We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Food, Wonderful Ambience”
Review of Rondji Restaurant

Rondji Restaurant
Ranked #241 of 772 Restaurants in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: " Taste The Rondji Touch at Blanco Museum "Named after the wife of Don Antonio Blanco, Rondji Restaurant is serving a Fine Balinese, Indonesian & Mediterranean Cuisine, using a recipe that is part of the family treasure, crafted & twisted by our Award Winning Chefs. While also introducing exotic signature dishes from all the 9 region of Bali. Extensive Wine List and great selection of Exotic Cocktails crafted by our Award Winning Mixology are all there for you to accompany our great selection of tapas, or simply sip our best local Tea & Coffee from our Afternoon Tea Menu. A part of the Blanco Renaissance Museum, Rondji Restaurant overlooking the most scenic view of Campuhan Hill. The interior, design by the only son of Don Antonio Blanco, I Made Mario Blanco is kept minimalist to complement the beauty of the surrounding. The Blanco family's temple with a huge 50 years old Banyan tree and a Hindu Pagoda of 12 roof is located on the North-East corner, completed with an Amphitheater for occasional performance.
Beachmere, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food, Wonderful Ambience”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Stunning setting for a dinner by candle-light in the grounds of the Antonio Blanco Museum, the open air pavilion with its red walls and huge central display of towering orchids looked magnificent and the tables and chairs dotted around outside allowed a good view of the performance stage.
There was a choice of three or four set menus each consisting of entrée, main and dessert for varying prices, or a la carte. All tastes were well catered for - there were Indonesian and International choices. The drinks list was extensive and reasonably priced.
Firstly we were served with a complimentary "amuse bouche" of fresh spring roll which was delicious accompanied by small white bread rolls with unsalted butter. Top marks! This was a very nice touch.
Everyone at our table enjoyed their food - my 3 countries duck was exemplary, the loin rack of lamb was pink and delicious, the ayam goreng was spicy and the "sorth" (?) ribs were enjoyed but a bit too fatty for my husband's taste.
Service was prompt and efficient.
Wednesday, Friday and Saturday nights have a dance performance starting at 7.30pm. My preference would be to either dine or watch a dance - not at the same time, but many people were enjoying the entertainment and the orchestra was good.
The bill for four people eating 4 entrees, 4 mains, one dessert, 5 bottles of water and one bottle of wine came to 1.5million rupiah. Considering the standard of the food, service and the venue I consider this good value. We will definitely return on a night with no dancing!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rondji, General Manager at Rondji Restaurant, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Patron,

Greetings from Rondji Restaurant, Ubud, Bali.

It is our great pleasure knowing that you had a great dinner with us at Rondji recently.
We really appreciate your effort to share your experience with others.

Your comment and opinions are very valuable for us to grow and be able to exceed your expectation on food & service is our main focus for your next visit.

Looking forward to welcome you back at Rondji Restaurant

Best Regards,

Made Bagia Arsana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    89
    30
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denpasar, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Original food stunning view”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We came with a group of 7, despite of great view. The food is moderate and even worse to see “sariwangi” tea bag for that price.
We tried the duck and chicken and found the taste was good and could be better.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VanKaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rondji, General Manager at Rondji Restaurant, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Patron,

Greetings from Rondji Restaurant, Ubud, Bali.

Thank you for visiting Rondji Restaurant recently.

We really appreciate your effort to share your experience with others.

Your comment and opinions are very valuable for us to grow and be able to exceed your expectation on food & service is our main focus for your next visit.

Looking forward to welcome you back at Rondji Restaurant

Best Regards,

Made Bagia Arsana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellington, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“amazing rooftop culinary gem”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

attached to the Antonio Blanco Museum, (a must see by the way) After our free complimentary drink, we decided to make it a lunch with drinks, appetizers entree and deserts.
Seated next to an endless pool. High above the river. This restaurant offers an amazing view and real culinary delights. The staff was extremely efficient and helpful. Not rushing us, but always there when needed. The lush tropical gardens, vine covered ancient trees surrounding the restaurant, invited us to enjoy the day. make your experience special. Pre-dinner drinks were prepared to perfection and my meal of the stippled leat
her jacket fish, was probably the best fish I ever tasted. My only regret was that we discovered it on our last day in Ubud. I would have eaten there many many times.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank quilter2333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rondji, General Manager at Rondji Restaurant, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Patron,

Greetings from Rondji Restaurant, Ubud, Bali.

It is our great pleasure knowing that you had a great dinner with us at Rondji Restaurant.
We really appreciate your effort to share your experience with others.

Your comment and opinions are very valuable for us to grow and be able to exceed your expectation on food & service is our main focus for your next visit.

Looking forward to welcome you back at Rondji Restaurant

Best Regards,

Made Bagia Arsana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Unknown Gem”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Rondji Restaurant is attached to the Blanco Renaissance Museum in Ubud. After a visit to the Museum, we went to the restaurant for our complimentary drink included in our entrance fee, We decided to try out some of the desserts for a morning tea snack and were that impressed that we booked for dinner the following night. The service was immaculate, the food superb and the wines very reasonably priced for Bali. We started with a bottle of Australian Chandon Sparkling at less than we would pay for it in a restaurant in Perth. The menu had a great selection , but we ended up with each couple ordered the same 2 dishes so that we could share with our partners. There was no bickering when it came time to change plates as all the food was fantastic. The view from the restaurant is gorgeous. It looks up along the Champhuan Ridge and all you can see is a natural landscape with no development. It is hard to believe you are in the middle of Ubud. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneO563013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rondji, General Manager at Rondji Restaurant, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Patron,

Greetings from Rondji Restaurant, Ubud, Bali.

It is our great pleasure knowing that you had a great dinner with us at Rondji Restaurant
We really appreciate your effort to share your experience with others.

Your comment and opinions are very valuable for us to grow and be able to exceed your expectation on food & service is our main focus for your next visit.

Looking forward to welcome you back at Rondji Restaurant

Best Regards,

Made Bagia Arsana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Best view in Ubud”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This place probably offers one of the best views of Ubud's beautiful natural setting. Located on top of the hill 100 ft above the Campuhan river, next to Antonio Blanco Museum, it offers a panoramic view of the Campuhan ridge at a distance. The Al Fresco sitting arrangement is surrounded by a charming garden, a typical Balinese temple and the ridge with the river flowing below.
We stopped here for lunch after visiting the fantastic Blanco museum next door and had very simple food of Club sandwich and a Lebanese Platter and both of them were prepared from fresh ingredients and tasted very nice. The staff attended to us promptly and courteously and we came out hoping to come back stay longer next time. The price was reasonable too.
Antonio designed an outstanding museum to display his beautiful paintings to future visitors to Ubud and his son and daughter-in-law built a restaurant for the visitors to sit and and relax and absorb the magic of Ubud. They dedicated it to their mother Rondji, who was a Balinese dancer and a source of inspiration for Antonio.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Abjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rondji Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Rondji Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing