We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical”
Review of Umajati Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Umajati Retreat
Ranked #33 of 622 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 22, 2013

For a truly magical holiday this is the place to stay in Ubud. As soon as you arrive and take a walk through the lush gardens you begin to relax. I will never forget our first evening. It was frog mating season and the chorus of singing frogs was almost deafening! The sunsets are magnificent and it’s heavenly to eat dinner beside the pool, under the stars, surrounded by lanterns made from banana stalks. The guest houses are beautifully restored 100 year old Javanese teak Joglo homes. But what makes this such a special place is the wonderful staff. Their warmth and hospitality made it very hard to leave

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Esme H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WillIngram, Owner at Umajati Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Thank you Esme for the lovely review. Conserving the nature aspect of Umajati is very important to us, so I am glad it touches other people too. And yes, the staff really are what makes it all come alive. We feel very lucky to have such genuine and generous people to work with. Best wishes, William

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

136 - 142 of 163 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2013

Situated just outside of the town of Ubud in Bali, amidst the beautiful rice paddies, Umajati is a peaceful retreat from the bustle of town. Take a swim in the lovely pool before breakfast. Enjoy being pampered by the friendly staff. Eat delicious, healthy, fresh food prepared to your particular specifications. The building itself is gorgeous: a mixture of an old wooden house from West Java, taken apart and reassembled, with all the modern touches and conveniences to create an open, light filled, lovely villa. We particularly enjoyed the traditional Indonesian textiles: batiks and ikats, that were used throughout. There is a car ready to take you to town whenever you need a ride. They can even arrange for someone to come to the house for massage. Whenever we returned from an outing, just walking through the gate into the gardens was a visual feast. I miss falling asleep to the sound of the frogs, and waking to the birds.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WillIngram, Owner at Umajati Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Dear Sara G,

Thank you taking the time to write this review. I love the bird life around the property, too. It is always varied and interesting. Since we are only about 500 meters walk through the rice fields from the heronry at Petulu Gunung, chevrons of birds are constantly passing over us in the late afternoon as they return for the night. I find the hour before sunset is the best time to be in the village at the roosting site among the trees lining the street. During the day there are often birds in the rice fields around Umajati: mostly Javan Pond Heron, Cattle Egret and Intermediate Egret. Other frequent visitors to the gardens include Javan Kingfisher, Lesser Coucal, Javan and Scaly Breasted Munia, sunbirds, and Pied Chat. Common species are Yellow Vented Bulbul, swifts, and doves, and we often hear scops owls at night in the coconut grove. Next time you come, bring your binoculars!

Best wishes,
Will

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

A friend and myself stayed in the 2 bedroom villa after being recommended from another friend.

My overall impression of the villa and staff is very professional and friendly. There is not much they haven't though of here down to every power point even having a universal plug fitted. I would recommend this place family's or couples for a get away from the world. Its only about a 20 to 30 minute walk to the centre of Ubud if you choose or the retreat has a private driver or a scooter if you choose.

With an onsite kitchen and cooks the food was awesome.

Room Tip: As this is a new retreat make you take a map with you so the local drivers know where it is. Also if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebtec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WillIngram, Owner at Umajati Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Thank you Rebtec for your feedback. We recently installed air conditioning in the bedroom of the Bugoharjo 1-bedroom house and will be doing so in the 2-bedroom house you stayed in within the next few months. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Hats of to the visionaries behind Umajati Retreat -- a place to relax, rejuvenate, eat well and set off through the nearby rice fields, to temples, markets and the fine restaurants and cafes of Ubud.

What Jean and William have done is fuse their extensive love and knowledge of Balinese culture and traditions with their commitment to the environment and the economic development of their staff and the local community into the ultimate traveler's haven. (To understand more about their values and work, please visit http://www.threadsoflife.com/).

The facility, gardens, food and service are beyond elegant -- exquisitely tasteful, immaculately clean, simple and healthy fare -- all combine to make it challenging to leave the retreat!

My wife and I will cherish our four nights there last August and look forward to our next trip back!

Room Tip: This is an exclusive, private destination, with only two Javanese style home open for guests. Both a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caleb D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WillIngram, Owner at Umajati Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Thank you Caleb for taking the time to write a review. I hope you can come back soon to see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Our time at Umajati was truly a retreat into authentic elegance. The property is exquisitlydesigned with original Javanese houses modernized with fresha nd roomy additions which allowed to gently unwind in the space. The beautiful gardens offered so much beauty in the tasteful array of plantinhs which are very well established in just a few months. The pool was private and refreshing. Our senses were so nourished with the gentle service exhibited by the entire staff - friendly, helpful, and very resourceful. Don't hesitate to inquire about treks, temple tours, and other activities that will bring you closer to the Balinese culture. The staff are very knowledgeable and can arrange outings geared to your interests. We were delighted with the food as well - delicious, authentic, locally produced ingredients in a simple menu which added to the originality of our experience. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janeh165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WillIngram, Owner at Umajati Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Thank you for your review and recommendation. We are working on an expanded range of treks and cultural experiences for our guests. So I hope you can come back and experience some more of Bali with us. Best wishes, William

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Umajati was the ultimate retreat for me. Obviously the creators of this place were inspired by a desire to provide an environment in which one can rest deeply and reflect. Nothing was spared to provide top quality finishes and minimalist elegance. The food, staff, garden, pool, furnishings: all conspired to give an experience that was pleasing to the senses and healing for the soul. One of a kind!

Room Tip: There are two houses to choose from. Both are equally remarkable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WillIngram, Owner at Umajati Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear Carole, thank you for your review of Umajati. We want the space to be healing to our guests, staff and all involved. Just above the property is the healing spring for Petulu village, and I think that sets the tone for the neighborhood. Be well, William

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I’d like to share my experience of the perfect escape from the commotion of Kuta and the ubiquitous touts of Ubud. Just four kilometres from Monkey Forest Road, hidden in the rice paddies and accessed through a coconut grove, UmaJati invites you to live in harmony with nature while offering every comfort you might wish for.

Two, 100-year-old wooden Joglo homes have been transported from Java. They are named after the villages where they were originally built, Wates Bangbau and Bugoharjo. The villas were reassembled using recycled wood when needed, and their distinctive, ceramic-tiled roofs create an interesting landmark on the narrow road from Petulu Gunung. The passive solar design of these traditional Javanese houses ensures a cool, breezy living space at all times of the year. The villas are surrounded by one acre of beautifully landscaped gardens designed to complement the villas and blend into the rice paddies beyond.

I stayed in Wates Bangbau, which has two bedrooms, one queen and one twin, each with a private bathroom. Bugoharjo has one bedroom with a queen-sized bed. Both villas have day beds in the living room that can be used for extra guests.

Umajati is an ecologically sound resort, with many innovations to ensure minimal negative impact on the environment. Plastic, glass and paper are recycled. The villas are installed with LED lighting, which use only one quarter of the electricity used by ordinary lights. There is a small organic vegetable and spice garden and a wastewater garden to allow used water to be cleaned by the roots of plants and return to the earth.

What a delight to wake to a peaceful morning amidst orchids, heliconia, frangipani and hibiscus with coconut fronds swaying in the background. Breakfast on the terrace was relaxed and unhurried, with more than enough delicious offerings…fresh fruit, home-made muffins, breads, granola and yogurt along with a choice of eggs.

There is a lovely “bale” (an open-air pagoda) in the grounds, which I found to be perfect for reading, drawing and contemplation. A short walk down to the Tawar River brought me to a sacred place where clear, clean spring water flows from the surrounding rocks. I found it a perfect place for meditation and for the remainder of my stay I felt a sense of awareness and rejuvenation that filled me with deep contentment.

I was nourished both spiritually and literally. Breakfast is included in the room price, but set menus for lunch and dinner are also available. The meals were divine; imaginative creations of fresh, organic produce that could not fail to please. I loved everything I tried, and ate every last crumb.

The afternoon was ideal for a dip in the 15-meter lap pool, and before I knew it, the time arrived for afternoon tea. How perfect…tea and cakes beside the water. The day meandered along so prettily, and as darkness fell I was lured back to the house by intriguing aromas. We had a Western style dinner on the first night and Balinese food, on the second day. It was all very decadent and beautifully presented and served. The staff members at UmaJati are totally charming and completely committed to ensuring their guests are afforded every comfort. I have to say that I was treated like a queen, and I loved every minute of it!

The next morning we took a walk in the rice fields, eventually cutting through to Petulu village, famous for its heron rookeries. Every evening, thousands of Javanese Pond Herons and White Egrets come here to roost and I gather it’s quite a spectacle. I’ll save it for next time, and I certainly hope there is a next time. The enchanted isle of Bali is always delightful, but staying at Umajati Retreat made my holiday exceptional.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WillIngram, Owner at Umajati Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear Zingle, Thank you for your extensive review and your praise for Umajati. Visiting the heronry is always interesting: the skeins of white birds against the dusk on the rice fields are quite picturesque. Next time. Hope you can come back soon. Yours, William

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
3.1 mi away
Villa Beji Indah
Villa Beji Indah
#1 of 5 in Mas
153 reviews
3.4 mi away
Purana Boutique Resort
0.7 mi away
Beingsattvaa
Beingsattvaa
#4 of 622 in Ubud
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Mandala Desa
Mandala Desa
#15 of 622 in Ubud
307 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kano Sari Ubud Villas
1.8 mi away
Alaya Resort Jembawan
Alaya Resort Jembawan
#10 of 622 in Ubud
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umajati Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umajati Retreat

Address: Jalan Subak Uma Petulu Lebah | Desa Petulu, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 622 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Price Range: $120 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Umajati Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by tranquil rice fields, Umajati Retreat is a lush garden property hosting 2 elegantly converted 100-year-old Javanese teak wooden homes sleeping 5 and 3 guests respectively. Each house has several private garden spaces around a shared swimming pool, and a private kitchen hosted by Balinese housekeepers who specialize in healthy and vegetarian food. Just 10 minutes north of Ubud, Umajati grants easy access to the village’s many restaurants, spas, and cultural opportunities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Umajati Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umajati Retreat Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing