We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very new, unique rooms, good location!”
Review of Alaya Resort Ubud

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Alaya Resort Ubud
Ranked #43 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights after visiting Kuta and before Lombok. This hotel has very recently opened so everything is shiny and new! The room is unique with open plan bathroom, bed very comfortable. They provide fruit basket each day and gave us a nice cake in arrival for our wedding anniversary! It is on a main street so very close to plenty of restaurants and souvenir shops. its also a 5 minute walk to the monkey forest and 25 minute ealk to the paddy field trek and to mpst of the dance shows. if you get tired the taxis are quite reasonable. Despite being in a busy road, The resort is small so once you're inside it's very peaceful to have complimentary afternoon tea overlooking the paddy fields or to lay by the pool with a similar view. Alaya resort was such a perfect find and I definately recommend it for good value for money!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shortdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Dear Shortdoc,

Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you found your stay with us absolutely perfect. Alaya features 60 tastefully-appointed rooms with private balcony overlooking the paddy fields view. Daily fleshly ala carte breakfast and afternoon tea provided at our stylish Petani Restaurant, there is also a branch of the award winning DaLa Spa for our in-house and outside guests.
Once again thank you for your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Alaya Ubud.

Best Regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,518 - 1,524 of 2,113 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed three nights at the Alaya and could not believe our luck in finding this hotel. It is so central yet feels secluded and has the BEST coffee we had found after two weeks in Bali. The rooms are well designed and each room has either balcony or a patio (if on lower level) looking on to rice paddy fields which is really charming. Monkey Forest Road is around the corner but far enough away so that you don't get throngs of people on the street. Great breakfast and food menu at great value prices. And the foot massage at the Spa is excellent. Highly recommended and we would definitely stay again here.

Room Tip: Choose a room closer to reception otherwise it can be a long walk to your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Therase T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Dear Therase T,

Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you enjoyed to stay with us from the room, view, spa, food and coffee. Our coffee at Petani Restaurant has its own team of trained baristas so that every cup of coffee is perfectly brewed using a rich blend of Indonesian coffee beans.
Once again thank you for your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Alaya Ubud.

Best Regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

This is a great find and worth the treat to stay here. Not quite as dramatic as some of the other resorts outside town, it more than makes up for this with it's stylish decor, attentive staff and beautiful location by the side of a working rice field - let's hope it retains this charm amidst the development across Ubud that is spreading fast. Lots of nice restaurants nearby and walking distance from the monkey forest. Rooms are luxurious and the whole vibe relaxed and unpretentious - I would readily stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antoine2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Dear Antoine2007,

Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you found your stay with us up to your expectations. Alaya is a boutique hotel with rice terrace view, located in a vibrant area filled with specialty shops, art galleries and cafes along with lifestyle activities for health conscious guests.
Once again thank you for your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Alaya Ubud.

Best Regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This hotel resort has a lot going for it. Very new, well laid out, great restaurant and fabulous location. It seems so much of Ubud accommodation is located outside Ubud so you need to use one of the dreaded taxis to come and go. Not so with Alaya. It is a very short walk to the Monkey Forest and only 15 minutes to the Palace/Markets. Most of the rooms are at the rear of the property which means they are very quiet. They all overlook the rice paddies which is peaceful. The rooms have everything you need and the staff are very obliging. The included breakfast is divine and don't miss the daily free afternoon tea between 4pm and 5pm - the best coffee I had since leaving Melbourne served with 3 beautifully presented sweet delicacies. Also close to other good restaurants. Very comfortable.

Room Tip: Any room - we were right at the front and it was still fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Dear Tracey M,

Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are happy that your stay with Alaya meets your satisfaction. Alaya exudes Balinese charm and is a comfortable base for travelers from all walks of life, easy walking to the Monkey Forest and Ubud Market. Also with a Award-winning DaLa Spa and Petani Restaurant for our in-house and outside guests. Thank you for your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Alaya Ubud.

Best Regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The room was unusual in that there is no bathroom as such. The basin is next to the bed, there is a separate toilet but the shower is open to the room although there is acurtain some of the way. The staff are very helpful and the breakfast is excellent. It is really nice that afternoon tea is free and very tasy. Generally very good.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fantino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Dear Fantino,
Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you enjoyed during your stay with us, Alaya located in downtown Ubud with rice field view to reflect Bali’s artistic nuance and at the same time meets international needs. Once again thank you for your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Alaya Ubud.

Best Regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Location can't be beat 5 minutes from Monkey forest and about 15 minutes to Ubud market area. Close enough to everything but also far enough away to be a little quieter. Beautifully appointed rooms. The staff was very attentive and friendly. Went out of their way to ensure the experience was excellent. Hotel was well designed. Breakfast was very good as was the food in the restaurant. Pool area very nice with good sunbeds and umbrellas. They could probably use a few more for really busy times. Lovely view of the rice fields from the private balcony and room. I was a little under the weather otherwise I would have participated in the daily yoga class. I though that was a nice touch. If I had to be picky the ceiling fan was a little noisy. If there was a way to fix them to be quieter so they didn't bang would be better.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view of the Rice fields if possible. Absolutely stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Jeremy L,

Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.
We are happy that you enjoyed to stay with us from the rooms, view, food and services. Apologize for any inconvenience caused about the ceiling fan was a little noisy, we immediately fix it to avoid same problems in the future. Much appreciate for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Alaya Ubud on your next visit to Bali.

Best Regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed two nights at this brand new and beautiful Boutique Resort! The location is just perfect; in the middle of the Center of Ubud but in a quiet location surrounded by beautiful rice fields. Just 200m to the famous Monkey Forest!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maniman_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear Maniman_11,

Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you had an amazing experience during your stay with us. This smart boutique hotel reflects Bali’s artistic nuance and at the same time meets international needs. Much appreciate for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to AlayaUbud on your next visit to Bali.

Best Regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.5 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
1.2 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#27 of 199 in Ubud
819 reviews
0.5 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Plataran Ubud Hotel & Spa
3.1 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
1.8 mi away
Kamandalu Ubud
Kamandalu Ubud
#41 of 199 in Ubud
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alaya Resort Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaya Resort Ubud

Address: Jl. Hanoman, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#38 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: $116 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Alaya Resort Ubud 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Ubud, Alaya Resort Ubud meets the needs of international travelers as a modern interpretation of Bali’s local building culture through the combination of indigenous materials, imbued with the essence of ancient Ubud. It features 60 tastefully-appointed rooms, Petani restaurant specialising in cuisine from around the Indonesian archipelago and award-winning DaLa Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alaya Resort Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alaya Resort Ubud Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing