We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Frangipani Bungalows
Ranked #101 of 575 Ubud B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Sshhhhh! this has to be the best value in Ubud, but don't tell anyone or we'll never be able to get in again.
We stayed here in low season and paid Rp250,000 for a downstairs fan only room. OMG! the room is so nice. It's spotless (thank you Dewa:-) ), newly tiled throughout, seriously comfy beds and pillows, Wayan's (the owner) lovely art work on the walls, modern bathroom with one of those new toilets that have the inbuilt bottom washer! that was fun!!! Hot water/tea/coffee were delivered at very early o'clock (thank you Tarini :-)) so we could have a cuppa first thing, and then was replenished through the day. The breakfasts are to die for (thank you Wayan :-)), and the garden is lovingly tended and beautiful (thank you Ketut :-)) oh yes and they keep a communal fridge stocked with water, beer and soft drinks, so you can help yourself then settle up at the end.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, the upstairs ones have air con and are dearer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    35
    11
    6
    1
See reviews for
12
47
28
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

If you are a traveler like me, you are looking for a budget place to stay that also has beauty and charm. This is definitely the place for you in Ubud. The garden outside is absolutely breathtaking, and all of the rooms have gorgeous views of the rice paddies across the way. I loved getting up early to do my meditation in that beautiful setting. The rooms are wonderful for the price that is offered: very spacious and impeccably clean.

(BTW: I noticed that the price range listed in one of the other reviews is wrong: this is a budget hotel. It is not $220-$250 per night. I think that person meant to list it in Indonesian dollars. I don't know the exact price because it changes depending on which season you are visiting, but I would say the rooms are anywhere between $20 and $30 per night, depending on if you want air-conditioning or not. The ones on the second floor have AC, the ones down below have fans.)

As soon as you see Wayan, you can tell he has a huge heart and kind spirit. He is a practicing artist who is often found across the courtyard where he does his painting with the collective of other local artists. His beautiful artwork is in all of the rooms. His wife, Komang, is an elementary school teacher and one of the sweetest people I have ever met. The two of them run this place single-handedly. There are only four rooms, so it is manageable. They prepare delicious breakfasts, whatever you ask for, and they keep a pot of hot water and some coffee and tea outside your room on the balcony at all times.

This is a new, family-run business. It is exactly the kind of place I like to support with my travelers' dollars :-)

Bisma is a delightful little street. It is so quiet and scenic, yet in close walking distance of the heart of Ubud, especially the dance and puppet theatre venues. It is very well lit at night, so no worries about walking around then, even if you are a single woman traveler (which I was). It is kind of an artists' hangout/hide away just on the edge of downtown Ubud. The best street to stay in town, in my opinion.

You may notice that Frangipani Bungalows does not have a pool. However, you can go swimming in the pool at Uma Sari Bungalows for the equivalent of two US dollars, and that place is just steps away from Frangipani. And Frangipani is half the price of Uma Sari and more charming, so you are better off staying here!

Don't miss this place!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cymbeline17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malanda
1 review
Reviewed December 27, 2012

I really enjoyed staying at Frangipani bungalows, I usually move about from place to place but I found myself staying with Wayan and his family because they made me feel so comfortable and their location in the rice paddyfields was quiet but still close to the main centre. They take pride in keeping it clean and the gardens are very pleasant with lots of birds visiting and nesting. When I go back to Ubud I will stay at Frangipani.

Room Tip: upstairs is air con and down is fans, both good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Wayan is an intelligent and interesting host who goes out of his way to make you feel comfortable and relaxed. He can take you places if you want that, and I found he took a personal pleasure in helping me make my visit to Ubud one I remember with great pleasure. Frangipani is set among the rice paddy fields, and is a short walk from the shops and from excellent cafes and restaurants.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet. The top rooms have air conditioning but I found the room I had cool enough with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.0 mi away
Tanah Semujan Ubud
Tanah Semujan Ubud
#27 of 575 in Ubud
200 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jiwa's House
Jiwa's House
#41 of 575 in Ubud
109 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jati 3 Bungalows
Jati 3 Bungalows
#207 of 575 in Ubud
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Teba House Ubud Guest House
0.7 mi away
Bale Bali Inn
Bale Bali Inn
#19 of 575 in Ubud
86 reviews
0.2 mi away
Three Dewi's Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frangipani Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frangipani Bungalows

Property: Frangipani Bungalows
Address: Jl. Bisma, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 575 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Frangipani Bungalows 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Frangipani Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frangipani Bungalows Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing