We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“tranquil, away from the crowds in Ubud, yet...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Treehouse Joglo living area flows onto a generous bathroom overlooking the ravine
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
108 reviews
The Treehouse Joglo living area flows onto a generous bathroom overlooking the ravine
Looking towards the stairs in the Treehouse Joglo living area
The Master Bedroom has floor to ceiling windows looking to the rice fields
The luxurious open bathroom looking over the private ravine in the Treehouse Joglo
A buddha in the Treehouse bathroom looks over the rice fields
The Treehouse second bedroom
Another bedroom includes a desk overlooking the ravine
Languish in the shade of a bale by the raised pool with rice field views
Looking onto the pool area from the Dutch Joglo balcony
Many species of flower give so much colour to the gardens!
Welcome to the Rice Joglo Property
A unique antique retreat amongst the rice fields just 20 minutes walk from Ubud Centre
Our friends, the ducks come to visit after the rice has been harvested
Entrance way to the Lotus Suite
Watermelon fresh from the ground
Salad made from the organic vegetable garden
Order a local chef to cook dinner for a modest price
Balinese potato cakes
Cap Cay, a popular Balinese vegetable curry
Sunset from the pool
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Ubud, Bali

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 108 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
ClareKL
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
“tranquil, away from the crowds in Ubud, yet accessible”
Reviewed May 4, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We had a fabulous stay at the rice joglo. From the quiet nights with just the sounds of nature around us to the daytime spent on the balconies, garden,pool and open kitchen we felt truly relaxed and spoilt in our setting which really is in the middle of rice fields. The location really is perfect, close to 2 excellent rural restaurants and a relatively short walk or bike/scooter ride from Ubud itself.
There are various steps and stairs (we were staying in upstairs accommodation) for young kids, however ours (3yrs and 4yrs) did manage to get around quite happily.
We were really well looked after by the Sonny and his team and it was delightful being proudly given much garden produce and coconuts from 'Madi' the gardener.
I would not hesitate to return and stay again if I should be so lucky.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location - the peace and quiet!
Liked least: Carrying kids up/down stairs to toilet during the night!
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finny442
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Like staying in a luxury treehouse”
Reviewed April 12, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Our family loved our 3 nights here. We stayed in the main suite, with us upstairs and our kids in two daybeds pushed together downstairs. There's a bit of a camping element to staying here... the bathroom is connected but at the back of the house, there's no AC but great cross-breezes, open windows at night but good bed-nets (and few bugs anyway)... but all this mainly added to the charm for us. The new pool was really great to have on hot afternoons. Great staff, especially the groundskeeper Made, who even enlisted someone to climb a tree to get us some fresh coconuts one afternoon.

We've stayed in Ubud in town many times before, and being out in the sawah like this was much nicer -- so quiet and peaceful compared with town.

Definitely be prepared with flashlights (or charged-up handphones) for walks home from town at night.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa A
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tranquil”
Reviewed February 4, 2014 for a stay in June 2013

I wanted to take my boyfriend to Bali, in particular Ubud, after having a great trip there previously with some friends. I wanted to stay somewhere close to Sari Organik.This property was a gorgeous walk through the rice paddies to get to, about 20 minutes from the main road but a beautiful walk first thing in the morning. It does get quite dark at night time and locals were constructing the pathway at the time which meant we had to walk on the small grass block between the path and the irrigation, but it was still a lovely adventure to walk through together. Waking up in the morning to see cute ducks swimming amongst the watered rice paddies and the sun rising above the palm trees was so tranquil and beautiful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidaybu...
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Wow oh Wow the Rice Joglu made my Bali holiday!”
Reviewed December 30, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Book it now! This place is to be seen to be believed! Me and my partner stayed for 3 nights at the end of our 2 week Bali holiday. The house is stunning in every way but the view of it and from it just takes your breath away. We felt so honoured to stay in Joglu which is positioned perfectly within the magestical rice fields of ubud. There is a walk into ubud of about 30mins but its a walk through the most stunning scenery that i've ever seen and if you don't fancy the walk you can always hire a moped cheaply or walk one way and get a moped taxi back which we did. Ubud is noisy and full of shops and the Joglu is the perfect way to relax after a day shopping or visiting the sites. The decor of the joglu is beautiful and whilst there is a tv and dvd player we found just sitting out of the balcony and listening to the birds and noises the perfect way to unwind each night. We prefer self catering so enjoyed walking (10min max) to the nearby 2 restaurants for breakfast and dinner. However there is a large kitchen so you could buy and make your own meals if you wanted to. The owner was extremely helpful... I just wish we'd had longer as 3 days wasn't enough and a week there would have been heavenly! Book it before its too late or the rice fields get full of tourists!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views and the pretty joglu itself
Liked least: Was a long walk to town so not good for those with mobility problems or who won't go on a moped.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 29, 2013
Thank you so much! You really made our day. We are so glad you enjoyed the magic of the rice fields and the authenticity of the Joglo. We really hope to see you here again - next time you will be able to enjoy a swim in the beautiful rice fields! We have started on the pool, which should be ready by the end of March.
Thanks again for taking the time to post your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
l p
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“MAGICAL, AMAZING, FABULOUS, ONE OF A KIND”
Reviewed August 24, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed at the Rice Joglo for 3 nights and what can I say, it was absolutely amazing, waking up to the most amazing views, it was great if you wanted to cook yourself with the outside kitchen, Made the housekeeper was wonderful, such a lovely person, nothing was too much trouble. Sitting outside on the day beds at 3am in the morning and watching the fireflys everywhere was so magical truly amazing, there are restaurants nearby so not far to walk along rice joglo track, massages on walk also or they will come to the Joglo, you can hire a motorbike to get into UBUD town but we preferred to walk everyday, I loved the rice field owners who were working next to the Joglo every day they would climb the trees and get us the young coconuts to drink very very friendly, the Joglo was everything I wished for, the experience was so amazing that I cried all day when I had to leave, cant wait to go back, Thankyou, Thankyou, Thankyou.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the remoteness and Joglo was so amazing
Liked least: mosquitos
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikimcdon...
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Peace, tranquility and Ubud at it's best”
Reviewed May 6, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My friend and I stayed at the Rice Joglo in April 2013. I had seen the Joglo on the website and booked the two night stay but I was not prepared for just how amazing the Rice Joglo actually was. First of all we had to walk, although we could have been given a lift on a motor bike, about 2 km along a winding path that went past artists working in small joglos, Sari Organic, The Pomegranate Bar and Café and endless rice patties. With every step the busy streets of Ubud melted away. When we came across the Rice Joglo we were in awe of it's traditional yet modernised for comfort stature. We felt like we were in a fairy tale, and decided there and then that two days wasn't enough and that we would return later for a full week. I love the Rice Joglo and have never stayed anywhere like it, it's far enough from the hustle and bustle but close enough to pop in and out of town to shop and eat and drink. It certainly was a place that I will always remember and long to return to.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location and the building
Liked least: Coming back late at night I needed to use a torch but I didn't have a very good one.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherHo...
Hong Kong,
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“THE BEST place to stay for a truly UBUD experience”
Reviewed February 13, 2013 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

This is the most beautiful authentic place you will find in Ubud. It is a beautifully decorated two story Joglo with gorgeous interior living areas and bathrooms. It also has a great outside kitchen come entertainment area. Its the sort of place you cant believe you are staying in. The location is quiet but close to town, overlooks the rice fields, has restaurants and Yoga close by ( but not too close). It is really the most lovely place to stay. If you take the rice walk you will see it as it stands out because of its beauty and authenticity.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beauty of the Joglo, the balconies overlooking the rice fields and the convenient location
Liked least: It has beautiful deep baths but does not have a pool on premise
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing