We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Umajati Retreat
Nearby Hotels
$232
$195
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$259
$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$764
$670
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$141
$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$167
$147
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$193
$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fivelements Bali Retreat(Mambal)
$298
$276
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bisma Eight(Ubud)
$492
$278
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
$36
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$221
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveler rating
158
6
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
158
6
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswates bangbaujavanese housesbedroom housenatural dyedouble ikatstaff preparetear yourself awayoffering makingmodern touchesrice fieldslush gardensspecial placereal balibalinese foodcooking classeach afternoonbusy ubud
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
103 - 108 of 164 reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Outstanding 5 star resort at 3 star prices. This is an outstanding resort nestled in a small village (Petulu) about 10 minute drive from Ubud. In terms of both design and service the resort very thoughtful and intuitive. Stayed in the Wates Bangau house (family of four, two adults, children 11 & 12). Large open design living area with couch and desk and great fold up doors that can be kept open during the day and closed at night.

Each of the bedrooms nicely designed, with mosquito nets, bedside lamps, fans, and optional air conditioning, nicely laid out wardrobe / storage area. House also includes a kitchen.
Service is outstanding, provide breakfast and afternoon tea and can purchase additional meals. The chips provided made from flower petals are outstanding. The retreat also has a list of recommended restaurants in Ubud with insightful narrative / rating system by the onsite manager Chee

Although air conditioning is available in each of the bedrooms would advise leaving windows open for fresher air exchange / sights and sounds of surrounding gardens and village. Mosquitos actually not noticeable, prevailing breezes, plenty of geckos, spiders and other predators keep these down. A much better, holistic approach rather than an enclosing the room with air conditioning.

Tips / Notes –
Highly recommend walking out into the local village or into the countryside / path to other villages in the morning – great views of local scenery and cross section of daily life.

Route to Umajati follows a very narrow road with tight fit between walls at initial turn-off in town. Should warn driver, also note the address online is in Ubud but the Retreat is in Petulu.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eastrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WillIngram, Owner at Umajati Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2014

Dear Rob, thank you for your very thorough and thoughtful review. It's nice to know that so much was appreciated. We seek to offer value for money, so the "5 star/3 star" comment is a nice validation. Best wishes, William

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We spent four days at Umajati and felt so grateful for the magic of this spot. It is clear that much love, thought, intention, and care has gone into its creation. The two villas ( actually traditional Javanese homes called "joglos" ) are artistic, authentic, and very, very comfortable. We chose Umajati because we wanted to have a better understanding of the culture and a different experience than we would have had at a hotel in town. That was absolutely the case. The 10 minute drive to downtown Ubud was an easy request, but the experience of being in a village, next to rice fields, assisted by a group of wonderful staff was just what we had hoped for. Everyone there gave personal attention to our requests from meals (excellent) to suggestions about places to visit and eat, yet we also had a great sense of privacy. With Jean and Choy's help, we were able to design day trips specifically geared to our interests and schedule. And we loved returning to the joglo, the pool, the gardens and just relaxing! Jean, Choy, Wayan S., everyone there really was so generous in giving time to assist us and ensure a comfortable and meaningful experience in Ubud, sharing experience and offering insight into the culture. Our stay there was a definite highlight of our two weeks in Bali.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank unstoppable-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WillIngram, Owner at Umajati Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Hello and thanks for the comments. Being small we can offer that personal touch and individualized day trips. The village close by also make the culture accessible. Glad you got to do so much and have time to relax. All the best, William

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

The house is tastefully decorated in a setting of Balinese home style. You have your own housekeeper and cook that come to ur house every morning at breakfast time, the table is set up in the garden of the house. Pool was just 5 secs Away from your house, the housekeeper will bring you a cold drink too. Owner Jean was a lovely person to chat, she and her staff worked to make you feel like being at home. Things are well thought out and executed in this a little piece of heaven here. Every moment was so enjoyable!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Cnuly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WillIngram, Owner at Umajati Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

A lovely review. Thank you. Being served a nice bottle of cold drinking water when you go to use the pool is very refreshing. Glad you felt so at home with us. Best wishes, William

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Thank you to Jean, William, Choy Vita and all of the amazing people who work at Umajati. I do not want to refer to them as staff as they are clearly a team and community of Umajati this is what makes this such an amazing place. Unfortunately due to flight rescheduling we could only stay 2 nights and not the 3 we had booked. Jean was so kind and understanding about this and went out of her way to make our short time memorable. We were celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary and we were presented with the most delicious strawberry cake.
We stayed in the larger property which is two bedroomed and awesome! The standard and cleanliness of the accomm is faultless, every detail has been perfected. The grounds are immaculate and a great way to see the real rural Bali, being surrounded by paddy fields and close to a nearby village. Vita took us for a walk one evening to see the heron colony, passing through the local village and explaining all about Balinese life. The homecooked curry was outstanding , the best food we have eaten in Bali (still want that recipe Jean/Choy!)
The property is about 10 mins drive from Ubud but the complimentary driver makes light work of that and this facility is available until 10pm.
We managed to enjoy the life and soul of Ubud whilst relaxing in five star, quiet tranquility.
We cant wait to return. . Thank you everyone

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pieface66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WillIngram, Owner at Umajati Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Hi, and thanks for the review! It was a shame that your visit was curtailed by the airline like that, but I'm glad we made the stay memorable in other ways! Choy's garndma's curry is one of my favorites too: tasty without being spicy. I'll remind him and Jean again about the recipe! Sorry for the delay! William

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

"BarbW63"'s review really captures UmaJati and its fabulousness. I wish I could write so well! Our family of 4 (including 23 and 19 year old young adults) stayed 5 nights and loved every minute. The visual beauty of the buildings, pool, and plantings/landscape never ceased to take my breath away. Truly everything is a work of art from the door handles to the elegant, soaring ceilings, and the comfort of the beds and other furnishings is top notch. The staff are individually and collectively the nicest group of people I have ever met as are William, Jean, and Pung and so generous and helpful. I was also grateful for the summary of "Things to Do" and their helpfulness in arranging trips. Every recommendation was spot-on and we enjoyed ourselves to the hilt from the Threads of Life Gallery to the medicinal plant nature walk, cooking classes,dance performances (thank you, Pung!!), the Puppet Museum and more. I have always felt a bit pressured by needing to make sure everyone is taken care of during a vacation and gets to do what he/she is interested in, finding out what the options are, and making all the arrangements. This was my first experience of what "Retreat" could mean: the ease and joy of having wonderful options outlined for the family and then everything arranged so all we had to do was enjoy our delicious breakfast and then waltz out to the car (with driver provided) and revel in the day. Our stay was enhanced by how non-touristy UmaJati feels. It has all the comforts and more that even the pickiest Western traveller could want but feels so genuine, authentic, steeped in love and respect for the Balinese culture and land. We certainly didn't want to leave and can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katet60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanHowe50, Owner at Umajati Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words Kate about Umajati Retreat. Your family was equally wonderful - we sure enjoyed having you with us. The staff also loved having you stay with us and that is always wonderful when it is a mutually enjoyable experience as they really go all out for our guests. So happy you enjoyed the interiors and exteriors - we set up the houses as though we would be happy to live in them as our home as this is what we hope our guests will feel; A home away from home. The rains are turning the gardens into forests - time for some trimming with Wayan - gardens are always changing but the tropics make these changes happen at an extraordinary rate! We have We hope you come back again soon and stay with us again. We all look forward to staying in touch with you and your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews