We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bali Oasis with a mission for good” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Umajati Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Umajati Retreat
Ranked #25 of 520 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Nevada City, California, United States
1 review
“Bali Oasis with a mission for good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Hats of to the visionaries behind Umajati Retreat -- a place to relax, rejuvenate, eat well and set off through the nearby rice fields, to temples, markets and the fine restaurants and cafes of Ubud.

What Jean and William have done is fuse their extensive love and knowledge of Balinese culture and traditions with their commitment to the environment and the economic development of their staff and the local community into the ultimate traveler's haven. (To understand more about their values and work, please visit http://www.threadsoflife.com/).

The facility, gardens, food and service are beyond elegant -- exquisitely tasteful, immaculately clean, simple and healthy fare -- all combine to make it challenging to leave the retreat!

My wife and I will cherish our four nights there last August and look forward to our next trip back!

Room Tip: This is an exclusive, private destination, with only two Javanese style home open for guests. Both a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caleb D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WillIngram, Owner at Umajati Retreat, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you Caleb for taking the time to write a review. I hope you can come back soon to see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
67
41
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Our time at Umajati was truly a retreat into authentic elegance. The property is exquisitlydesigned with original Javanese houses modernized with fresha nd roomy additions which allowed to gently unwind in the space. The beautiful gardens offered so much beauty in the tasteful array of plantinhs which are very well established in just a few months. The pool was private and refreshing. Our senses were so nourished with the gentle service exhibited by the entire staff - friendly, helpful, and very resourceful. Don't hesitate to inquire about treks, temple tours, and other activities that will bring you closer to the Balinese culture. The staff are very knowledgeable and can arrange outings geared to your interests. We were delighted with the food as well - delicious, authentic, locally produced ingredients in a simple menu which added to the originality of our experience. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janeh165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WillIngram, Owner at Umajati Retreat, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for your review and recommendation. We are working on an expanded range of treks and cultural experiences for our guests. So I hope you can come back and experience some more of Bali with us. Best wishes, William
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

Umajati was the ultimate retreat for me. Obviously the creators of this place were inspired by a desire to provide an environment in which one can rest deeply and reflect. Nothing was spared to provide top quality finishes and minimalist elegance. The food, staff, garden, pool, furnishings: all conspired to give an experience that was pleasing to the senses and healing for the soul. One of a kind!

Room Tip: There are two houses to choose from. Both are equally remarkable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WillIngram, Owner at Umajati Retreat, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Carole, thank you for your review of Umajati. We want the space to be healing to our guests, staff and all involved. Just above the property is the healing spring for Petulu village, and I think that sets the tone for the neighborhood. Be well, William
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

I’d like to share my experience of the perfect escape from the commotion of Kuta and the ubiquitous touts of Ubud. Just four kilometres from Monkey Forest Road, hidden in the rice paddies and accessed through a coconut grove, UmaJati invites you to live in harmony with nature while offering every comfort you might wish for.

Two, 100-year-old wooden Joglo homes have been transported from Java. They are named after the villages where they were originally built, Wates Bangbau and Bugoharjo. The villas were reassembled using recycled wood when needed, and their distinctive, ceramic-tiled roofs create an interesting landmark on the narrow road from Petulu Gunung. The passive solar design of these traditional Javanese houses ensures a cool, breezy living space at all times of the year. The villas are surrounded by one acre of beautifully landscaped gardens designed to complement the villas and blend into the rice paddies beyond.

I stayed in Wates Bangbau, which has two bedrooms, one queen and one twin, each with a private bathroom. Bugoharjo has one bedroom with a queen-sized bed. Both villas have day beds in the living room that can be used for extra guests.

Umajati is an ecologically sound resort, with many innovations to ensure minimal negative impact on the environment. Plastic, glass and paper are recycled. The villas are installed with LED lighting, which use only one quarter of the electricity used by ordinary lights. There is a small organic vegetable and spice garden and a wastewater garden to allow used water to be cleaned by the roots of plants and return to the earth.

What a delight to wake to a peaceful morning amidst orchids, heliconia, frangipani and hibiscus with coconut fronds swaying in the background. Breakfast on the terrace was relaxed and unhurried, with more than enough delicious offerings…fresh fruit, home-made muffins, breads, granola and yogurt along with a choice of eggs.

There is a lovely “bale” (an open-air pagoda) in the grounds, which I found to be perfect for reading, drawing and contemplation. A short walk down to the Tawar River brought me to a sacred place where clear, clean spring water flows from the surrounding rocks. I found it a perfect place for meditation and for the remainder of my stay I felt a sense of awareness and rejuvenation that filled me with deep contentment.

I was nourished both spiritually and literally. Breakfast is included in the room price, but set menus for lunch and dinner are also available. The meals were divine; imaginative creations of fresh, organic produce that could not fail to please. I loved everything I tried, and ate every last crumb.

The afternoon was ideal for a dip in the 15-meter lap pool, and before I knew it, the time arrived for afternoon tea. How perfect…tea and cakes beside the water. The day meandered along so prettily, and as darkness fell I was lured back to the house by intriguing aromas. We had a Western style dinner on the first night and Balinese food, on the second day. It was all very decadent and beautifully presented and served. The staff members at UmaJati are totally charming and completely committed to ensuring their guests are afforded every comfort. I have to say that I was treated like a queen, and I loved every minute of it!

The next morning we took a walk in the rice fields, eventually cutting through to Petulu village, famous for its heron rookeries. Every evening, thousands of Javanese Pond Herons and White Egrets come here to roost and I gather it’s quite a spectacle. I’ll save it for next time, and I certainly hope there is a next time. The enchanted isle of Bali is always delightful, but staying at Umajati Retreat made my holiday exceptional.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WillIngram, Owner at Umajati Retreat, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Zingle, Thank you for your extensive review and your praise for Umajati. Visiting the heronry is always interesting: the skeins of white birds against the dusk on the rice fields are quite picturesque. Next time. Hope you can come back soon. Yours, William
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazare Paulista
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed in Umajati last July. It was so good that it is hard to find words to describe our experience. This is a very peaceful, amazing and beautiful retreat. Built with love, elegance and refinement Umajati had everything we needed. The houses are charming and very comfortable. The garden is splendid with nice plants and flowers and a refreshing pool. The staff is marvelous, they did all to please us and to ensure that we had a remarkable time. The breakfast, lunch, tea time and dinner were delicious. It is very close to Ubud but at the same time located in a quite natural environment. The gallery with amazing textiles, baskets and cushions from Indonesia is superb. We left with our hearts and minds full of joy and gratitude to everyone. Thank you Umajati for this special gift.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jlhoeffel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WillIngram, Owner at Umajati Retreat, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. I love the pictures you took of the garden and am amazed to see how much everything has grown since they were taken! Yours, William
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubud, Indonesia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

I have had the good fortune of staying at Umajati two times in the last few months. It is very well designed, comfortable, and the staff friendly and helpful. While it is only about 15 minutes out of Ubud it feels like a world away. There are several spots around the property to 'hang out' and just commune with the gorgeous gardens or chat with your companion. The pool is long and fresh and a pitcher of water was always at the ready while we lounged there.

The attention to detail in the beautiful old Javanese houses is stunning, and yet they had all the modern amenities we needed including luxurious spa soaps and a Japanese hot tub in one of the bathrooms.

It feels like the making of Umajati was an act of love.

Room Tip: All three rooms are excellent. I have slept in both houses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WillIngram, Owner at Umajati Retreat, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and upload some images. All the best, William
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.7 mi away
Beingsattvaa
Beingsattvaa
#2 of 520 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dwaraka The Royal Villas
2.0 mi away
Dedari Kriyamaha Villa Ubud
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Luwak Ubud Villas
Luwak Ubud Villas
#23 of 520 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kano Sari Ubud Villas
1.1 mi away
Bidadari Private Villas & Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umajati Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umajati Retreat

Property: Umajati Retreat
Address: Jalan Subak Uma Petulu Lebah | Desa Petulu, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 520 Specialty Lodging in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Umajati Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by tranquil rice fields, Umajati Retreat is a lush garden property hosting 2 elegantly converted 100-year-old Javanese teak wooden homes sleeping 5 and 3 guests respectively. Each house has several private garden spaces around a shared swimming pool, and a private kitchen hosted by Balinese housekeepers who specialize in healthy and vegetarian food. Just 10 minutes north of Ubud, Umajati grants easy access to the village’s many restaurants, spas, and cultural opportunities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Umajati Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umajati Retreat Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing