We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Art filled and friendly”
Review of Alaya Resort Ubud

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Alaya Resort Ubud
Ranked #45 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Art filled and friendly”
Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a fabulous week at this new and extremely well situated hotel. Well appointed rooms, luxurious spa/massage complex, the food in the restaurant was very good but the highlight would be the wonderful and friendly staff. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Kerry J,
Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.
We’re so pleased that you had a great week stay with us and that we delivered satisfactory services from the cuisine, spa rituals, and genuine hospitality.
We definitely will be look forward to welcoming you again during your next stay with us in Ubud.
Warmest regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,331
    423
    71
    23
    13
See reviews for
296
968
165
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

After checking out of two noisy hotels on Monkey Forest Rd, Walking around looking fr somewhere nice to stay, we walked into this posh looking impressive foyer on Jalan Hanuman, we walked in basically to have a rest thinking ,,,it's looks beyond our budget..
Out of curiosity we asked the the price of the rooms,, and were told the price,, which was way beyond our budget..but the staff then called the manager who asked how long we intended to staying,we said 2 weeks and maybe more..after a bit of haggling and negotionating the very nice managerNgora gave in to my husbands demands and being the very customers to occupy this yet unfinished hotel he agreed to
An attractive price ,,but warned us on the ongoing building work around us..which was only internal. The building did not encroach on our stay at all..in fact all the workers were v courteous and stopped work to wish us .. Each time we went by ..
We intended staying 2 weeks ended up an extra 2 weeks.
We would happily come back again and recommend the Alaya for the following reasons
Excellent location
No noise except front of restaurant ( traffic)
Excellent and obliging staff
A la carte breakfast beautifully seved and presented and enough quantity and quality
We loved the fresh orange juice and eggs benedict ..fresh warm croissants Frm there own bakery
The restaurant food also excellent although not so extensive..
The bedrooms are a good size v comfortable with large beds enough hanging space
Complimentary water and fruit everyday
Best quality bathroom accessories
The rooms are cleaned twice a day with fresh towels if needed..
Our only contention was the shallow swimming Pool .. Sunbeds ..no umbrellas.am
Sure they will add it on later as its all quite new still...
The beautiful spar was of world class quality ..so we're the therapist ,would recommend
To try their amazing traditional sandalwood massage ...heaven ..by the excellent Nitti who has trained in various resorts all over the world and she's back home to Bali and Alaya who are fortunate to have her ...
We felt v much at home as we stayed a whole month .
Would not hesitate to come back here again
Our favorite waiter at breakfast Gunuwan you can,t miss him the smiling Buddah ("certainly")

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank azy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear azy60,
Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.
We’re delighted to accept your praises, knowing that you thoroughly enjoyed your long stay with us and we delivered a superb service which was satisfactory. Our excellent cuisine, spa rituals, and the genuine hospitality are what set us apart from other boutique properties in Ubud.
We look forward to bringing you more pleasurable holiday experiences during your next stay with us to Bali.
Regards from paradise,
Alaya Resort Ubud Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

As the hotel is brand new, when I booked this hotel there were no reviews on tripadvisor so I had no expectations. When we arrived I was very happy with our choice. The rooms are very comfortable with a big bed, blackout curtains, shower, bath, tv and excellent wifi for free. The pool area is very comfortable and the water is lovely and refreshing. The hotel looks over a beautiful rice field and the gardens are tranquil. I enjoyed the restaurant which provided a big breakfast with fruit, pastries, bacon and eggs, coffee and juice complimentary.

My partner and I received a complimentary massage of our choice at the spa which overlooked the pool. The spa was much nicer than others I went to in ubud.

The hotel was in a good location - right next to yoga barn, close to monkey forest and restaurants.

The best thing about the hotel was the lovely staff. Everyone was friendly and seemed they would so anything to help you. They even drove us to the official money exchange.

I would recommend Alaya Resort to people looking for a relaxing hotel in beautiful ubud.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess86e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Jess86e,
Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.
We are so pleased that you found our property beautiful, the staff warm and friendly, which created the perfect relaxing holiday. This is in line with our concept as a smart boutique hotel that reflects Bali’s artistic nuance and at the same time meets international needs. Indeed we have a prime location in downtown Ubud; an area that has fully embraced tourism yet still maintains the traditions of a bygone era.
We strive to enrich your stay in Ubud experience through culinary journey at Petani restaurant and wellbeing journey at DaLa Spa Ubud.
Much appreciate your comment and recommendation, we definitely will be looking forward to welcoming you again during your next visit to Ubud.

Best regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed at the Alaya Ubud for one week and could not have made a better choice. The wonderful owners, Michelle and Jimmy and their entire staff could not have been more welcoming.Our beautiful room had everything we required, including a safe, strong wifi signal, comfortable bed, blackout curtains, satellite TV, and a fantastic rain shower with as much hot water as you could want. An extra bonus for us was the ceiling fan on the balcony. The pool was refreshing and the lounge chairs extremely comfortable.
The dining area is picturesque and our breakfasts and dinners were delightful. The wait staff could not do enough for us.
Don't miss the complimentary afternoon tea and Balinese sweets! We wish we could have this at home.
The spa was opening the day we left. We are sure it will be first class, as well.
If you're coming to Ubud, we strongly suggest that you consider the Alaya Ubud. You won't be disappointed!
Thanks to everyone at Alaya Ubud for making our stay such a memorable one.

Randy and Ralph (Mama and Papa)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy_Ralph_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Hi Randy_Ralph_13,
Thank you for your review. You have put a big smile on each and every staff at Alaya including us. Once again thank you for your stay, hope you have a good time in your next destination and look forward to welcome you back hopefully in not too distant future.

Best regards,
Managing Director of Alaya Resort Ubud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Their food is great, I had the spareribs which were cooked excellent! The meat fell right of the bones.
The chocolate foundant for dessert was also really good. The crispy duck was very crispy and a little too dry, but good taste.
Service was fair, we didn't have any wine so they weren't really tested. But they interrupt in our conversation which is a bit annoying, maybe just a culture thing.
All in all, nice place, good scenery in the back, away from the road. Price and quality match very good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MFK44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlayaResortUbud, Public Relations Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear MFK44,
Thank you for staying at Alaya Resort Ubud, enjoying our Petani Restaurant and taking the time to share your dining experience on Tripadvisor.
We are so happy you found the food great and our services to your satisfaction. Our restaurant has chosen to pay tribute to the members of Bali’s hardworking farming community who cultivate the land to provide a consistent food supply. Therefore, every effort is made at Petani to source organic ingredients direct from local growers so that even rural landowners can benefit from the island’s tourism industry. Our motto is delicious and healthy.
Again appreciate your comment and we definitely will be looking forward to welcoming you again during your next visit to Ubud.

Best regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has only been open a little more than a month so I was ambivalent to stay here due to the ongoing construction and just generally services aren't perfect when it hasn't even had it's grand opening yet. But surprisingly the services was excellent - staff had good English. The room was clean and spacious with a view of the rice paddy. The shower was excellent. I liked the open space plan. The restaurant was superb. Breakfast was amazing with huge portions. Coffee the best I've tasted. Since it was new I got a great internet promotion rate which I'm sure will go up in time so for now it was a value for $85 considering it's right in the heart of Ubud! The front desk staff were very helpful with anything I needed. I only wished I had stayed in Ubud longer to enjoy the facility. My only comment is - this is not a resort - it's a hotel but a good one.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelEatSpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaLa Spa Ubud A, Public Relations Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear TravelEatSpa,
Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.
We are happy that described your experience exactly according to our foundations for establishing this property, a smart boutique hotel that reflects Bali’s artistic nuance and at the same time meets international needs, yet easily accessed in downtown Ubud. You mentioned about coffee at Petani, our coffee is perfectly brewed using a rich blend of beans sourced by leading Indonesian roasting company Anomali, processed using the La Marzocco FB/70 limited edition machine.
Our special promotion rate is still valid until end of March 2013 so much appreciate of you can recommend us to your friends visiting Bali.
Thank you for your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Alaya Ubud.
Best regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curacao
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

While walking the streets in Ubud I came upon the Alaya Hotel, a beautiful hotel with open reception. Friendly personnel waving and smiling with me so I stepped in just to see what was behind the friendly staff. I was completely
overwhelmed by the beauty of the hotel, the view on the sawa's (rice fields) and rooms. A-one.
I had a cup of coffee at the restaurant and ever since I returned several times for breakfast, lunch and coconut water.
The food was delicious and the staff very attentive. The waitresses knew their menu and could made recommendations.
I would strongly recommend visitors to just drop by and convince your self. Thank you staff!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clariciah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaLa Spa Ubud A, Public Relations Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Clariciah,
Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.
We are happy that you found your experience with us worth a lifetime. Our unique and smart boutique hotel was designed with Bali’s artistic nuance in mind, set amidst the beautiful lush paddy fields of which Ubud is so popular. Indeed we take pride in our signature Sarapan, the Petani breakfast, which includes a serve of young coconut water to replenish energy levels.
Culinary needs of in-house guests and passersby such as yourself are met with a delightful menu of flavoursome fare.
Again, we appreciate your comment and we looking forward to welcoming you back to Alaya Ubud.

Best regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.5 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
0.5 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
1.2 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#27 of 198 in Ubud
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#13 of 198 in Ubud
1,847 reviews
0.1 mi away
Plataran Ubud Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Bisma Eight
Bisma Eight
#15 of 198 in Ubud
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alaya Resort Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaya Resort Ubud

Property: Alaya Resort Ubud
Address: Jalan Hanoman, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#39 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Alaya Resort Ubud 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Ubud, Alaya Resort Ubud meets the needs of international travelers as a modern interpretation of Bali’s local building culture through the combination of indigenous materials, imbued with the essence of ancient Ubud. It features 60 tastefully-appointed rooms, Petani restaurant specialising in cuisine from around the Indonesian archipelago and award-winning DaLa Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, ACCOR, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alaya Resort Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alaya Resort Ubud Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing