We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love sulendra bungalow!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Citrus Tree Villas - Sulendra
Ranked #367 of 575 Ubud B&B and Inns
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“love sulendra bungalow!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

i have stayed at sulendra bungalow three times over the course of one year. i have rented three different rooms. all have been clean with reasonable rates that can be negotiated, especially for longer stays. the property has nine rooms of various sizes, including one large remodeled room, and two remodeled rooms with air conditioning.

i love staying here because it is extremely quiet (well, aside from the ducks and roosters which are unavoidable) and off the main road, but close to all the convenient amenities of central ubud. since you're off the main road you don't have to listen to the crazy dogs howling at all hours of night. they have several little ponds with fish and other pretty flowers, trees, etc.

finally, the family is very friendly (two small children who are adorable) and always willing to help in any way they can.

Room Tip: room numbers three and above all have nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank veg-e510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    11
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
7
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Great place to stay on a budget. The Sulendra Family was very helpful in helping plan the rest of my trip and setting up transportation throughout my stay. There is always someone around and always felt very safe. The property is centrally located with most the main attractions not that far away which was great for someone who doesn't ride a motor bike to get around. Great views, good food, and a big part of what made my visit Ubud a memorable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 6hannah6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We have never had such a good time as we did staying with the Sulendra Family. This is our second time staying there and we intend to return again. Centrally located about 100 metres from the main post office, you are within walking distance of all the main attractions of Ubud City.

Mr Sulendra and his sons, Wayan and Made are all painters--you can watch them paint while you are there. They also dance in the Kecak and Firedance. In addition, Wayan can arrange for transportation and tour services if you want.

However, the best part of Sulendra experience is interacting with the family. You will be warmly greeted--feel part of the family immediately. You will be able to participate with them in any way you feel comfortable. They love to share their culture and will learn such an appreciation of life in Bali.

We can harly wait to return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan10444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise Idaho
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed at Sulendra's bungalow in Jan 2011 and again Jan 2013. The rooms are somewhat primitive but if you ask for one of his new rooms, it is nice. It is great to stay in the family complex. Mr Sulendra's family is friendly, helpful and willing to share their culture. We had them teach us how to weave the Hindu offerings. Breakfast is light--don't expect to be filled up. The roosters crow very loudly, very early. We brought our own sheets and towels the second visit and had a much better stay. You do not get daily room service. We plan to go back every other year and will always stay with Mr Sulendra. The homestay is centrally located in Ubud and a short walk to the monkey forest and shops and spas. For inexpensive accommodations with a cultural flair, you can not beat Sulendra's Bungalow.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in one of the new rooms at the bottom of the complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank djanaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I first went @ Sulendra's in 2011, loved the place and decided to get back there for my 2nd trip in Ubud.
this guesthouse/family compound is located in a quiet place, however earplugs may be useful as rosters start to sign from 5AM (the price of wilderness... :) )
the rooms are clean, a light breakfast (fruit salad, coffee/tea, banana toast) is delightful,
Sulendra does his best for you to enjoy your stay: if he can't provide bikes or motorbikes himself, he'll manage it asking the neighbours...
the term "guesthouse" is full of sense @ Sulendra's, I had the feeling to live in the compound as a real guesthouse !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Citrus Tree Villas - Arik
Citrus Tree Villas - Arik
#389 of 575 in Ubud
2 reviews
0.3 mi away
Citrus Tree Villas - Shana
0.8 mi away
Kamandhani Cottage
Kamandhani Cottage
#136 of 575 in Ubud
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
De Ubud Villas & Spa
De Ubud Villas & Spa
#2 of 5 in Lodtunduh
13 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nyoman Karsa Bungalows
Nyoman Karsa Bungalows
#170 of 556 in Ubud
79 reviews
0.3 mi away
Puri Padi Hotel
Puri Padi Hotel
#181 of 197 in Ubud
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citrus Tree Villas - Sulendra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citrus Tree Villas - Sulendra

Property: Citrus Tree Villas - Sulendra
Address: Jl. Jembawan 70, Padang Tegal, Kelod, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #367 of 575 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Citrus Tree Villas - Sulendra 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well-positioned in Ubud, Sulendra Home Stay is the ideal point of departure for your excursions in Bali. From here, guests can enjoy easy access to all that the lively city has to offer. For sightseeing options and local attractions, one need not look far as the hotel enjoys close proximity to Komaneka Gallery, Seniwati Gallery, Low Art Gallery. Sulendra home stay offers impeccable service and all the essential amenities to invigorate travelers. To name a few of the hotel's facilities, there are room service, tours, and bicycle rentals, and Wi-Fi in public areas. IN YOUR ROOMThe nine sunny rooms located in the quiet Sulendra family compound feature various options ranging from standard to superior with patio to garden views plus kitchen and air con options with rooms that overlook the bamboo forest and small village across the river. Tours or pick up from the airport can also be arranged! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Citrus Tree Villas - Sulendra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citrus Tree Villas - Sulendra Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing