We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food but watch the tax”
Review of Kopi Kats

Kopi Kats
Ranked #4 of 35 Coffee & Tea in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $9
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Our dining facilities provide customers with a comfortable modern atmosphere, whilst retaining the beauty of traditional Bali, through use of Bamboo, Alang-Alang & Local Stonework. Al fresco dining is also available in a relaxing garden environment.Our menu provides extensive local cuisine along with interesting dishes from around the world. Our quality ingredients and presentation are key factors in our service.Our kitchen staff and baristas have been trained to western standards.Our coffee and homemade bread and cakes are very high quality.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great food but watch the tax”
Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

Can't complain about the food was very nice. Only problem I have is they have a sign out side advertising 20 meals under $5 but fail to mention the tax tax. I hate any restaurant that does this so it's nothing personal against them.

Helpful?
Thank jas0n_buckley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don M, Owner at Kopi Kats, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thanks Jason for your nice review on our Food.
I take your point about the 20 meals under $5 sign... but I'd just like to explain a little.
Bali as you're probably aware operates around the USD. ... 5 US dollars is around Rp60,000
As all of the 20 meals mentioned do come in under Rp60,000 INCLUDING tax & service, I didn't feel the need to display this.
However, I guess when you're looking at a sign, your mind doesn't go into calculation mode, so I'm going to add a note to say that it does include tax & service.
No doubt you noticed that all restos here add tax & service to the menu prices. I agree that it would make more sense just to have it in the price, but we are in Bali.
Thanks for your input... Please feel free to email me if this doesn't make sense.
kopikatsubud@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    64
    13
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Awesome!!”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

A rare find in ubud!! We stayed at kopi kats for 3 weeks! Lisa and I were blown away with the variety and quality of the food and beverages. We had breakfast at kopi kats every day and absolutely loved the
nasi goreng and fruit crepe! There is something for everyone at kopi kats and the staff are so friendly and accommodating, thank you so much Don and Teresa! We can't wait to come back and enjoy your great food and hospitality!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tegz_Bell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don M, Owner at Kopi Kats, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thanks for the great review Tegz. It was great to have you guys here. We can't wait to see you both again. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“One of Ubud's Best!”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We stayed at the Kopi Kats for 11 days this January and one of the unexpected treats was the quality of the restaurant. We had great breakfasts everyday. Our favorites were omelet or fruit crepe. We loved the coffee and the fresh juices. The staff is wonderful and were very attentive. We had dinner 4 times there as well. The menu features a an excellent range of Asian and Western recipes. Helene and I heartily recommend the quality and flavor of the food. Kopi Kats Restaurant is worth a try even if you're not staying there. You will come back again like we will!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lebrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don M, Owner at Kopi Kats, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you very much for the lovely review guys. We're delighted that you enjoyed your selves. Love to see you in Canada some day...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
1 review
“Not just great coffee”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Although everything people say here about the coffee at Kopi Kats is right, it should not overshadow the quality of the food. We were staying at Kopi Kats and - apart from the superb complimentary breakfasts each morning - ate at the restaurant several times. The food was excellent. Nice mix of Asian and Western options, generous helpings, fresh ingredients, beautifully presented and extremely good value. Don't let the cafe atmosphere fool you - this is a very good restaurant. The chilli crab is as good as any seafood I've had in several visits to Bali.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rbrux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don M, Owner at Kopi Kats, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you very much guys. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience. We hope that your words reach many people, so that we can have the opportunity to impress others. Once again.. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best coffee in Ubud?”
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Absolutely. Just what the Dr ordered. Best coffee (mocha), tasty cinnamon rolls, excellent service. Right down to rearranging the furniture so the fan could spray me gently as I whiled the day away. A definite winner!

Helpful?
Thank khender2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don M, Owner at Kopi Kats, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thanks for the great review .. a nice surprise. So happy you were happy with everything. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kopi Kats also viewed

 

Been to Kopi Kats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing