We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding! Would love to come back again!”
Review of Alaya Resort Ubud

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Alaya Resort Ubud
Ranked #44 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
88 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Outstanding! Would love to come back again!”
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is exactly what it should be. The staff, the rooms, the restaurant, all without fault. The spa is on another level. We had a massage included in out stay and it was easily the best I have ever had! This spa has been rated amount the best in Asia and you can see why- spectacular! For all you yogis out there, it's right next door to the yoga barn which we didn't realise before we came to stay! Perfect trip!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AvidAdventurer87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear AvidAdventurer87,

Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We We are happy that you found your stay with us absolutely perfect. We are located next to the Yoga Barn which is perfect choice for Yogis. At DaLa Spa, our entire menu of body and beauty treatments is inspired by the age-old rituals of a bygone era and is essentially nature-driven. Even our spa cuisine is wholesome and prepared using the finest organic ingredients.
Once again thank you for your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Alaya Ubud.

Best Regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,335
    423
    72
    23
    13
See reviews for
298
969
166
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We check in Alaya resort and the moment we arrived we felt special and very welcome and relaxing.

We were blown away by the Alaya room; we expected it to be special but every little detail was covered.

The service is outstanding. They offers everything and goes above and beyond. We will certainly recommend the Alaya resort to anyone travelling
to ubud Bali.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Feliica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Feliica C,

Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you found your stay with us up to your expectations. We aim to provide 5-star service, convenience, and facilities to each guest yet still able to keep the Ubud ambiance.
We value your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back to Alaya Ubud.

Best Regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

We chose this resort based on the price per night so were not really expecting '6' star service but that's what we received. Staff were so friendly and attentive- nothing was too much trouble and always with a Huge smile! Breakfast and afternoon tea were included in the room tariff and entertainment was provided several times a week in the restaurant at no extra charge. Restaurant food was excellent and not much dearer than restaurants on the street. Rooms are beautifully appointed and the inclusion of locally prepared toiletry products which smelt divine a nice touch. I used the Dala Spa - yes it was expensive by Bali standards- but you get what you pay for. Ambience is just as important as the spa treatment and this Spa delivers in spades.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RoBrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear RoBrady,

Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you enjoyed staying with us from the room, food, services and spa at DaLa Spa. Alaya welcoming all the guests with personalized services and complete facilities from each side. Our weekly live performance at Petani Restaurant for the guest to enjoy Balinese dance and acoustic on the night, also DaLa Spa with nature surrounding.
Once again thank you for your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Alaya Ubud.

Best Regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dili, East Timor
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Excellent. Apart from the check-in, which seemed an inordinately long and confused process, we really liked our stay here. Rooms were very comfortable, with a deluxe bed, and nice big shower. Unlike some hotels, there was plenty of wardrobe and counter space. Like many, however, there was often a slight fail on the cleaning, with towels sometimes taken but not replaced, or not all counters wiped clean each day. Nothing terrible, mind, but just short of desired perfection. All such situations were quickly addressed upon request, however. The restaurant was great, breakfast a choice of Indonesian and western fare; my parents on their first trip from Australia enjoying pretty much everything on offer. Perhaps best of all though, was the spa. Amazing. It was more expensive than your average spa in Bali, but it was so much more luxurious, thoroughly indulgent, and worth every penny. It far surpassed its nearest competitor. We would highly recommend the hotel, and spa, to all.

Room Tip: all good, with paddy field view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nathandalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear nathandalton,

Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you enjoyed staying with us from the room, spa and food at Petani Restaurant. We aim to provide 5-star service, convenience, and facilities to each guest yet still able to keep the Ubud ambiance. Alaya provide various facilities for the guest to spend a lovely time at the resort, award winning DaLa Spa Inspired by traditional Indonesian therapies offers a carefully-researched selection of pampering and healing treatments.
We value your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back to Alaya Ubud.

Best Regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antwerpen
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

The moment we arrived we did'nt think it would be sutch a succes.Located close to the center of Ubud but no noise during the night,clean rooms,very good service with especially thanks to Mr Mayun who was very helpfull to drive us to Ubudcenter.The food we've had for diner was a totally surprise,Bali-cuisine improved a lot ,The Tunafish was excellent,just like it has to be.
Next time Ubud will be next time Alaya.Thx for a few lovely days.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danielantwerpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear danielantwerpen,

Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you found your stay with us up to your expectations. Petani Restaurant at Alaya Ubud become a famous casual dining restaurant in Bali, the signature is chef’s own version of Bebek guling and Nasi raja with organic ingredients direct from local growers.
Once again thank you for your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Alaya Ubud.

Best Regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Excellent location walking distance from monkey forest road with all the shops and restaurants. The property seems quite new and has views over the rice paddies. The free wifi was great,much appreciated. Staff were very helpful, offering to park our rental car and asking us if we needed any assistance. When it rained heavily the staff offered us large umbrellas that kept us mostly dry.

Room Tip: Ask for a room upstairs for better views over the rice paddies, this also means that guests walking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asia_traveller_1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear asia_traveller_1997,

Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you found your stay with us up to your expectations. We located in a vibrant area filled with specialty shops, art galleries, cafes and many tourist destinations. Live entertainment also available at our casual dining Petani Restaurant to enjoy Saturday and Sunday night with live acoustic.
Once again thank you for your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Alaya Ubud.

Best Regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I didn't know what to expect when I booked the Alaya resort Ubud but I am so glad I did. I was traveling with my husband and another couple and we where all ecstatic with the hotel.
The staff are so friendly and very helpful cannot do enough for you. The rooms are very well appointed with fantastic toiletries with heavenly beds and pillows great size room and a bath tub to die for. The location is close to everything shops restaurants ubud market lots of spa's close by , right next door to the hotel is a large supermarket so convenient to purchase supply's. . Their spa is amazing! my friend and I had a three hour treatment a bit pricy but still a third the price you would pay in Melbourne well worth the treat. The only gripe I would have is their isn't enough sun beds for the guest, and no lifts, it wasn't a problem for us but could be for elderly guest. My other regret is that we only stayed three days would have loved to have stayed longer. We will definitely recommend it to all our friends and will stay here next time we are in Ubud You would definitely not regret staying here.

Room Tip: The Alaya rooms located on the third floor have an amazing bath tub worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meanie50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear meanie50,

Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you had a lovely experience during your stay with us. We aim to provide 5-star service, convenience, and facilities to each guest yet still able to keep the Ubud ambiance. Award winning DaLa Spa offers a meticulously crafted menu inspired by age-old Indonesian healing and beauty rituals using natural ingredients.
We value your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back to Alaya Ubud.

Best Regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.5 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
0.5 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
0.7 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#12 of 198 in Ubud
1,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#27 of 198 in Ubud
715 reviews
0.1 mi away
Plataran Ubud Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Bisma Eight
Bisma Eight
#13 of 198 in Ubud
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alaya Resort Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaya Resort Ubud

Property: Alaya Resort Ubud
Address: Jalan Hanoman, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#38 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Alaya Resort Ubud 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Ubud, Alaya Resort Ubud meets the needs of international travelers as a modern interpretation of Bali’s local building culture through the combination of indigenous materials, imbued with the essence of ancient Ubud. It features 60 tastefully-appointed rooms, Petani restaurant specialising in cuisine from around the Indonesian archipelago and award-winning DaLa Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alaya Resort Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alaya Resort Ubud Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing