We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charm at the side of the road”
Review of Kebun Bistro

Kebun Bistro
Ranked #39 of 754 Restaurants in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Nanjing
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Charm at the side of the road”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Kebun has all the charm, ambiance, and good food you could want. The only thing to detract is the limited seating all of which is within 10 m of one of Ubud's busiest streets with the noise and fumes of incessant motorcycles. Still we enjoyed a great Christmas dinner. Well-prepared and excellent service.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NanjingDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    626
    273
    57
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Little France in Ubud”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

A little bit of Provence in the middle of Ubud. Very lovely restaurant with an authentic Old World European feel. Food is great and they even have an air-conditioned dining area - not many restaurants in Ubud have that! Highly recommend the grilled Haloumi salad, grilled tuna and the lamb. Their Moussaka was good as well. Desserts were delicious, esp. the profiterole. Service was good and the ambience was very pleasing. It is also highly personable. The owner is generally around and attentive to diners. Her dogs give the restaurant a homely touch. Overall a pleasant dining experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AsianPeregrinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful Restaurant and Great Food”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Decided to try Kebun after driving past it a few times driving down Hanoman. It's a truly gorgeous restaurant. It has a very European, Old World feel to it. The staff were extremely kind and attentive. The wifi is good and their wine selection is great. The prices are high for Ubud standards but the food you get is worth it. We tried to arancini, which were phenomenally hot and crispy, and the 'white pizza' with pesto and roasted garlic. Both were fantastic, especially the thin crust pizza. Their Mint and Lime Refresher is great too. Would definitely go back for a splurge.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bohemiantable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Good food and setting, staff a bit lacking...”
Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

We had a simple dinner here, but the menu is full of enticing choices. We opted for caprese pasta (me) and the North African rice bowl for my husband. Bintang for our drinks, but cocktails looked fantastic. Food was pretty decent, and we loved all the southern French details in the decor.

The staff were pretty awful. We had to flag down our waitress for everything, even though only 3 tables were occupied. My husband had to go look for our waitress for our bill, and found her in the wine cellar having a romantic episode with one of the waiters.

All things considered, still a pretty good place to eat. If they were busier, staff might have been more attentive, but who knows...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChiGirl78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

Had a lovely meal here and great value for money. The setting is more befitting of a European Cafe than Ubud but when the food arrives you would think you were in Europe!! Attentive service throughout as well.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LL181184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kebun Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Kebun Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing