We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Book this room right now!!”
Review of Rumah Jepun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rumah Jepun
Ranked #122 of 592 Ubud B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Book this room right now!!”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

If you have stumbled across Julie's listing, consider your search over! It's hard to put into words how great this room is. 'Perfect' I suppose will have to suffice.

It's so secluded, it's a mini-adventure walking the path to the house from the main street. But when you're ready to go out, it's so close to dozens and dozens of restaurants, bars, and monkeys ready to literally climb up your shirt to grab a banana from your hand!

Julie was so friendly and accommodating, and the room was pristine. My wife and I had such an amazing time here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davidandcindyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie S, Owner at Rumah Jepun, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
We really appreciate your great review and are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Look forward to seeing you again next time you come to Ubud.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
24
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Masterton, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Had the most amazing time at this wonderful little hidden gem. Julie is an awesome host and always offering advise or help where needed, or inviting us out to join them in the evening. The room has everything you need for a comfortable stay and the staff are just lovely. We felt very humble to have had such wonderful people looking after us. Breakfasts are beautiful as are the surroundings tucked down in the trees where not a sound can be heard, but within 2 minutes walk having everything at your fingertips, great restaurants and shops. We're already planning our next stay with Julie.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie S, Owner at Rumah Jepun, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you so much for the great review Karen. We enjoyed meeting you and look forward to seeing you again next time you come to Ubud.
Take care
Julie and the Rumah Jepun team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here a few months ago. Room by the river was very clean and the bed fairly comfortable. Around the same time of day there was a slightly smelly waft from the river but it was fleeting so totally bearable. Breakfast was good - best spicy omelettes I think I've ever had. Location is good - Ubud is busy and a bit grotty at times so it's nice to be a bit set back from it and it's really less than 2 mins down an alley from Monkey Forest Rd and you can't hear anything from it at all. The staff are friendly and perfectly accommodating - didn't experience them bending over backwards as previous guests have been in raptures about but helpful when asked. It's cheaper to get a taxi from the airport as they obviously have to make the return journey but it takes away the stress and hassle if you're not the type inclined to haggle at the airport. Got quoted by independent taxi from Ubud to Denpasar for 80,000 in the end. It's a bit pricier than other similar standard accommodation but we were willing to pay for exclusivity (only one other room) and the peace of not being fully central. Felt more like a nice b&b than a backpacker place so a good option if you're looking to splash out if you're travelling longer term and would be nice for a holiday.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank 80skidsdotheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie S, Owner at Rumah Jepun, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
So pleased that you wrote so many positive comments in your review: 'very clean', 'good breakfasts - best spicy omelettes', 'location is good', 'exclusivity', 'peace', 'friendly and perfectly accommodating' - thank you.

And, yes, we very much think of Rumah Jepun as a nice b&b - one that is set in a lush, tropical, landscaped garden. We've even put a small waterfall in the fishpond since you were here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cozumel, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We stayed here a few months ago and it was a good fit for us. Ubud was surprisingly busy and hectic (at least to us) but Rumah Jepun is tucked away and offers a bit of a retreat from the hawkers and scooters.

Julie and staff were very accommodating with all questions (we had a lot) which makes things much easier in a foreign land. Really nice to have a breakfast each morning as well.

Overall this place is a good value and I am comfortable recommending it to others.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patrick m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie S, Owner at Rumah Jepun, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Thanks for your review and we hope to see you again next time you come to Ubud.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Rumah Jepun in late February. It is in a great location, off Monkey Forest Road, for shops, restaurants etc but because it is down a lane way and set well back off the road it is very quiet and peaceful. Gardens are lovely. The room was bright, clean and with a very good shower. We stayed in the Riverview Room which would be our preference because it is a little more private and has a nice outlook. My wife really enjoyed the omelettes and I loved the pancakes for breakfast. We were well looked after by Gede and Nyoman, both of whom were very friendly and helpful. There are a number of steps leading down to the property, but that is not unusual for Ubud. Thanks to July and the boys for a lovely stay.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Popnorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie S, Owner at Rumah Jepun, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay and gave such a great review of Rumah Jepun. Thanks so much and we look forward to seeing you again next time you're in Ubud.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Rumah Jepun is honestly one of the best places i have ever stayed in my life, and i have stayed in many places. Surrounded by gardens, overlooking a river, it is an oasis from the hot, busy streets of Ubud. I woke up every morning to fresh fruit, pancakes/spicy omelette, and Kopi. Before i even had a chance to find a staff member they were at my front door asking what i preferred for breakfast. Incredibly friendly staff, really nice guys.
Location: location is a little bit hidden behind a few buildings, but once you know which alley to go down, you can't miss it. It's about a 2 minute walk to Monkey Forest Road, the main street of Ubud. Everything i within walking distance. If you feel uncomfortable in the heat, you can swim at a B&B a few door up for a tiny fee (that rhymes).
The room was beautiful. Each door is a traditional balinese door-beautiful. The rooms have modern style bathrooms, air conditioned (VERY appreciated), and comfortable beds. Clean and wonderful.
My favourite part of the stay was getting to know Julie. An incredibly welcoming and knowledgable woman, she taught me a lot about about Balinese culture and people. She was also able to suggest places i would have never heard of unless through a local.
If you haven't decided where to stay yet, STAY HERE. You will not regret it!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jesssssssssss_89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie S, Owner at Rumah Jepun, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Wow, thanks so much for such a fabulous review. We're so glad you had a great stay here and we also enjoyed having you with us. Hope to see you again next time you are in Ubud,
Cheers Julie and the Rumah Jepun team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

I stayed with Julie - who has been a long standing friend of many years. We met in the UK and Julie stayed for a short time with me in Australia prior to moving to Bali. This said, I review objectively ! :)

I was met from the airport, which helps immensity, and we travelled the one hour up to Ubud, it was late so I didn't see much scenery.

We seemed to stop in the middle of Monkey Forest Road and then disappear down a long (ish) pathway, that snakes behind other shops/dwellings - the more you travel the path, the shorter it gets.

I awoke the next morning and was outstanding at the beautiful setting and range of plantlife that Julie has put together. The accommodation is new and of good quality, with air conditioning (a must) and a simple but filling home made breakfast each morning. The pancakes are to die for - I had mine "Reggae" with spices and banana - delicious.
If you want to go anywhere it is no problem and Julie will organise if for you with a phone call - plus make recommendations dependant on your lifestyle.
Julies knowledge of the area and recommendations on rituals or ceremonies, when they are happening, the best way there and all other "local" info is really helpful.

I relaxed over a few days of being spoilt and will return, it is a little gem behind the main street - be careful you do not miss the pathway.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davethepom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.1 mi away
Cinta Inn
Cinta Inn
#102 of 196 in Ubud
215 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rice Paddy Bungalows
Rice Paddy Bungalows
#171 of 592 in Ubud
44 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kampung Ubud Ibunda Bungalow & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Nani House 2
Nani House 2
#85 of 592 in Ubud
74 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mandia Bungalows
Mandia Bungalows
#119 of 592 in Ubud
37 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bumi Muwa Ubud
Bumi Muwa Ubud
#63 of 592 in Ubud
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rumah Jepun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumah Jepun

Property: Rumah Jepun
Address: Monkey Forest Road | Behind Warsa Bungalows, Ubud Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 592 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rumah Jepun has 3 individually furnished ensuite rooms, in central Ubud - the cultural heart of Bali. Two standard garden rooms and one deluxe room which includes a four-poster bed and a fishpond in the bathroom! Affordable rates incl breakfast, aircon, wifi & free tea/ coffee/ drinking water. Just 2 mins walk from the many shops, spas & restaurants in Monkey Forest Road, yet set in a tropical garden with a jungle backdrop. Eat breakfast on your balcony, while listening to the river and watching birds & butterflies. Friendly and helpful Balinese staff are waiting to greet you in this home of a poet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Rumah Jepun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumah Jepun Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing