in the Real World”
Reviewed May 18, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
3
people found this review helpful

At their property, The Rice Joglo Villas, Kristine and husband, Sonu, have achieved what we have spent years to find. This vacation spot afforded us the beautiful combination of Javanese/Balinese/Dutch Colonial Teak Wood personalized villas with a high level of tender care attention, which they afford each of their small number of guests. After having spent almost 25 years in this country, we are constantly amazed at the beauty we continue to run across. In the midst of the nowadays densely populated regions of Bali, this spot in Ubud is one of the last remaining pristine locations. The hike in and out each day revitalizes. Narrow walkways which border active rice fields on each side, become a much anticipated routine of strolling to the town area. Though there are offers to be transported by motorcycle, by the staff, we chose the invigorating walks.The small swimming pool adds a sweet touch to the feeling of privacy one is afforded. The beautifully designed sitting areas of the property are a delight as well: while reading, playing guitar, or just simply enjoying a relaxing and peaceful morning. The family style breakfast is fabulous.
The website does not do this place justice, The photos are a small glimpse as to the stunning level of high quality of these small private villas.
We are grateful to have found a place such as this...and believe us...we have been searching for these many years for this type of accommodation. Thank you for your great service, loving care, spectacular artistic gifting,and lavish treatment to us as your guests.
Blessings, Rhonda and Spencer

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The architectural design and interior decoration
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camille w
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful, relaxing rice joglo!”
Reviewed May 7, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed here with my husband and 2 children (aged 11 and 12), and we all thoroughly enjoyed it. From the bike ride, the breakfasts, the views...it was all so beautiful and relaxing. A good (and hot) walk to centre of ubud, but some lovely warungs on the path on the way there. Take a torch if you plan to be out after dark as the walk home is dark. I also had the best massage I have ever had at this place! Staff really lovely and friendly too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenBean...
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Tranquility in a sea of green”
Reviewed April 24, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We stayed here for 5 days and it was wonderful. So peaceful. Each morning we awoke to blue skies and a mass of green rice fields surrounding us. We were unprepared for the sound of water gushing through channels in the rice fields, with mini-waterfalls created as water cascades down the terraces. On Day One, we were collected from our villa two hours drive away at Uluwatu, and taken to the start of the pathway in Ubud. Here we were taken by motor scooter along the path - about 10 mins - to the joglo. The joglo is 30 mins walk to the main street of Ubud so a torch after dark is helpful. There are a number of good restaurants on the way, however. So you don't have to walk that far if you don't want to. We had a wonderfully relaxing time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Tranquility
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmyb65
Townsville, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Slice of Balinese paradise”
Reviewed April 17, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I have traveled through Ubud on past Bali trips. For this trip we wanted to experience a more authentic Balinese holiday. Rustic and charming, with a lovely history, the Rice Joglo was perfect for our needs. Set among neighboring rice padi's, the joglos where beautifully presented and very comfortable. Many thanks to Sonu and Wayan, whose hospitality was second to none. We woke every morning in a beautiful piece of Balinese paradise complimented with a very satisfying breakfast. The pool was perfect and clean. The kitchen was very accessible, although about to be upgraded. The joglos themselves are unique wooden structures that tell a story by themselves. All other guests during our stay were friendly and respectful of one another. Access is by walking track or motorbike, which added to our stay. Our only complaint... We had to leave too soon.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The staff
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniGfro...
Canggu, Indonesia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Peaceful, beautiful, special.”
Reviewed March 15, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

The Joglos are beautifully fitted and decorated, situated in the serene rice paddies well away from the tourist throngs, accommodating just a few lucky visitors at any time. We chose to spend Nyepi (Day of Silence) here, and it was a memorable time to experience the Eclipse, and get to know the local staff.
Made, in charge of the Organic garden brought us freshly picked treats - cinnamon bark sliced from the tree, mint turmeric, ginger, lemongrass, to make us wonderful herbal teas, and was so caring to us during our visit. Ketut (the manager) made sure we felt at home, and that nothing was too much trouble, and Wayan came to cook delicious breakfasts and share stories of Balinese traditions concerning the Nyepi celebrations.
There are restaurants and beauty treatments available a short walk away - and if it's hot Made will take you into town on his scooter, and you can walk back after shopping, (and having purchases picked up by a driver) in the cool of the evening (take a torch!).
Time can be spent without needing to go back to the world, you can use the kitchen and stay away from the noise and crowds. Also a great couples getaway. Lovely time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Liked best: The feeling of being 'at home' - a beautiful, secluded home complete with cat!
Liked least: Leaving...
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbaxx
Boulder, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional In Every Way”
Reviewed March 7, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We were in this lovely Dutch Joglo, in the middle of the rice-fields for one week. A restful place so close to Ubud that it is a easy bike ride or walk to town. There are excellent restaurants a few minutes from the Villa, so once we were there we had no desire to leave.

The Rice Joglo has three separate accommodation choices and we happened to stay in all of three because of our booking situation. ( The host was very accomadating making our arrangements work) All of the rooms/villas are unique and special. Beautifully decorated, clean and comfortable. The smallest of the rooms (Lotus Suite) is a bit dark, but the other two: The Tree House and The Master Suite are spectacular. The areas are large and spacious, with 360 degree views of rice-fields, and mountains, sun-rise and sun set. The staff is lovely. Wayan and Made made us feel special and cared for. Breakfasts were large and filling. We travel to Bali often and have stayed many places, this was certainly one of the most enchanting Villas we have found. In particular the décor is breathtaking and the old Joglo building enchanting.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryanne...
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Kristine the owner … just wonderful !!!”
Reviewed February 29, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Its with a heavy heart I had to cancel my up coming booking at The Rice Joglo. I wanted to write this review just to let people know how fantastic Kristine was the deal with. I had paid a deposit for my accommodation. She fully refunded this payment. I emailed she emailed back promptly. She was just so so easy to deal with. (Because sometimes when you have to cancel & request a refund it can be a big hassle. This was not the case with Kristine !
I can't wait , to hopefully , stay in 2017 at her stunning Rice Joglo. Thank you Kristine :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: mail contact with owner
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 3, 2016
Dear Marquin59,,
Thanks for taking the time to write about your experience.
And thanks for giving us such early notice!
We very much hope to be able to host you next year.
Until then, best wishes to you and your family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing