We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful garden and amazing owners”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Frangipani Bungalows
Ranked #108 of 640 Ubud B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful garden, super clean, in the middle of Ubud sans noisy scooters, and last but not least, amazing owners Nik and Darini make this place feel like home. This place is worth more than its price. If you must absolutely have a pool, you can pay $2 for the use of a nice one next door. Tip: Even though it's just a 5-8 min walk to the main road, I'd recommend renting a scooter to get around ubud in general.. Ubud center is bigger than you think! They are $4-5 a day. the drivers on the road are actually more aware and considerate than you initially think! It's almost safer driving here than in Canada because drivers are WAY less distracted here!!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank g-to-the-el-oh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 129 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2013

A friend of mine recommended Frangipani when I asked her about a place to stay at Ubud.
I have to say that her recommendation is just perfect for me and my husband.
The price meets our budget (475k IDR/night).
I booked the deluxe room. It is located upstairs.
The room is spacious and clean (I was a little bit surprised because the floor and bathroom's tile has identical pattern with our own in Jakarta).
There are 4 types of breakfast's menu available: banana pancake (it's very delicious), omelette, bread with egg, and ... (sorry I forgot the last one).
What I like the most is the view from the balcony. It's just a small garden, but the view is relaxing.
The location is also great. I was heavily pregnant during my stay there, and I still could easily reach Monkey Forest and Ubud Market by a short walk.

Don't forget to chit chat with Nick and the other staff there. They are really friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b1ttersweet_choco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night and had a very pleasant stay. Located about 10-15 minutes walk from the main road in ubud with plenty of restaurants/warangs along the way. The upstairs room was very large and new with super bathroom. Really clean. Only downside was the poor carpentry where the windows and doors had large gaps letting in bugs. Plugged in our bug zapper and this seemed to do the trick! Balcony was large with nice view over garden and small section of rice field. Hot water for tea/coffee left on balcony table really nice touch. Breakfast good, served on balcony. Nik was really friendly. Overall very happy, would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sj333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed one week in Ubud and decided to come to Frangipani. We can say that we don't regret our choice : If you are looking for a room not too far from Ubud center but isolated enough to enjoy peacefull life in Ubud, you won't be desappointed.

We had a ground floor room, large and clean, with a direct view on the propriety garden. Nick and his family are very nice and help you understand why Bali is so special.

No swimming pool but as far as i'm concerned, It's not something i would search for in Ubud. Good wifi, nice fresh breakfast were offered too.

We'll come back in Frangipani next time we'll go to Ubud again for sure.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steh0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights with my partner and we just fell in love. The location is perfect. Only an easy 10min walk to the heart of town but there are restaurants and spas 2mins away on JL Bisma. No traffic noise and noone just outside the hotel hassling you for transport etc.
The room cost us $25 AUD p/n. It was spacious with high ceilings and gorgeous furniture. Beds were comfy and the whole place was clean and shiny. We booked a fan only room and were a bit concerned but it ended up being way better than sleeping in aircon and waking up all snuffy.
Breaky is served on your private deck and the pancakes are amazing. Hot water is delivered 3 times a day in a thermos to take advantage of the free tea and coffee.
My favourite part is the lush green garden. Nothing beats waking up to that view :)

Also highly recommend Pizza Umah for a meal which is just down the road. And if not having a pool worries you there are plenty of places on the street that will allow you to use theres (try komaneka, it's worth a look!)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emjaym86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I stayed here four nights. I stayed in Ubud seven nights in total. First three days I stayed at Pita Maha, one of famous resort with a friend. After she left, I moved to Frangipani Bungalows and stayed.Pita Mana and Frangipani Bngalows are different type of accomodation but here was also very very nice.

Frangipani is located in the middle of Bisma street. Bisam street is near Monkly Forest street but it is very quiet and everyone can enjoy nice rice filed view. I stayed on 2nd floor. It is quite big room and very clean and loverly room(trust me! totally same as pictures in website).

Nick and his wife were very kind and friendly. They provided yummy fruits and banana pancake every morning.Also they provided hot water(pot) several times a day(early morning, afternoon and evening). That was really good service as I really like tea anytime.

I strongly recommend to consider sayting here. This is good option! Enjoy staying at Frangipani Bungalows!

Room Tip: I stayed on 2nd floor. I think all rooms are good but if you prefer more private time, 2nd floor roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Japaneselady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 8 nights and it was just great! The room is clean and very new. From the terrace you see a wonderful tropical garden and the owners are very friendly! They even helped us organize a trip with a private driver. In 8 to 10minutes walk you are in the center of ubud if you go on the other side of the street you can walk to the monkey forest. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mumi-5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.3 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#57 of 199 in Ubud
629 reviews
0.4 mi away
Merthayasa Bungalows
Merthayasa Bungalows
#165 of 199 in Ubud
90 reviews
0.9 mi away
Karang Mesari Ubud Bungalow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Tanah Semujan Ubud
Tanah Semujan Ubud
#28 of 640 in Ubud
208 reviews
0 mi away
Alam Terrace Cottages
Alam Terrace Cottages
#51 of 640 in Ubud
156 reviews
0.7 mi away
Suparsa's Home Stay
Suparsa's Home Stay
#9 of 640 in Ubud
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frangipani Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frangipani Bungalows

Address: Jl. Bisma, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 640 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range: $14 - $29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Frangipani Bungalows 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Agoda, Ctrip TA and getaroom.com so you can book your Frangipani Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frangipani Bungalows Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing