We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Umajati Retreat
Nearby Hotels
$275
$258
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$134
$126
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$287
$171
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$188
$142
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$216
$174
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$261
$209
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$227
$177
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$280
$254
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$590
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$593
$445
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (166)
Filter reviews
166 results
Traveler rating
160
6
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
160
6
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswates bangbaujavanese housesbedroom housenatural dyedouble ikatstaff preparetear yourself awayoffering makingmodern touchesrice fieldslush gardensspecial placereal balibalinese foodcooking classeach afternoonbusy ubud
Filter
Updating list...
139 - 144 of 166 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Situated just outside of the town of Ubud in Bali, amidst the beautiful rice paddies, Umajati is a peaceful retreat from the bustle of town. Take a swim in the lovely pool before breakfast. Enjoy being pampered by the friendly staff. Eat delicious, healthy, fresh food prepared to your particular specifications. The building itself is gorgeous: a mixture of an old wooden house from West Java, taken apart and reassembled, with all the modern touches and conveniences to create an open, light filled, lovely villa. We particularly enjoyed the traditional Indonesian textiles: batiks and ikats, that were used throughout. There is a car ready to take you to town whenever you need a ride. They can even arrange for someone to come to the house for massage. Whenever we returned from an outing, just walking through the gate into the gardens was a visual feast. I miss falling asleep to the sound of the frogs, and waking to the birds.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WillIngram, Owner at Umajati Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Dear Sara G,

Thank you taking the time to write this review. I love the bird life around the property, too. It is always varied and interesting. Since we are only about 500 meters walk through the rice fields from the heronry at Petulu Gunung, chevrons of birds are constantly passing over us in the late afternoon as they return for the night. I find the hour before sunset is the best time to be in the village at the roosting site among the trees lining the street. During the day there are often birds in the rice fields around Umajati: mostly Javan Pond Heron, Cattle Egret and Intermediate Egret. Other frequent visitors to the gardens include Javan Kingfisher, Lesser Coucal, Javan and Scaly Breasted Munia, sunbirds, and Pied Chat. Common species are Yellow Vented Bulbul, swifts, and doves, and we often hear scops owls at night in the coconut grove. Next time you come, bring your binoculars!

Best wishes,
Will

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

A friend and myself stayed in the 2 bedroom villa after being recommended from another friend.

My overall impression of the villa and staff is very professional and friendly. There is not much they haven't though of here down to every power point even having a universal plug fitted. I would recommend this place family's or couples for a get away from the world. Its only about a 20 to 30 minute walk to the centre of Ubud if you choose or the retreat has a private driver or a scooter if you choose.

With an onsite kitchen and cooks the food was awesome.

Room Tip: As this is a new retreat make you take a map with you so the local drivers know where it is. Also if flying in get the resort to pick you up the first time. The only other small thing is the room are still to be fitted with AC but they are very cool Java houses.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebtec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WillIngram, Owner at Umajati Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Thank you Rebtec for your feedback. We recently installed air conditioning in the bedroom of the Bugoharjo 1-bedroom house and will be doing so in the 2-bedroom house you stayed in within the next few months. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Hats of to the visionaries behind Umajati Retreat -- a place to relax, rejuvenate, eat well and set off through the nearby rice fields, to temples, markets and the fine restaurants and cafes of Ubud.

What Jean and William have done is fuse their extensive love and knowledge of Balinese culture and traditions with their commitment to the environment and the economic development of their staff and the local community into the ultimate traveler's haven. (To understand more about their values and work, please visit http://www.threadsoflife.com/).

The facility, gardens, food and service are beyond elegant -- exquisitely tasteful, immaculately clean, simple and healthy fare -- all combine to make it challenging to leave the retreat!

My wife and I will cherish our four nights there last August and look forward to our next trip back!

Room Tip: This is an exclusive, private destination, with only two Javanese style home open for guests. Both are amazing.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caleb D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WillIngram, Owner at Umajati Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Thank you Caleb for taking the time to write a review. I hope you can come back soon to see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Our time at Umajati was truly a retreat into authentic elegance. The property is exquisitlydesigned with original Javanese houses modernized with fresha nd roomy additions which allowed to gently unwind in the space. The beautiful gardens offered so much beauty in the tasteful array of plantinhs which are very well established in just a few months. The pool was private and refreshing. Our senses were so nourished with the gentle service exhibited by the entire staff - friendly, helpful, and very resourceful. Don't hesitate to inquire about treks, temple tours, and other activities that will bring you closer to the Balinese culture. The staff are very knowledgeable and can arrange outings geared to your interests. We were delighted with the food as well - delicious, authentic, locally produced ingredients in a simple menu which added to the originality of our experience. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janeh165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WillIngram, Owner at Umajati Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Thank you for your review and recommendation. We are working on an expanded range of treks and cultural experiences for our guests. So I hope you can come back and experience some more of Bali with us. Best wishes, William

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Umajati was the ultimate retreat for me. Obviously the creators of this place were inspired by a desire to provide an environment in which one can rest deeply and reflect. Nothing was spared to provide top quality finishes and minimalist elegance. The food, staff, garden, pool, furnishings: all conspired to give an experience that was pleasing to the senses and healing for the soul. One of a kind!

Room Tip: There are two houses to choose from. Both are equally remarkable!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WillIngram, Owner at Umajati Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear Carole, thank you for your review of Umajati. We want the space to be healing to our guests, staff and all involved. Just above the property is the healing spring for Petulu village, and I think that sets the tone for the neighborhood. Be well, William

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews