We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Most magical experience for our wedding day”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Treehouse Joglo living area flows onto a generous bathroom overlooking the ravine
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
108 reviews
The Treehouse Joglo living area flows onto a generous bathroom overlooking the ravine
Looking towards the stairs in the Treehouse Joglo living area
The Master Bedroom has floor to ceiling windows looking to the rice fields
The luxurious open bathroom looking over the private ravine in the Treehouse Joglo
A buddha in the Treehouse bathroom looks over the rice fields
The Treehouse second bedroom
Another bedroom includes a desk overlooking the ravine
Languish in the shade of a bale by the raised pool with rice field views
Looking onto the pool area from the Dutch Joglo balcony
Many species of flower give so much colour to the gardens!
Welcome to the Rice Joglo Property
A unique antique retreat amongst the rice fields just 20 minutes walk from Ubud Centre
Our friends, the ducks come to visit after the rice has been harvested
Entrance way to the Lotus Suite
Watermelon fresh from the ground
Salad made from the organic vegetable garden
Order a local chef to cook dinner for a modest price
Balinese potato cakes
Cap Cay, a popular Balinese vegetable curry
Sunset from the pool
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Ubud, Bali

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 108 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
lememily
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Most magical experience for our wedding day”
Reviewed October 27, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We had a magical experience staying at the Rice Joglo's over the days of our wedding, for us and our wedding group. We hosted the ceremony in the lush gardens, and pure magic setting in the rice fields. The staff, Sonu, and Kristine were all absolutely fantastic - so helpful and gave so many suggestions to make the day really special. Us and our guests were blown away. The rooms are very comfortable, open air bathrooms and the breakfasts amazing. There are little chill areas everywhere, and it's so peaceful to sit and take it all in. Anything we needed , was sorted for us and our guests. Cant recommend enough!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M0nique23...
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A truly magical place to be”
Reviewed October 3, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Where do I start! We wanted to relax and chose The Rice Joglo as it is a little out of all the hustle and bustle of Ubud. What a magical place, in the middle of the rice fields, like an enchanted cottage from a fairytale. The joglo, had so many places to relax, by the pool, on the balcony, out on the porch, in the shared kitchen area etc, which was great for our large group of 7 family members. The decor and bedrooms where stunning as was the semi outdoor bathroom looking over the jungle. If this wasn't enough, what made our stay so special was the manager Sonu who looked after us, drove us back and forth to town and helped us with any arrangements we needed during our stay. Made the gardeners friendly smiles and Wayan amazing banana pancakes, corn fritters for breakfast, made us never want to leave...we will be back for sure. Thanks Kristine for letting us stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: only one toilet for a large group is a little problem, and a washing machine would be handy
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannimann...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I wouldn't stay anywhere else.....”
Reviewed September 27, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed at the Rice Joglo for 2 nights (22nd and 23rd) and I wish we could have spent longer there! The location was perfect, in the middle of the rice paddy fields, it was very peaceful. The 2 houses and the property are stunning! Beautifully designed by the property manager Sonu. All the people working at the Rice Joglo are friendly and helpful, Made would bring us fresh veggies and herbs from the garden and Wayan's pancakes for breakfast were yum! Sonu was a great host for all the time we were there-we will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian141...
City of Greater Geelong, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A gem - truly unique”
Reviewed September 18, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We had a great 4 nights at the Joglo. Wayan and the real character of the place, Made, made us feel at home. His "Bali tea" has to be experienced.. Would recommend the Joglo to anyone. It is 1.5km from Ubud town, so is a good stroll if you don't have a bike.
Some really nice places along the way.

Walking at night is very dark, but they supply a torch
Kristine is very helpful on email and replied promptly.
Only problem was the map on Trip Advisor. We followed it implicitly and were in totally the wrong place. We were "rescued" by some locals who contacted Ketut and he arranged some transport by bike.
We had a great stay at the Joglo.
Go there!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful location , the staff and the property
Liked least: maybe a little further from the town centre than we would have liked
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sokolich
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Inspiring relaxation”
Reviewed September 8, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The Rice Joglo abodes offer guests the opportunity to immerse themselves in nature that glitters and gleams all around you. Not just the gardens and the vista of rice fields but the natural surrounds of the building materials of the joglo itself. So unique.
All this provides a sense of peace and tranquility but also rustic adventure. You feel inspired to both relax and daydream and and explore the incredible rice field walk out the front door.
Clearly the owners, Kristine and Sonu have put and continue to put their heart and soul into the Rice Joglo and their guests. A lasting and memorable holiday for my self and teen daughter. Hope to return one day.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlwaysRTW
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“An oasis amongst the rice paddies”
Reviewed August 31, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Despite arriving very late at night, we were still met by smiling Ketut and transported up to the Joglo by motorbike. This friendly and exceptional service was to be the hallmark of our stay. It seemed that no request was too big or too small and Sanu in particular went above and beyond to make sure that our stay was as enjoyable as possible. We stayed in the beautiful lotus suite and it was everything we had hoped it would be with gorgeous decor and a particularly lovely bathroom. While the Rice Joglo is a moderate walk or slightly tricky bike ride out of town, it was an absolute haven on the edge of what can be a fairly frenetic town. We never once regretted choosing to stay outside of central Ubud. Breakfasts were superb each day and we felt like we were dining at a friends house rather than a hotel. The setting amongst the rice paddies is sublime and the sounds of bullfrogs and the sight of fireflies at night just topped off the magic of the place. Very hard to fault and we wouldn't hesitate to return. Special thanks also go to Kristine for all of her help with booking transport.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth...
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic place!”
Reviewed August 30, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

During our walk through the paddy fields we bumped into this stunner and loved it immediately. We were so lucky: they had a room available! We've stayed for two nights, which were the best of our whole Bali trip. The houses, garden and the interior are SO beautiful. Not to mention the unique location in the rice fields! The ambiance created here is pretty unique as well. The interaction between the staff and the other guests was very nice. We had a lot of fun and everyone was so friendly. We absolutely enjoyed it here and love to come back one day. Go there!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing