We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect hotel for yoga lovers”
Review of Alaya Resort Ubud

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Alaya Resort Ubud
Ranked #45 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel for yoga lovers”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

To be honest, I chose this hotel primarily because of its location. Alaya is just beside Yoga Barn and that means I can join any yoga class throughout the day. Its literally a three minute walk and there is a wonderful cafe that serves delicious and healthy food fare. Just when I don't expect much from a hotel, Alaya proved to be more than good. The rooms are spacious and well furnished. Much thought has been put into the decor for design and functionality. Simple touch of having an in-built international plug earns a thumbs up for me.

On our first day, the shower head was faulty and that was a damper as it was hard taking a good shower with water trickling in all directions. It's quite unlike me not to mention this to the front desk.... but I was pleasantly surprised when they fixed it on the third day. I like the initiative and that has earned another thumbs up for me.

Will be back for sure.

Room Tip: Rooms at Alaya are either padi view or pool view. If you prefer a quiet room, avoid the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda_Francis_SIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Linda_Francis_SIN,

Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you enjoyed staying with us. Alaya located in a vibrant area filled with specialty shops, art galleries, cafes and many tourist destinations. We aim to provide a personalized service, convenience, and facilities to each guest yet still able to keep the Ubud ambiance. We value your inputs and have advised our management.
Once again thank you for your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Alaya Ubud.

Best Regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,288
    417
    71
    23
    13
See reviews for
288
941
162
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

The property and rooms are absolutely beautiful. Great location. Walking distance to many attractions, shopping and food spots. Service for the most part was excellent.

I'm going to list a few things that made me lower my review from 5 stars to 3 stars. I'll include as much detail as possible. If you don't care about these things just consider it a 5 star review for your purposes.

The driver was late to pick us up from the airport. Over an hour late. The hotel still automatically included a 10% tip. We had to argue to have the tip removed.

We enjoyed the hotel's restaurant. The food and drinks were good. The service was a bit slow. Most times I had to flag down a waiter. Even when I was the only one in the restaurant. Again, 10% tip automatically added despite the subpar service.

Some of the design choices in the room were not well thought out. For example the twin beds is actually one giant piece of furniture. So the night stands have to go on the far side of each bed instead of between the beds. There's only one telephone. So if you need to make a call you're disturbing the person sleeping in the bed near the telephone.

In the toilet area the toilet paper holder is installed far back so that you have to reach behind you for TP. Even though there is plenty of room to have installed it further forward on the wall negating having to reach behind you. We ended up taking the paper from the holder and keeping it on lid to the garbage can.

Both our beds had stains on the sheets. The sheets were clean. But had blood stains that didn't come out in the wash. We both found that pretty disgusting. They did send someone right away to change the sheets. I didn't find the stains on my bed until 2am or so and I still got them changed out pretty quickly.

Other than those things the hotel was excellent. You decide if those things matter to you.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teaharbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear teaharbor,

Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We We are happy that you enjoyed staying with us. Alaya located in a vibrant area filled with specialty shops, art galleries, cafes and many tourist destinations. We aim to provide a personalized service, convenience, and facilities to each guest yet still able to keep the Ubud ambiance. We value your inputs and have advised our management.
Once again thank you for your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Alaya Ubud.

Best Regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

This is a beautiful resort. We absolutely loved staying here. The location in Ubud is great - easy stroll to the shops and market and Arma Museum. The room super clean, cool and comfortable overlooking an expanse of green. Breakfasts are tasty with many fabulous choices. Best coffee ever! Loved, loved, loved this place. The staff is so kind and friendly, the service impeccable. If we go back to Ubud, it will definitely be our first choice for accommodation.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Marina S,

Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you found your stay with us up to your expectations. Our rooms are inclusive breakfast and afternoon tea at a casual dining Petani Restaurant and weekly live performance schedule at Petani for the guests to enjoy the dining accompanied by acoustic, violin and Balinese dance.
We value your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back to Alaya Ubud.

Best Regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
1 review
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Unfortunately we only planned one night in Ubud. Beautiful Hotel facility, the rooms are very clean and beautifully decorated. The pool area is also very pretty.
I wished we had booked a longer stay. Have to go back one day!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Iris C,

Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you had a wonderful experience during your stay with us. Alaya welcoming all the guests with personalized services and complete facilities from each side, we offer inspiring programme for the in-house guests to experience Balinese dance, yoga class, spa class and making offering.
Once again thank you for your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Alaya Ubud.

Best Regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoje, South Korea
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

From the drink and cool towel at check in, to the fantastic breakfast, everything was pretty much perfect. I rarely if ever use the word perfect but honestly, this was such a wonderful place. So happy I chose this as my first accommodation in Bali. I will always stay here when I come to Ubud. Great location and the staff are superb.

Room Tip: I asked for a rice paddy view and it was just lovely. I opted for a room without a tub which was fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Stephanie70,

Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you found your stay with us up to your expectations. Alaya welcoming all the guests with personalized services and complete facilities from each side, our details decoration from the room to public area made for the guest convenience during stay at Alaya Ubud. We offer inspiring programme for the in-house guests to experience Balinese dance, yoga class, spa class and making offering.
Once again thank you for your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Alaya Ubud.

Best Regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Loved loved loved this hotel. 5 star accomodation, 5 star service and 5 star food. The restaurant was great - fantastic breakfast and afternoon tea. Provided GF bread for my family. Great location in ubud - can stroll to shops and monkey forest. They also provide free transport around Ubud from their lovely drivers. This hotel ranks way above other similarly priced accomodation in ubud.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephaniehulbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear stephaniehulbert,

Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you had a lovely experience during your stay with us. Alaya located in a vibrant area filled with specialty shops, art galleries, cafes and many tourist destinations. We aim to provide a personalized service, convenience, and facilities to each guest yet still able to keep the Ubud ambiance.
Once again thank you for your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Alaya Ubud.

Best Regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for part of our honeymoon and have never experienced anything like it before or since - we'd love to return one day.
So peaceful and tranquil, great for relaxing and unwinding (bit hilly, not great for anyone with mobility problems) amazing food, people, views and spa treatments. Loved drawing the doors back (we had the collapsing kind) and having coffee in bed whilst the monkeys played in the garden in front of us. The outside shower was amazing too. Can't wait to return one day, would highly recommend this place for anyone looking for some serious R&R and culture. Just like paradise.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hannah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Hannah A,

Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you found your stay with us up to your expectations. Alaya Ubud is one of favorite resort for honeymooners at Ubud; guest can enjoy the sunbathing at pool surrounding nature view, experience Balinese relaxation at DaLa Spa and also private romantic dinner. We offer inspiring programme for the in-house guests to experience Balinese dance, yoga class, spa class and making offering.
We value your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back to Alaya Ubud.

Best Regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.5 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
0.5 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
1.2 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#28 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#12 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,828 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#38 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
2.0 mi away
Royal Tulip Visesa
Royal Tulip Visesa
#21 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alaya Resort Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaya Resort Ubud

Property: Alaya Resort Ubud
Address: Jalan Hanoman, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#39 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Alaya Resort Ubud 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Ubud, Alaya Resort Ubud meets the needs of international travelers as a modern interpretation of Bali’s local building culture through the combination of indigenous materials, imbued with the essence of ancient Ubud. It features 60 tastefully-appointed rooms, Petani restaurant specialising in cuisine from around the Indonesian archipelago and award-winning DaLa Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, ACCOR, Fastbooking, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alaya Resort Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alaya Resort Ubud Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing