We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff”
Review of Alaya Resort Ubud

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Alaya Resort Ubud
Ranked #44 of 196 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Staff”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Had a great stay at "Alaya" resort. The facilities were clean and well maintained. The location was excellent with only a short walk to the Monkey Forest. The staff were friendly and helpful. The best was the lovely view over the rice paddy fields. Breakfast was good and the the meals we had at the restaurant were well prepared and tasty.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petraplukavec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear petraplukavec,

Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you enjoyed staying with us from the facilities, view, food and services. . We aim to provide 5-star personalized service, convenience, and facilities to each guest yet still able to keep the Ubud ambiance.
Once again thank you for your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Alaya Ubud.

Best Regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,403
    442
    76
    23
    13
See reviews for
328
1,016
169
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Good value, great service. The staffs are very friendly and helpful, the room is clean and with a great view. I am not very impressed by the dinner in Petani but the breakfast and coffee is really nice. If there's music performance, u must stay, its really good.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Charlene H,

Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you enjoyed staying with us from the room, view, services and live performance at Petani Restaurant. “Petani Coffee” is exclusive to Alaya Ubud is freshly roasted using the finest grade Arabica beans from around the Indonesia archipelago and Petani food signature is chef’s own version of Bebek guling and Nasi raja with organic ingredients direct from local growers.
We value your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back to Alaya Ubud.

Best Regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 9, 2013

A classy, clean establishment within an easy walk of many points of interest, shops, supermarket and spas. Staff helpful and friendly. Meals (breakfasts and afternoon coffees) lovely. Main downside was the mini-bar which, deliberately we were told by staff, kept drinks lukewarm - not approaching cold. An ice bucket was available on request. Quite a few stairs, too, between room, pool and restaurant/lobby for anyone with mobility problems. A good spot for first-timers wanting to get a feel for the town.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenBPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear JenBPerth,

Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you enjoyed staying with us. Alaya Ubud provides daily healthy breakfast and afternoon tea for all the guests at a casual dining Petani Restaurant. Our weekly live performance schedule at Petani for the guests to enjoyed the night accompanied by Balinese dance or Violin or Acoustic.
Once again thank you for your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Alaya Ubud.

Best Regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Alaya is the perfect location for a short stay in Ubud. It is a 3 minute walk from the monkey sanctuary and is surounded by shops and places to eat. It is also next door to yoga barn if that tickles your fancy.

The Resort itself was brand new, clean and had great rooms. The staff were slightly unhelpful but we stayed in its opening week so they were properly getting the hang of things.

And, the food at the hotel was great!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacquiiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Jacquiiii,

Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you enjoyed staying with us. Almost one year the opening of Alaya Ubud; since 19th January 2013 we are welcoming the guests from many countries; European, Australian, Asian and etc. Alaya was design to keep the Ubud ambience, nature and Balinese culture.
We value your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back to Alaya Ubud.

Best Regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

I stayed two weeks at this magnificent hotel with such an incredible service. I have always traveled alone and very comfortable with it and this hotel is awesome for a single or married or what ever you are. I wish I could go back again and live in that hotel rather than stay there temporary!!! lololo The manager Trisna and her assistant Mayun and all the staff were just amazing. I get in tears when I think about my wonderful in Bali and the way this hotel made accommodation for me every time, I left and came back to Ubud. LOVE ALL OF YOU. TRISNA YOU MADE MY TRIP A FANTASTIC TRIP

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheilad1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear sheilad1969,

Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you had a memorable stay with us. Ibu Trisna, Mayun and all the Alaya staff always try to give the best personalized service to the guest.
Once again thank you for your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Alaya Ubud.

Best Regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Friendliest staff! We had arrived after a bad experience at a previous villa and they did all they could to make us happy again. The room has the most beautiful bathroom products and the pool a delight for massages, cocktails, reading books by and of course swimming in. We were wanting to try traditional suckling pig and were happily taken to a near by village where we were able to have a more authentic Balinese experience at their recommendation. Great location (especially if you love the yoga barn) and pretty, well maintained gardens.
Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrgns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Mrgns,

Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you found your stay with us up to your expectations. Staying at Alaya Ubud Guests can experience the nature from every facility provided, easy walking to many famous tourist destinations in Ubud and located next to the Yoga Barn which is perfect choice for Yogis. Our freshly breakfast and afternoon tea available at Petani Restaurant, Petani signature is chef’s own version of Bebek guling and Nasi raja with organic ingredients direct from local growers.
Once again thank you for your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Alaya Ubud.

Best Regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Dear Alaya Hotel: We are in room 202 at the moment and we have to check out tomorrow morning. But we don't want to leave. So we've booked two more treatments in your ridiculously beautiful spa for tomorrow and we're going to stretch out the day by hanging around here until dark. We will leave when we absolutely have to. Ok?

Dear Obud vacationer: This place, this town, and the people who work at this gorgeous little resort will be the highlight of your vacation. The rooms are perfect. The beds and pillows are superb. The restaurant, coffee, and service is world class. The shower, balcony, view, pool, and location are about the best you'll find in this entire area. And the spa is like a dream -- well worth the incremental cost over the side-of-the-road spas you'll find all over Obud. Book it now. The hotel just opened earlier this year and it appears to be catching on quite quickly.

After our first night, we asked to extend our stay. Unfortunately, we were told they were full. So, we'll leave here kicking and screaming tomorrow. But not until dark.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Lee S,

Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you enjoyed staying with us from the view, room, spa, food, services and the coffee at Petani Restaurant. Petani has own gourmet blend of coffee “Petani Coffee” which is exclusive to Alaya Resort Ubud and is freshly roasted using the finest grade Arabica beans from around the Indonesia archipelago. Our award winning DaLa Spa offers a meticulously crafted menu inspired by age-old Indonesian healing and beauty rituals using natural ingredients.
Once again thank you for your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Alaya Ubud.

Best Regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.5 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
0.5 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
1.2 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#24 of 196 in Ubud
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Plataran Ubud Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#16 of 196 in Ubud
1,896 reviews
3.1 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alaya Resort Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaya Resort Ubud

Property: Alaya Resort Ubud
Address: Jalan Hanoman, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#38 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Alaya Resort Ubud 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Ubud, Alaya Resort Ubud meets the needs of international travelers as a modern interpretation of Bali’s local building culture through the combination of indigenous materials, imbued with the essence of ancient Ubud. It features 60 tastefully-appointed rooms, Petani restaurant specialising in cuisine from around the Indonesian archipelago and award-winning DaLa Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Fastbooking, Cancelon, ACCOR, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alaya Resort Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alaya Resort Ubud Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing