We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great service and location in ubud”
Review of Alaya Resort Ubud

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alaya Resort Ubud
Ranked #46 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great service and location in ubud”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Although Alaya is a small hotel, it provides a five star service experience. Each of their staff were well trained, multilingual and went out of the way to communicate with their guests on how to best meet their needs. Great location too - almost right next to Bebek Bengil and a stone's throw from Monkey Forest.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dominic S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Dominic S,

Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you had a lovely experience during your stay with us. We aim to provide 5-star service, convenience, and facilities to each guest yet still able to keep the Ubud ambiance.
Once again thank you for your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Alaya Ubud.

Best Regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,287
    417
    70
    23
    13
See reviews for
288
939
162
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Very nice place, excellent location next to Yoga Barn, a big supermarket is next to the hotel too, breakfast is delicious, only a walking distance to all the small shops, I highly recommend it to any one visiting Ubud

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shada A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Shada939,

Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. Alaya Ubud offers warm hospitality and a distinct sense of belonging that is truly unique to the island of Bali, easy walking to the many famous tourist destinations, shops and art galleries along the street.
We value your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back to Alaya Ubud.

Best Regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Well appointed, spacious rooms and convenient location. What made the stay special was the great service. With complementary transportation to town and afternoon tea thrown in, they have thought through what most guests need and have prepared well. Hope the standards are maintained as their well deserved popularity grows.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms for better views of paddy field
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bearnco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear seeker33,

Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you found your stay with us up to your expectations. Alaya Ubud has been designed to reflect Bali as an artistic destination and meet the needs of international travellers. A multi-functional pavilion for yoga and cooking classes and an award winning DaLa Spa for personal indulgence where age-old Indonesian healing and beauty traditions are put into practice to recharge the body, mind and spirit.
Once again thank you for your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Alaya Ubud.

Best Regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Eliza, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Do yourself a favour next time you go to Ubud and stay at the Alaya. We spent six nights at the Alaya and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The rooms are not overly huge but they are very well appointed. Our room over looked the pool with the rice fields beyond. The staff were very welcoming and accommodating nothing was too much trouble. Sujani was our waitress most mornings at breakfast and she was an absolute delight. The Alaya is very well situated which made central Ubud well within walking distance. There is a shuttle available should you need it. Next door is the Coco supermarket where you can stock up on supplies. I cannot comment on the spa as we did make use of it but it dies look very inviting.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Stephen W,

Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you had a lovely experience during your stay with us. We aim to provide 5-star service, convenience, and facilities to each guest yet still able to keep the Ubud ambiance. Our healthy food created by Chef Made Siharta at a casual dining Petani Restaurant located next to the lobby and an award winning DaLa Spa to take the experience of true Balinese relaxation to the next level in a setting that is sensitive to the surrounding environment.
Once again thank you for your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Alaya Ubud.

Best Regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murten, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Great location, great place to stay, the spa is amazing.
We staid 3 nights and we were really pleased. What is especially to point out is the staff which just provides an fantastic service, keeping it private and personal without it being to much! We'll return for sure soon to Alaya. We hope they keep up the excellent service they provide!

Room Tip: Visit the Spa, it's really nice and helps to make your holiday a better experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurent I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Laurent I,

Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you found your stay with us up to your expectations. Alaya Ubud is an unpretentious boutique resort that is all about taking time out to enjoy quality relaxation in a stylish environment surrounded by natural beauty. Alaya also created a private romantic candlelight dining experience for the honeymooners; it is an evening to reconnect on a personal level over a delicious five-course menu enhanced by flickering candles, tropical flowers and soft music.
Once again thank you for your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Alaya Ubud.

Best Regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Alaya resort was an absolute gem I found through booking.com. Better than I expected. Stunning service, stylish rooms with comfy beds & pillows, peaceful immaculate room ( I recommend rooms further away from the reception & on level 2), great pool, delicious breakfast with great selection, great coffee, luxurious spa (pricey), rice paddy view yet in the heart of the Town. Free local shuttle service.
I would definitely stay here again, much better than the Maya where we stayed on our last visit. Exceptional value for money NZ$550 for 3 nights including breakfast.
Organise your own airport transfers as the alaya was on the pricey side.

Room Tip: Second floor further away from reception. Unless you like ground level, garden aspect across to ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nina m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear nina m,

Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you enjoyed staying with us from the room, food, view, spa and services. DaLa Spa dedicated space for personal indulgence where age-old Indonesian healing and beauty traditions are put into practice to recharge the body, mind and spirit. Our daily freshly breakfast and afternoon tea at a casual dining Petani Restaurant located next to the lobby. Alaya Ubud offers warm hospitality and a distinct sense of belonging that is truly unique to the island of Bali
Once again thank you for your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Alaya Ubud.

Best Regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2013

At this Hotel the client is really a king! I had an absolutly perfect stay at this Hotel. Exceedingly friendly and helpfull staff and an excellent Restaurant. My whole stay was a pleasure and I hope to come back next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esther552013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Esther552013,

Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you had a lovely experience during your stay with us. We aim to provide 5-star service, convenience, and facilities to each guest yet still able to keep the Ubud ambiance. Alaya offers variety of guest activities for the in-house guest, a multi-functional pavilion for yoga and cooking classes also leisurely cycling excursions around Ubud and trekking in a choice of three unique locations.
Once again thank you for your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Alaya Ubud.

Best Regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.5 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
0.5 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
1.2 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#28 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#12 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,828 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#39 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
2.0 mi away
Royal Tulip Visesa
Royal Tulip Visesa
#19 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alaya Resort Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaya Resort Ubud

Property: Alaya Resort Ubud
Address: Jalan Hanoman, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#40 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Alaya Resort Ubud 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Ubud, Alaya Resort Ubud meets the needs of international travelers as a modern interpretation of Bali’s local building culture through the combination of indigenous materials, imbued with the essence of ancient Ubud. It features 60 tastefully-appointed rooms, Petani restaurant specialising in cuisine from around the Indonesian archipelago and award-winning DaLa Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, ACCOR, Orbitz, Agoda, Fastbooking and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alaya Resort Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alaya Resort Ubud Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing