We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility just outside busy but nice tourist town”
Review of Bhuwana Ubud Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bhuwana Ubud Hotel
Ranked #71 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Tranquility just outside busy but nice tourist town”
Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

A lovely hotel for 2 nights on our Exodus tour. It's only 2 years old, set in beautifully maintained gardens and a lovely big pool with plenty of comfortable sunbeds to relax on. The staff were really friendly, very helpful and keen to please. The room was large with the most elaborately painted Indonesian four poster bed which looked fit for a king and very comfortable with lovely clean crisp cotton sheets. The bathroom was equally as good. We only had breakfast here which was very good.
There was a shuttle bus service in and out of Ubud every 2 hours which took about 10 to 15 minutes but we liked being just outside the busy tourist town if Ubud.
Ubud is a lovely town to explore with many temples hidden away and plenty of cool bars and restaurants to choose from as well as some very good shopping in the shops and the market.
We went to the Palace to see the Balinese dancing and music for IDR 80,000 (£4) per person which was good but a bit samey so we left after an hour as it's an hour and a half long.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank PinkFloydCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    120
    37
    8
    2
See reviews for
54
139
26
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, Shanghai, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

Front desk staff Tuty were polite and friendly. Answered our question patiently. The room was clean and cool, nice decorated, nothing else you would expect. Pool seems clean and breakfest by the pool was calm and relaxing. SPA was the best. We had a packaged covering facial and full body lasted three hours including a floral bath. Hotel provides free shuttle bus to ubud palace (booking in advance required) but make sure you find the place where the bus pick you up otherwise it's not as easy to get a taxi without hassles on ubud street.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank florencetw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Bhuwana. The facilities were great to just spend a day poolside. There was an inclusive breakfast buffet which had enough choice. Their poolside menu was basic but adequate and reasonably priced. The hotel offers a shuttle to and from Ubud centre on a 2 hour rotation, which is more than most hotels offer. They were efficient and on time. The staff were friendly and welcoming (as are most Balinese). The room was large, as was the king size bed. The sheets were like new. Coffee and tea facilities as well as basic toiletries were provided.

The location is a bit out of Ubud centre (although the quiet was welcoming). The cleanliness of the room was good. A quick sweep behind the furniture would however have gone far. The bathroom is a bit outdated and could do with a revamp, but was clean and included a bath and separate shower.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ilds001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

This hotel is a bit out of the center of Ubud, fine if you are looking for a peaceful stay. Upon arrival it looked impressive, but once in the room it was clear that a renovation is needed. Our bathroom was very moldy and the toilet seat had traces of urine. Very sloppy. The bed was fine, we slept well. The curtains are awful! They are very thin and light yellow of color. When the sun rose up, we rose up with it. We would've liked to have a say in what time we want to wake up. Breakfast was just ok. The pool was the nicest part. The hotel staff is very friendly and service oriented. The free shuttle bus was convenient, because the hotel is just too far out of the center to walk. Especially at night this is not recommended, because there is no sidewalk and you practically walk on the road in the dark. All in all it was fine, but we found the price to quality ratio incorrect for what you get. We really don't get some of the comments of other guests, because they say this hotel is fairly new, but we thought it looked at least 20 years old. This hotel is in need of a renovation or at the very least a good cleaning.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor, just across the restaurant/pool. It was ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nadine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Hubby and I stayed here at the end of the March for 5 nights. It was our first time in Bali and I think we picked a great place to stay. We were here during the spirit festival so it was nice to be able to retreat to a place without the noise. It took about 45 min to get here from Denpasar Airport and we arrived at midnight. The resort was quite and our room was lovely, considering it was only costing us around $60 p/day. Breakfast is about the only time we really saw others staying at the resort, generally there was only 1 or 2 other couples you would see down the pool area. It felt like you had the place to yourself. Breakfast is from 7.30am and has 2 types of fresh juice, some pastries, fruit, salad and a hot breakfast (Indonesian style) I generally had a fresh omelette made.

The shuttle service runs every 2hrs from 10am. Going into Ubud was fine but trying to get picked up was unreliable. So we either used a taxi ($5) or walked. However the nice thing is if you are the only ones in the shuttle you can ask for a few things ie: can you stop at a money exchange or Monkey forest. These are on the way to the centre of Ubud so isn't a problem.

Taxi's - Standard cost will be $5 or 50,000 rupiah. There are plenty of guys on the side of the road who will offer you a taxi. They are perfectly fine to accept and you will be surprised at how clean and nice they are. **TIP** Take a photo of the map of Ubud from your room/resort book and have it with you. This way the driver will know where to go. This came in handy so many times.

Walking - Not as scary as I thought it was going to be and very easy. We generally took the shuttle in and walked back. It takes about 30-40min from the centre of Ubud. But it's not hilly and a very easy walk. If you need supplies you can easily take a 20min walk towards Ubud and there is a big supermarket on the right with a lovely bakery. It's also where lots of great cafe's and restaurants are. Just be aware there aren't really footpaths in Ubud, but we never had a problem walking on the side of the road and felt totally safe.

Scooters - we didn't do it this time because we didn't know about Bali roads. But when we come back next time I would not hesitate to get a scooter to use around Ubud. It's super simple and costs about $10 for the week.

Day Spa - I had 2 massages here, both Lomi Lomi for 90min. Cost was $20 each which was fairly standard outside of the resort. Both were divine, Although I found out about a place called Bliss which is in the rice paddy's. $100 for 5hrs of spa treatments with pick-up to and from the hotel. Next time I'm going here!

Hotel Restaurant - people have said the menu is limited. I thought it was fine with enough to work your way through over a week of dinners. We didn't spend out whole time in the resort. If we did, then yes you would get sick of the menu very quickly.

24hr Movie Channel - This I really loved! It's called Lotus on channel 10/11. Totally awesome when you are back for the night or chilling out.

Service - Very attentive, friendly.

Overall this was a great place to stay and I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We had 218 which was upstairs at the end of the resort. Beautiful view over the rice paddy's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LDMAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bali
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

I booked this hotel with my friend, to be closed the Bali Spirit Festival, but to be quiet in a rice field.
The location is beautifull, the garden very clean.
From the reception welcome to the check out, all the staff is very nice and non intrusif.
The room are big enought, and the view is beautifull on the rice field.
The bedding and linen are good quality.
The bathroom is ok, not luxury but simple.
We do not tryed the breakfast because we left to early morning so cannot comment.
I think i will book again for my next trip in Ubud.
Good value for monney.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pearl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed March 29, 2014

all of staff is very friendly, but one of them he is Putra. the suttle bus is didn't come to pick me up from the town, but he find me there, than he call to the the hotel to pick me up.
I didn't remember him, but he can remember us. than he know how to make the guest are enjoy.

Thank you very much Putra, it was nice to meet you

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vesa h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.2 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#56 of 198 in Ubud
468 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#59 of 198 in Ubud
590 reviews
0.6 mi away
KajaNe Yangloni Private Boutique Health & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
D'bulakan Boutique Resort
0.9 mi away
Saren Indah Hotel
Saren Indah Hotel
#57 of 198 in Ubud
899 reviews
2.9 mi away
Royal Villa Jepun
Royal Villa Jepun
#96 of 198 in Ubud
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bhuwana Ubud Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bhuwana Ubud Hotel

Property: Bhuwana Ubud Hotel
Address: Jl. Pengosekan, Br. Kumbuh, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#53 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#61 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bhuwana Ubud Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspiring Place for a Better Life ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bhuwana Ubud Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bhuwana Ubud Hotel Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing