We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beautiful oasis in the heart of ubud” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alaya Resort Ubud

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alaya Resort Ubud
Ranked #44 of 171 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful oasis in the heart of ubud”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

I recently spent 4 blissful nights in the Alaya. As a lone traveller I felt very well looked after by the staff who were very friendly and helpful and booked me on a number of day tours which were top notch and even helped me book my next hotel when I was to leave ubud. The hotel is brand new and beautifully designed. It is great value for money and I can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephygg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Stephygg,
Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.
We are so happy with your praises about our property, our staff are always ready to meet all your staying needs with us. We open our doors to travellers looking to experience the village of Ubud and all of its attributes. To complete your journey of senses, we recommend during your next stay to experience our well-known spa, Dala Spa Ubud, with its natural ingredients and beauty rituals.
Again, thank you for your comments and looking forward to welcoming you again to Alaya Ubud on your next trip here.

Best regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    991
    343
    54
    20
    10
See reviews for
207
743
122
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

From day one I realeized that there are two issues in the hotel: the worst internet connection and undiversified type of food in the breakfast, for example you cannot order cheese or potato in the breakfast unless you pay more despite that breakfast is included in the room charge.

Today I add another to the list of disadvantages, I went to the lobby for breakfast and I told them my order eggs no chiken no beacon and Mrs. Anny said only vegetarian food I said yes if you consider eggs is vegetables. After long time of waiting anf 3 families just came after me and thy are now enjoying thier coffee I am still waiting untill another guy bring me a plate of all kind of meat plus eggs he let me loss my appetiate.
I told him many times let Anny come please I want to talk with her but he didnt. then I just took my coffee which I requist again -as they forget it- to the room without eating my breakfast.
thier long time of service and changing my order ruing my morning.
I wish if I booked the hotel for max two nights, it is 9 am now and I am waiing this day to finish so I can check out and leave. BAD EXPERIANCE

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BADER A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear BADER A,
Thank you for your feedback.
We much appreciate your patience during your stay with us. As Alaya strives to offer the best products and services, we apologize for the inconvenience caused by our staff. We will look into the issue and will deal with it accordingly. Thank you once again for your comments and look forward to welcoming you back in near future.

Best regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed at Alaya during their opening special offer of half price rooms. Firstly I was on the ground floor but asked to be moved after the first night during which they were trying to fix a blocked pipe outside! Not off to a great start but things improved and the third floor room was much quieter. Staff aimed to please with a few other issues including a lack of hot water. Good location with a supermarket next door and Monkey Forest Rd close by. Need more deck chairs and add umbrellas for around the pool - it was very hot and there was not enough shade. The restaurant wasn't busy except for breakfast - the menu was not very appealing for those wanting a true Bali experience. Overall though, a great place to stay and I hope to go back some day soon. Thanks for making my first trip to Bali special.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gogirl12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear GoGirl12345,
Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.
We are so delighted you considered us a lovely hotel during your first trip to Bali. Apologize for any inconvenience caused about the said facility, we immediately resolved it to avoid any more problems in the future. As we are still on soft opening period, a lot of testing are being done to get us ready for full occupancy and improvements.
We truly appreciate for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Alaya Ubud on your next visit to Bali.

Best regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed two wonderful nights at Alaya Ubud Resort. The resort itself is fairly new and beautifully designed and we had a very spacious room with a king bed and big LCD TV and gorgeous balcony overlooking the pool. Breakfasts were delicious. The staff are all lovely and very helpful. We also loved the location, a 5 minute walk to the Monkey Forest and Monkey Forest Road. We loved Ubud and would love to come back and stay at Alaya again in the future.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Leah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Leah T,
Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.
We much appreciate your comments and most importantly that you had an fantastic stay with us. Glad you enjoyed our extremely popular breakfast. We pride ourselves for being the secluded boutique in Ubud, but at the same time having easy access to all major attractions, and still provide a personalized service for each and every guest treating them as a family member.
Again, thank you for your comments and looking forward to welcoming you again to Alaya Ubud on your next trip here.

Best regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We were lucky enough to enjoy a wonderful night at the Alaya Resort in Ubud. We have never stayed in Ubud before, we have driven through and around but never stayed the night. We always stay in Villa De Daun in Kuta and were asked if we would like to see what we thought of Alaya Resort.

We loved it. It was so peaceful overlooking the rice fields from the balconey of our room. The room was so nicely decorated and the fixtures magnificent. I could have stayed in the shower all day with the rain shower head.

All in all the experience of Alaya Resort was wonderful. The staff were so friendly and helpful.

Hopefully next time we will stay a bit longer and really enjoy the peace and quiet.

Karen and Ian

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaz66Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Kaz66Perth,
Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.
We are so happy you had a relaxing experience during your stay with us. Here at Alaya, we ensure that we deliver the same level of warmth and looking after each guest personally, just like at Villa de daun Kuta. We want to offer a chance to experience Bali’s various destinations, in the heart of Kuta and Ubud.
Appreciate your praise and looking forward to welcoming you again to Alaya Ubud.

Warmest regards,
Alaya Ubud Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasaga Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Our 25th Wedding Anniversary needed a special hotel, so we checked the options in Ubud and selected the Alaya Resort. This proved to be one of my better decisions. From the moment we arrived to the time we had to leave it was a most enjoyable experience.

Our standard room was spacious, well designed and beautifully appointed. A marvelous breakfast was included each morning, as was complimentary afternoon tea. Dinner at the hotel's Petani restaurant was beautifully prepared and excellent value.

Staff took the usual Balinese hospitality to new heights - nothing was too much trouble. If you enjoy the spa experience, this is the place, and the pool provided the perfect way to recover from a busy day in town. The location is handy to most everything you need in Ubud.

They even surprised us with special considerations for our anniversary celebration. We really hated to move on, and will definitely return at the next opportunity. Go ahead, spoil yourself!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wasagadave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Wasagadave,
Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. Congratulations for your 25th wedding anniversary, we are truly happy that you chose to celebrate it with us here at Alaya. We want to give each guest a personalized and heart warming experience, from the moment they step into our lobby until check out. As many guests have commented, our convenient location, delicious breakfast, and wellness treatments at DaLa Spa is what makes sets up apart from other hotels in Ubud. Again, thank you for your comments and looking forward to welcoming you on your next wedding anniversary in Alaya Ubud.

Best regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We arrived into Ubud with no plans, just my iPad and tripadvisor for a guide, Hotel Alaya seemed to appear everywhere, so we thought we'd take a look. I'd seen it was only opened in January 2013 so it's very new and in perfect condition. The staff are all 100% friendly and services spot on, the rooms, especially the hot tub ones are amazing! We stayed in room 321 near the pool and loved it.

Both my partner and I wanted to cycle and see the rice fields but didn't want an all day trip so the hotel lent us their brand new mountain bikes and Mayun (a member of staff) kindly offered to let us cycle with him during his afternoon break. It was amazing! We saw locals bathe in the rivers, rice fields that tourists don't usually see and a sunset to die for.

Breakfast was very good, I had American one day and eggs benedict the others, with drinks and afternoon tea included too. They operate a private bus (again brand new!) to just about anywhere in the town you'd like, free. I have to say (and heard other visitors say when checking out too) that it is the best hotel they've stayed at, and I have to agree.

We would come back for sure!! Tim

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Timbogray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Timbogray,
Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.
We are happy that you found your stay with us absolutely perfect.
We wanted to create this experience using these small details, made available for guests, so they can enjoy every moment of their experience with us, whether it is simply relaxing in your room or laying by the pool or wanting to go out and explore Ubud and beyond. Our staff are well known for treating each guest as a family or dear friend.
We are looking forward to offering you another fabulous stay during your next visit to Alaya Ubud.

Best regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.5 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
1.2 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#24 of 171 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 557 reviews
0.1 mi away
Plataran Ubud Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
0.2 mi away
Anumana Ubud Hotel
Anumana Ubud Hotel
#45 of 171 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 stars 369 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bisma Eight
Bisma Eight
#17 of 171 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alaya Resort Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaya Resort Ubud

Property: Alaya Resort Ubud
Address: Jl. Hanoman, Ubud 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#40 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alaya Resort Ubud 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Ubud, Alaya Resort Ubud meets the needs of international travelers as a modern interpretation of Bali’s local building culture through the combination of indigenous materials, imbued with the essence of ancient Ubud. It features 60 tastefully-appointed rooms, Petani restaurant specialising in cuisine from around the Indonesian archipelago and award-winning DaLa Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity, ACCOR, Fastbooking and Odigeo so you can book your Alaya Resort Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alaya Resort Ubud Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing