We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The turmeric pudding makes it worth a visit”
Review of Cafe Pomegranate

Cafe Pomegranate
Ranked #176 of 770 Restaurants in Ubud
Price range: $3 - $6
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: We are under renovation project until the end of March 2017. We are sorry but due to the huge damage caused by a severe storm occurred in December 2016. Sorry for the inconvenience and we appreciate for the customers and friend who has supported us through the past 5 years. We will come back with better condition to be ready to provide better environment for the rice field experience in Ubud. I hope to see you soon in Spring 2017. terimakashi,thank you and enjoy your stay in Bali! Kentaro,Takujiro + staff cafe pomegranate
Sanur, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The turmeric pudding makes it worth a visit”
Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Never really been a fan of hiking so have to ride my motorbike through the rice paddies which is pretty fun but kinda scary, to get here. Everyone raves about the place so I feel curious. It is a nice place surrounded by rice paddies and really far from the big road so I got why people love it. But unfortunately, i didn't really like the main dishes. Maybe i just ordered the wrong thing (some kind of sushi and salad) but the food here is kinda average. But then i ordered desserts (super yummy coconut panna cotta and turmeric pudding) and they kinda make up for it. It's a good visit, but more likely wouldn't come back again though. But i recommend everyone to try and visit at least once and make sure to order the desserts I previously mentioned, they're excellent. Good place after a long hike through the paddies, or cycling. Riding a motorbike here is just an unforgettable experience, so mybe do that (seen a lot of locals doing that while foreigners are content with the hiking and cycling)

Helpful?
Thank fmhrani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    148
    50
    15
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mt Vincent
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A uniquely beautiful experience”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

The evenings sitting under the stars (yes it was wet season) at this delightful out of the way place were special indeed.There's no roof since a bad storm a few weeks ago so now its just this wooden platform on a plateau in the rice fields looking at distant mountains.
The food is excellent with a menu that departs from the usual.The staff are simply wonderful and the walk back at night along a narrow path thronged by busy fireflies is memorable.Dont do Ubud without coming here.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Sunset view and fire flies.. romantic to the max!”
Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

I was taken to pomegranate on my first night in Ubud. after quite a bit of walk, there it is in a middle of rice feild. we arrived just as the sun was setting ... such a beautiful view. then got dark, the stars and fire flies all around you. it was a beautiful evening to remember. the food was great and generous portion. I had Singspore noodle, friends ordered Assortment dish and Bonito pizza . try ginger Arak specially made in house. fresh and tasty like vodka with more depth... mmm

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank saatchico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What NO ROOF!!”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Poor buggers lost their roof last week-hope they get a new one soon, its a lovely spot, but theres no way you'd sit in the sun to eat lunch! All the staff are just standing around with no customers-shame

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Traveladdict1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“360 view to paddy field”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

The best place to watch sunset, but make sure you have torch light if you get here after sunset as it is very dark.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Taridana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Pomegranate also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Pomegranate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing